Pure Heroine

Pure Heroine Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 888 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut full-length release for the 16-year-old New Zealand pop singer-songwriter was produced by Joel Little.
Buy On

Top Track

Royals
I've never seen a diamond in the flesh I cut my teeth on wedding rings in the movies And I'm not proud of my address In the torn up town, no post... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Sep 30, 2013
    94
    September has been a profoundly great month for new female vocalists in popular music, but Lorde is easily the most vocally striking and lyrically thought-provoking. Pure Heroine is honest and addictive.
  2. 90
    While she’ll have to work even harder to find an angle for record number two her debut delivers everything you could have hoped for from a pop star in 2013.
  3. Oct 2, 2013
    82
    It’s that vital connection between Lorde’s present-day ruminations and the uncanny way her music hits on such a fundamental level with all that dirty, romanticized nostalgia that makes Pure Heroine such a success beyond "Royals'" ostensible aim of looking down its nose at the Miley Cyruses and Taylor Swifts of the world.
  4. 80
    Lorde’s clearly a gifted songwriter for her age, but don’t let the novelty affect your perception of Pure Heroine. It’s a very grown-up album despite its teenage topics, and if you give a damn about good pop songs, then you owe it a listen.
  5. Oct 1, 2013
    80
    This is the rare debut that’s smart and disarming and instantly catchy.
  6. Nov 1, 2013
    70
    Whilst Lorde’s world creates its own incredibly distinctive atmosphere, it feels accessible and open to maturing.
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    60
    Pure Heroine seems to hint at the truth... but the truth is, Lorde is a pop invention as much as LDR and is not nearly as honest about her intentions.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 119
  1. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    This album is so amazing, Lorde explored a new sound, different from other Indie artists, and the result is Pure Heroine, all the songs areThis album is so amazing, Lorde explored a new sound, different from other Indie artists, and the result is Pure Heroine, all the songs are catchy, I do not get tired of hearing. Expand
  2. Jun 10, 2017
    10
    Não pulo nenhuma faixa desse álbum, eu amo muito os instrumentais dele, e eu amo a voz robótica de Tennis Court, que inclusive é uma dasNão pulo nenhuma faixa desse álbum, eu amo muito os instrumentais dele, e eu amo a voz robótica de Tennis Court, que inclusive é uma das minhas favoritas. A Lorde é maravilhosa. Expand
  3. Sep 30, 2015
    10
    simplesmente divino. "Pure Heroine" é um dos melhores albuns que eu já ouvi na minha vida, o album fala sobre problemas sócias. é um cd comsimplesmente divino. "Pure Heroine" é um dos melhores albuns que eu já ouvi na minha vida, o album fala sobre problemas sócias. é um cd com composições incríveis, no qual lorde teve envolvimento em todas. um album forte e de personalidade, você consegue sentir sinceridade em cada composição. parabéns Lorde. Expand
  4. Dec 7, 2013
    10
    Really really good....Almost surpassed my expectations.My friend suggested this album to me and I am grateful to him for it. The song 'Royals'Really really good....Almost surpassed my expectations.My friend suggested this album to me and I am grateful to him for it. The song 'Royals' is the most catchy song of the whole album. The other songs are also very good. Hats off to Lorde!!! Expand
  5. Dec 1, 2013
    9
    Lorde's debut album "Pure Heroine" serves much more delighting messages than having sex and doing drugs and partying all the time. The oneLorde's debut album "Pure Heroine" serves much more delighting messages than having sex and doing drugs and partying all the time. The one most impressive (from countless positive messages) is being yourself and don't hope for much than you have it could turn against you, like her most successful song that grabbed most of the critics and people "Royals". "Royals" was called as racy, stupid, weird, dumb. NO. It is actually very unique in style and rich on content. Not all of Lord's songs are perfect but they are either rated as "Really Good" "Different (in a good way)" or all of the above plus "Perfect". Pure Heroine is rather the album of the year. Expand
  6. Jun 1, 2015
    8
    No está nada mal para ser su primer álbum, en especial por sus letras, que me han parecido lo mejor del álbum. El disco puede llegar a sonarNo está nada mal para ser su primer álbum, en especial por sus letras, que me han parecido lo mejor del álbum. El disco puede llegar a sonar en monótono en algunas ocasiones, pero tiene varias canciones que lo redimen. Expand
  7. Jun 17, 2014
    0
    Really? 79? Are the critics insane? This is the worst hipster thing I've ever heard. How can someone hear this whole thing and don't put 'itReally? 79? Are the critics insane? This is the worst hipster thing I've ever heard. How can someone hear this whole thing and don't put 'it all' out? I really do not understand why the eyes are all rolled to her. Lorde is **** Lana is THE **** Expand

See all 119 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from dozens of music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.