• Record Label: Echo
  • Release Date: Jan 31, 2005
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 31
  2. Negative: 5 out of 31

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 24, 2012
    10
    This album was my second favourite of all time, behind only Silent Cry (I'm a massive Feeder fan). Feeling A Moment is pure brilliance, whenever I'm feeling seriously down I put that on and the world seems far, far better, despite it's bittersweet lyrics. I love every song on the album, but I agree that Tumble and Fall should not have been the lead single because it's just not upbeatThis album was my second favourite of all time, behind only Silent Cry (I'm a massive Feeder fan). Feeling A Moment is pure brilliance, whenever I'm feeling seriously down I put that on and the world seems far, far better, despite it's bittersweet lyrics. I love every song on the album, but I agree that Tumble and Fall should not have been the lead single because it's just not upbeat enough, and Pain on Pain and Dove Grey Sands are a bit dull but still great. There are songs on this that sound like Keane and Coldplay, but Feeder actually started years before both of them and they have gone through many styles, even on this album alone, so there's only a few songs with those similarities. Expand
  2. RickN
    Apr 12, 2005
    2
    Feeder just get worse and worse. This sounds like the soundtrack to a boring man's coma. Weak and lame. GO AWAY FEEDER!!
  3. sergiom
    Mar 21, 2005
    8
    I dont understand bad critics. Its a good album! The best of feeder.
  4. DanD
    Mar 7, 2005
    5
    A very disapointing album given the succes of echo park and comfort in sound. it starts very promising with its opening track. Then the only track that is worth listening to is pushing the senses, a top song with great catchy riffs and melody. Feeder with this album have tried to diverse from something which did not need to be altered. feeder are renoun for good hard brittish rock and A very disapointing album given the succes of echo park and comfort in sound. it starts very promising with its opening track. Then the only track that is worth listening to is pushing the senses, a top song with great catchy riffs and melody. Feeder with this album have tried to diverse from something which did not need to be altered. feeder are renoun for good hard brittish rock and roll. The biggest thing that springs to mind when listening to this album, is why change something Expand
  5. JoeA
    Apr 11, 2005
    10
    Excellent album. Comparisons drawn with Keane and Coldplay may be half-true, but Feeder have their own individual sound, still keeping parts of their old sound in this album.
  6. JorgeT
    Apr 8, 2005
    10
    This album is diferent, it´s a classic rock! They are diferent now, and they are a great band, with a great sond! But I hope the next one, more heavy!!!! GO FEEDER!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  7. beno
    Jul 2, 2005
    8
    cant understand the criticism, bands move on, they dont stay the same. this album rocks, its heavy and well structured, with a few melancholy tracks in there too.great album!
  8. MartinS
    May 6, 2006
    9
    When I first got this album I was dissapointed. I thought I would be getting a wider variety of songs not, what at first hearing, sounded all the same. I stuck with this album and gradually, after about 5 times, realised how different and how good (all but Dove Grey Sands which is actually really crap!) actually were. This is an album I can listen to over and over again and each time I When I first got this album I was dissapointed. I thought I would be getting a wider variety of songs not, what at first hearing, sounded all the same. I stuck with this album and gradually, after about 5 times, realised how different and how good (all but Dove Grey Sands which is actually really crap!) actually were. This is an album I can listen to over and over again and each time I struggle to decide which song is the best. If you are looking for harder rock then try Feeders earlier stuff but this album is just as good but in different ways. Dissapointed that Shatter and Victoria were not included on the album and the it was a bit short but still ranks up there with their other great albums (Echo Park and Swim). Expand
  9. NickD
    Feb 22, 2005
    1
    Radio-friendly FM rock for those who find Doves and Elbow too harrowing and upbeat. Feeder used to be a rock band, and a good rock band. Unfortunately, this is pedestrian shite, lacking in the hooks that made them a great band, in fact lacking any charm whatsoever. Feeder are dying.
  10. RyanC
    Feb 22, 2005
    0
    Oh look its the worst lyricist in the world! And yes, the music is a waste of a good studio!
  11. DrX
    Mar 1, 2005
    8
    Not quite as good as Polythene, but excellent none the less.
  12. KervinH
    Mar 3, 2005
    0
    If this record was a person, I would stamp on this persons foot very hard indeed for being predictably boring and uninspiring. Hopefully then they would go away never to return.
  13. MichaelF
    May 28, 2006
    10
    Outstanding feeder are so under rated
  14. JoachimH
    Aug 19, 2006
    10
    This is Feeders maybe greatest album to date. And they are fantastic
  15. bretta
    Mar 17, 2005
    0
    this sucks
  16. [Anonymous]
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    No.1 album 2005
  17. MattG
    Apr 6, 2005
    10
    At first listen, this album can seem a little samey, but then as soon as you hear it another time, you realise how good this album is, both lyrically and musically. ok, this is in a different league to polythene and swim, but in the league its in, it has to be somewhere near the top.
  18. KJeffery
    Jan 31, 2007
    10
    "Go away Feeder"!!???, what on earth are you talking about!!?, they will be here for ages, and have been making and releasing music for 12 years now!!. This album was voted best album to be released by a Welsh act in 2005, the perfect middle-finger to all those who gave them a hard time just for doing something they love- making music. This album is an amazing journey, and is "Go away Feeder"!!???, what on earth are you talking about!!?, they will be here for ages, and have been making and releasing music for 12 years now!!. This album was voted best album to be released by a Welsh act in 2005, the perfect middle-finger to all those who gave them a hard time just for doing something they love- making music. This album is an amazing journey, and is Feeder's own sound, not all this "Coldplay this, Coldplay that" inspired music. "Tumble and Fall" as good as it was, definetly shouldn't have been the first single, but don't let that put you off!!!. Each song on the album really has something special to it, and goes to show you can create a great rock album without heavy guitars and the like. Expand
  19. Joris
    Feb 18, 2005
    8
    10 Good tracks but the album sounds unfinished and should have contained some more feelgood killertracks like the titletrack Pushing The Senses (=Feeder like we knew them). Despite this, tracks like Morning Life, Bitter Glass and the beautiful Pain On Pain and Dove Grey Sands are worth the admission!
  20. PaulG
    Mar 25, 2005
    10
    really fantastic and everyone i know loves it
  21. cib
    Apr 18, 2005
    10
    Brilliant album, and shows that maturity doesn't come at a price. They still have the distinctive sound of Feeder, but all thats changed is the mood and the songwriting. Maybe different to Polythene, Swim etc but just as good, if not better in places!!!
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. I have to accept that the band I once loved is now nothing more than a distant memory. Songs such as 'Tangerine' and 'Crash' have long been replaced by the new sound which owes much more to Keane and Coldplay in their melancholic approach.
  2. Mostly it's just a heavily lacquered drone, an album so restrained as to sound almost calculated. [29 Jan 2005, p.58]
  3. An album that could finally establish Feeder as major league players. [Feb 2005, p.92]