Pure - Gary Numan
Pure Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Pure is Gary Numan's richest, most powerful and most aggressive work in years.
  2. A heavyweight, goth-rock death trip, awash with mangled guitars and horror-film atmospherics. [Nov. 2000, p.113]
  3. 60
    Numan is now crafting music that sounds identical to his disciples. [Nov 2000, p.118]
  4. One has to give credit to an '80s new wave musician who can adapt and create contemporary-sounding music.... The album can comfortably sit alongside Marilyn Manson and Nine Inch Nails on store shelves. Pure doesn't drive like the industrialized adrenaline rush that is, say, Orgy, but the tracks' lingering and creepy pace leaves behind a different kind of impact -- it's more haunting than relentless
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 45
  3. Negative: 2 out of 45
  1. PeterW.
    Mar 16, 2002
    10
    Pure Genius. Pure Numan. How Gary has managed to pick himself up by his shoelaces since the dark days following "Outland" and "Machine and Soul" should really be the stuff for a Hollywood movie script. But pick himself up he did. This album is not only a work of art, it is contemporary. It sits well in the C.D. rack alongside Linkin Park, Nirvana, Manson, Nine Inch Nails etc etc. No wonder Gary has turned down countless offers to go those "Taste of the Eighties" tours when he is capable of producing music of such lasting quality. If you don't have the album, buy it. If you don't enjoy it, email me - I'll pay for it. Now, if only we could get the tv stations to stop asking him to play "Cars" whenever he appears ... Expand
  2. StuR.
    Nov 3, 2001
    10
    An absolute classic, a masterpiece. This album clearly demostrates his talent as a songwriter and a performer. It's an emotional rollercoaster
  3. IngoW.
    Dec 6, 2001
    10
    woooooooooowwwwwww!!!!!
  4. frank-edouardw
    Nov 25, 2003
    10
    the best gary numan album ever
  5. K.WATSON
    Oct 30, 2005
    10
    absolute beauty.
  6. EsaG
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    I found Pure after Jagged, and man, am I just thrilled. This is best what has happened in the music world since NiN's Fragile.
  7. GrahamH
    Oct 9, 2004
    1
    Numan goes all Trent Reznor on us, hurrah!!, not. From the moment I picked this CD up and glanced the cover art I thought to myself "this has to be a joke?" Adopting a ridiculous crucifix pose Numan sings about God and Jesus again and again and again. He doesn't believe in God or the Devil but devotes yet another album to both, Exile being the last Biblical bashing, and yet another repetitive shoddily produced album. Pure defies belief the D-50 is all over this album as is the Korg M1, with a wall of distorted guitars, ironicaly Numan is regarded as some sort of synth or techno guru I find no evidence of that with Pure. A little known band called Sulphur provide at least some efficient production values even if the material doesn't quite justify having any kind of professional treatment. Rumour has it Numan sent DAT tapes to the band who would then apply their own ideas to which Numan could pick and choose those he preferred. He doesn't like working with other people allegedly, this would explain albums such as Sacrifice and Exile. The albums title track features Numan trying to sing like a genuine rock star, but as soon as the chorus lets rip I found myself cringing with embarrassment. I don't know who suggested to him he could actually sing, and sing with power, whoever it is shame on you!!! Suffice to say none of the other tracks offer anything you haven't heard before. Trent Reznor he aint. Gary Numan rose to fame in 1979, the most unlikely popstar one could imagine, Pure redefines his irrelevance. A laughing stock to many, a clown to most, this album is a poor attempt at reinvention, little wonder then why we don't see Gazza playing big arenas or sell out tours. It's true what they say, anyone can be a popstar or a pilot even. Expand

See all 45 User Reviews