Push Barman To Open Old Wounds Image
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 47 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This 2-disc set collects 25 non-LP tracks that previously appeared on the band's early singles and EPs for Jeepster.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Push Barman To Open Old Wounds is a rare species indeed; though all of the songs could be considered “hits,” the album avoids all of the tackiness associated with greatest hits collections.
  2. It's a perfect way into the world of Belle and Sebastian, even if the band spends the second half of the disc trying to redecorate that space.
  3. The quality level is almost inhumanly high, and the range of the tracks here gives you a better idea of what the band is like than any of their individual albums.
  4. 90
    These are the quiet, beautiful songs that made Belle & Sebastian seem so monumental for a short time. [#68, p.88]
  5. If you want to know about the Glasgow scene which spawned Franz Ferdinand, 'Push Barman To Open Old Wounds' is pretty much essential. [21 May 2005, p.66]
  6. Perhaps the best overall representation of Belle and Sebastian’s distinctive brand of indie pop.
  7. Opinions will still be divided--Murdoch as literary giant or self-important art school berk?--as, over 25 tracks, there's evidence of both. [Jul 2005, p.129]

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. DaveF
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    Bought this purely on the recommendations here and just can't freakin believe how good this album is. Gold, baby, pure gold.
  2. LawrenceP
    Jun 8, 2005
    10
    You could almost say this is the only B&S you'll ever need. "The State I Am In" is my favorite B&S track of all time.
  3. FrancisM
    Aug 19, 2006
    10
    The "Louder Than Bombs" for a new generation.
  4. StuartY
    Jun 19, 2005
    10
    Reasons you should buy this CD. 1) It's essentially two albums for the price of one 2) Belle and Sebastian create a beautiful range of Reasons you should buy this CD. 1) It's essentially two albums for the price of one 2) Belle and Sebastian create a beautiful range of well crafted, listenable and clever pop tunes. 3) It saves you from having to collect all the EPs like a true devotee would normally do. Expand
  5. TheyLetMulroneycakesGoBlind
    Feb 9, 2006
    10
    Yipee! All of B&S' eps and singles and b-sides prior to moving to Rough Trade, on one record! I can't say much because I fear Yipee! All of B&S' eps and singles and b-sides prior to moving to Rough Trade, on one record! I can't say much because I fear breaking Metacritic's bandwidth, such is the greatness of pretty much each and every song here. This is, simply, a record you need. Expand
  6. SteveT
    May 31, 2006
    10
    Everyone has said what needs to be said about this album. Wow. Just go buy it.
  7. matta
    Jun 20, 2005
    9
    This is an amazing compilation of songs. Not since The Masterplan have we got such a good batch of b-sides and Ep songs from a indie/british This is an amazing compilation of songs. Not since The Masterplan have we got such a good batch of b-sides and Ep songs from a indie/british rock band. Easily up there with their best stuff. Collapse

See all 15 User Reviews