Pure Heroine Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 323 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut full-length release for the 16-year-old New Zealand pop singer-songwriter was produced by Joel Little.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Sep 30, 2013
    94
    September has been a profoundly great month for new female vocalists in popular music, but Lorde is easily the most vocally striking and lyrically thought-provoking. Pure Heroine is honest and addictive.
  2. 90
    While she’ll have to work even harder to find an angle for record number two her debut delivers everything you could have hoped for from a pop star in 2013.
  3. Oct 2, 2013
    82
    It’s that vital connection between Lorde’s present-day ruminations and the uncanny way her music hits on such a fundamental level with all that dirty, romanticized nostalgia that makes Pure Heroine such a success beyond "Royals'" ostensible aim of looking down its nose at the Miley Cyruses and Taylor Swifts of the world.
  4. 80
    Lorde’s clearly a gifted songwriter for her age, but don’t let the novelty affect your perception of Pure Heroine. It’s a very grown-up album despite its teenage topics, and if you give a damn about good pop songs, then you owe it a listen.
  5. Oct 1, 2013
    80
    This is the rare debut that’s smart and disarming and instantly catchy.
  6. Nov 1, 2013
    70
    Whilst Lorde’s world creates its own incredibly distinctive atmosphere, it feels accessible and open to maturing.
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    60
    Pure Heroine seems to hint at the truth... but the truth is, Lorde is a pop invention as much as LDR and is not nearly as honest about her intentions.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 74
  2. Negative: 6 out of 74
  1. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    This album is so amazing, Lorde explored a new sound, different from other Indie artists, and the result is Pure Heroine, all the songs are catchy, I do not get tired of hearing. Expand
  2. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    Simply a precious masterpiece.
    Every song grips in it's uniqueness and does not let go for a long time.
    A triumph for a newly discovered
    talent.
    All my hopes for Lorde to keep the level.
    Expand
  3. Jun 16, 2014
    10
    A suburban teenagers dream. Perfectly written, incomparable melodies and amazing fluidity.

    Ella Marija Lani Yellich O'Connor's (Lorde)
    debut album is amazing. There isn't a weak song in the 10 superb ones on the record. Her and Joel Little create magic! Expand
  4. Oct 2, 2013
    9
    Lorde is still very young, and so, yes, there are some oversights, but I am so incredibly impressed by the imagery and the mood she lays down so easily. Disturbed suburbia, too-good-to-be-true bland teenage years. What a specific thing, but it's such a triumph. Buzzcut Season is my favourite. Expand
  5. May 9, 2014
    9
    I love his voice very skillful, very good songs and a good pace, very good to be still very young Lyrics, Est album is great Although you name two ways, and very simple cover a little more effort would have been improved. Expand
  6. Oct 17, 2013
    7
    Lorde has seemingly became an overnight success (at least in her home country, Australia, and North America) and that's neither deniable or shocking. Lorde attains the gift of being merely short of seventeen and being more mature than many musicians in the industry decades older than her. The New Zealander's calm vocals and beyond her years songwriting skills as well as Joel Little's chill production help solidify Pure Heroine as an anthem for the youth that's neither tamed nor rebellious. The lead single, "Royals", calmly defeats that idea that not all teenagers are 'trippin' in the bathroom' or 'trashing the hotel room' and has since made Lorde the first solo New Zealander to reach the number-one spot on the Billboard charts. Although Pure Heroine primarily treads on new wave, "Ribs" reassures that Lorde can step into more mainstream synthpop territory without contradicting her completely natural vibe whilst "Team" channels a more vintage Motown sounds. Pure Heroine's only weakness is that it's too short and sweet. But that taste we get in our headphones only teases and anticipates us even more for whatever this upcoming unintentional A-list songstress has to offer. Make no mistake: Lorde is NO one-hit wonder and we'll hear more from her very, very soon. Expand
  7. Apr 13, 2014
    0
    Billboard.com one of the so called reputable sites for reviewing music is full of SH!T. Look it up, they say the BIT CH that calls herself lorde, which is against Christianity to even allow her to be called that. That she is the best new vocals of the year and has one of the best albums. What a load of sh!t. Our music industry is just paying the critics off to give them good reviews OBVIOUSLY. The music industry is full of fu k ing sh!t and im done with this, i cant put up with this symbolism our Country is letting these industries get away with. LOOK UP THE MUSIC INDUSTRY CONSPIRACY AND HOLLYWOOD CONSPIRACY, ITS BEING TOOKIN OVER BY THE EVIL PEOPLE. Expand

See all 74 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from dozens of music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.