Pure

  • Record Label: Spitfire
  • Release Date: Nov 7, 2000
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 54
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 54
  3. Negative: 4 out of 54

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. IngoW.
    Dec 6, 2001
    10
    woooooooooowwwwwww!!!!!
  2. GrahamH
    Oct 9, 2004
    1
    Numan goes all Trent Reznor on us, hurrah!!, not. From the moment I picked this CD up and glanced the cover art I thought to myself "this has to be a joke?" Adopting a ridiculous crucifix pose Numan sings about God and Jesus again and again and again. He doesn't believe in God or the Devil but devotes yet another album to both, Exile being the last Biblical bashing, and yet another Numan goes all Trent Reznor on us, hurrah!!, not. From the moment I picked this CD up and glanced the cover art I thought to myself "this has to be a joke?" Adopting a ridiculous crucifix pose Numan sings about God and Jesus again and again and again. He doesn't believe in God or the Devil but devotes yet another album to both, Exile being the last Biblical bashing, and yet another repetitive shoddily produced album. Pure defies belief the D-50 is all over this album as is the Korg M1, with a wall of distorted guitars, ironicaly Numan is regarded as some sort of synth or techno guru I find no evidence of that with Pure. A little known band called Sulphur provide at least some efficient production values even if the material doesn't quite justify having any kind of professional treatment. Rumour has it Numan sent DAT tapes to the band who would then apply their own ideas to which Numan could pick and choose those he preferred. He doesn't like working with other people allegedly, this would explain albums such as Sacrifice and Exile. The albums title track features Numan trying to sing like a genuine rock star, but as soon as the chorus lets rip I found myself cringing with embarrassment. I don't know who suggested to him he could actually sing, and sing with power, whoever it is shame on you!!! Suffice to say none of the other tracks offer anything you haven't heard before. Trent Reznor he aint. Gary Numan rose to fame in 1979, the most unlikely popstar one could imagine, Pure redefines his irrelevance. A laughing stock to many, a clown to most, this album is a poor attempt at reinvention, little wonder then why we don't see Gazza playing big arenas or sell out tours. It's true what they say, anyone can be a popstar or a pilot even. Expand
  3. JoshuaM
    Aug 14, 2003
    10
    Only deaf men can't feel such power.. only blind men couldn't read the lyrics and know thier power.. And only a fool hates this CD
  4. philc
    Feb 4, 2005
    10
    just brilliant. the best
  5. StuR.
    Nov 3, 2001
    10
    An absolute classic, a masterpiece. This album clearly demostrates his talent as a songwriter and a performer. It's an emotional rollercoaster
  6. JohnR.
    Jul 8, 2001
    10
    From a long time Numan fan,this one is pure enjoyment from start to finish! Thanx Gary
  7. toma
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    excellent work. When is the next one - it's been 5 years!
  8. PhilL.
    Nov 8, 2001
    10
    awesome
  9. DianaF.
    Aug 9, 2001
    10
    I love this CD. have 3 copy's of it.and with the new look& great music. go see him in concert. and after the show talk with him. being around in the music for 21 years . is very pure.
  10. PhilL.
    Oct 1, 2002
    10
    awesome
  11. RonC.
    Apr 10, 2002
    10
    Solid rock, Asskikkin, Mindblowing, Buy it now!!!. Numan at his best. He as always been the best but is it possible for him to get better?
  12. DimitrisP.
    Apr 30, 2002
    10
    Pure is one of the best Gary Numan's albums. Great music, inspired lyrics, wonderful vocals. Thanks Gary!
  13. PamelaH.
    May 3, 2002
    10
    Gary at his best. His personal tribute to the emmotional part of his life. A very deep and highly charged album. Absolutely brilliant. BUY IT, BUY IT, BUY IT - a must -have if you're a Numan fan
  14. DonH.
    Jun 1, 2002
    9
    Forget anything you know about Gary Numan - this album stands on its own two feet. One of the darkest malevolent albums since Sabbath Bloody Sabbath - play it very very loud.
  15. JonH
    Feb 10, 2003
    10
    Caught him live at Colston Hall in Bristol.........speechless, Purify sends electric shivvers up your spine and the fact that his music is generating a new fanbase just says it all. Gary's not back...he never left, but boy is he more noticible.
  16. Aprel
    Feb 27, 2003
    10
    Powerful lyrics and music that takes you threw every high and low emotion possible. A must have!
  17. MarcelW
    Mar 3, 2003
    10
    A group of songs so sweepingly powerful and thoughtful. The fall from grace has never been so intimately explored. The focus is sharp and the writing is clear. Gary Numan has progressed and folded music many times as to be called master
  18. jorgem
    Oct 14, 2004
    8
    i think this CD is just great!numan goes way out into making it very "Danceable"!very refreshing Pure really is!with 11 track's on it,couldn't ask for more!"Fallen"being one of my favorite song's on it!
  19. StevieK.Farnaby(TheCompanyUK2001)
    Oct 9, 2004
    9
    A phenominal album to say the least. Pure has a particularly ecclectic style. It goes from dark, atmospheric and brooding, through aggresive and angry, to emotional and heart-rending. A big-time recommend from me, Pure stands as a ground-breaking roller-coaster ride of an album.
  20. Greg
    Mar 30, 2004
    10
    This is awesome, beyond awesome. Just what makes this album so great is the its relevance to a disillusioned generation like ours. Powerful lyrics, genius use of synth and and Distortion guitars. From one musician to another - Numan you are a genius your creativity is an inspiration to everyone
  21. AnthonyF
    Jul 24, 2004
    10
    I love that cd I loved his concert to pure in san francisco
  22. public
    Dec 8, 2005
    10
    Now it's Numan, somethimes scarred, hard, heavy and beautiful. Screams and heavy guitars...
  23. K.WATSON
    Oct 30, 2005
    10
    absolute beauty.
  24. EsaG
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    I found Pure after Jagged, and man, am I just thrilled. This is best what has happened in the music world since NiN's Fragile.
  25. louiseCat
    Dec 31, 2002
    1
    i hate this cd with all my might and think it should be burned.
  26. LozB.
    Jun 24, 2002
    8
    Numan makes a great return to form, by adding Trent Reznor and Marilyn Manson to his dark techno to give us a glimpse of hell itself. A slightly faltering side 2, but an album of real character.
  27. BernieH.
    Jun 8, 2002
    10
    listen to this album load and listen to the lyrics .the man is back .
  28. eyecon
    Jul 21, 2002
    10
    i've never listened to any of his stuff before. i was attracted though by the nin references that were so prevelant. and my god, rarely have i heard such a shiveringly gorgeous musical work! i've been playing pure on repeat for nearly 12 hours now. it really is that good. previously unrated in my musical importance list gary numan has become one of 7 artists that i actually i've never listened to any of his stuff before. i was attracted though by the nin references that were so prevelant. and my god, rarely have i heard such a shiveringly gorgeous musical work! i've been playing pure on repeat for nearly 12 hours now. it really is that good. previously unrated in my musical importance list gary numan has become one of 7 artists that i actually think are seriously worth giving a shit about. i actually can't find any words to express the way pure has impacted on my poor dishevelled mind! yay Expand
  29. SteveW.
    Jul 5, 2002
    9
    This album, like all Gary's albums, is a wonderful piece of noise. It's very fashionable to rave about him these days, but some of us have always been, and will always be huge fans. Keep up the good work, Gazza!!!
  30. AngelaC.
    Aug 17, 2002
    10
    absoulutley fan f**king tastic
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Pure is Gary Numan's richest, most powerful and most aggressive work in years.
  2. Select
    60
    Numan is now crafting music that sounds identical to his disciples. [Nov 2000, p.118]
  3. One has to give credit to an '80s new wave musician who can adapt and create contemporary-sounding music.... The album can comfortably sit alongside Marilyn Manson and Nine Inch Nails on store shelves. Pure doesn't drive like the industrialized adrenaline rush that is, say, Orgy, but the tracks' lingering and creepy pace leaves behind a different kind of impact -- it's more haunting than relentless