• Record Label: Warp
  • Release Date: Mar 4, 2008
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndreD.
    Mar 10, 2008
    10
    The first listen was meh at best, but immediately afterwards on the second listen it soon becomes apparent that this may be one of the greatest albums they've ever released. Absolutely amazing.
  2. marcG
    Mar 13, 2008
    4
    their worst lp...
  3. SaltlickMcgee
    Mar 22, 2008
    9
    I have found Autechre to be consistently fascinating, and this album is no different. I agree with that cokemachineglow guy that this is probably the best album they could have made at this point. It's actually very playful in a lot of spots. Nothing really feels rushed or cut off too soon, and nothing really drags too badly either. I already can't wait for the next one.
  4. BobbyK.
    Mar 10, 2008
    9
    Easily their most accessible release in years. A slight return to melody. Album must be listened to as a whole to be appreciated... playing on random is not an option. Gets better with each listen.
  5. LiamS.
    Mar 17, 2008
    4
    if it wasn't obvious enough on Untilted that they'd run out of ideas it sure is now.
  6. MatthewB.
    Mar 27, 2008
    9
    The first time I listened to this I skimmed through the beginnings of a few tracks, and thought it wasn't anything special. However this album really only comes alive when you listen to it as a single and complete musical journey. It's their best album for many years.
  7. EricC.
    May 5, 2008
    9
    What's painful for some is awesome for others. Experimental electro can be a very intimidating genre, and Autechre doesn't disprove this. You actually have to look for beats and rhythms, and the sounds they throw in may sound sensless and random. But something just clicked when I heard this album for the first time, and I actually enjoyed it. The second time, and it became my What's painful for some is awesome for others. Experimental electro can be a very intimidating genre, and Autechre doesn't disprove this. You actually have to look for beats and rhythms, and the sounds they throw in may sound sensless and random. But something just clicked when I heard this album for the first time, and I actually enjoyed it. The second time, and it became my favorite album of the new year. They're ultra-precise computer tricks are beyond what most of their peers are doing (if you would dare call Does it Offend You Yeah? or Morcheeba their peers). It also doesn't hurt that this album reminds me of the score to Blade Runner (not sure why, except for the broodingly beautiful opener and closer). If you don't think that this is music, then you can't be convinced. For everyone else who is willing to get engaged in their music, then Autechre have no rivals. Also, it blows my mind how some people lable them as dance. Try to dance to them, and put it on YouTube. Expand
  8. John
    Mar 11, 2008
    10
    varied... requires more than just a few listens to really appreciate.
  9. AlexanderX
    Mar 12, 2008
    8
    A fine trip album, akin to Aphex Twin's percussion-heavy ambient efforts but with fewer lush sound-fields to lie in. More mechanical than organic, more discordant than harmonious, the bemusing beats intermingle with synthesized blips, zaps, thunks, and bleats, and contort perplexing together to form atmospheric songs that, as a whole, are disconnected from one another rather than A fine trip album, akin to Aphex Twin's percussion-heavy ambient efforts but with fewer lush sound-fields to lie in. More mechanical than organic, more discordant than harmonious, the bemusing beats intermingle with synthesized blips, zaps, thunks, and bleats, and contort perplexing together to form atmospheric songs that, as a whole, are disconnected from one another rather than fluid. The album grows on you like a one-sided conversation with an odd, cryptic person who, nonetheless, is very fascinating. Expand
  10. StevenH.
    Mar 13, 2008
    3
    While suffering through this album's first 8 meandering and a-melodic noise, I had to ask myself....why am I doing this to myself? The answer was that I used to really like Autechre. The next question was...why did I used to like Autechre? The answers to that one were numerous...Tri Repetae, LP5, Innacabula, etc. The only question left is "what the hell happened?" Experimentation While suffering through this album's first 8 meandering and a-melodic noise, I had to ask myself....why am I doing this to myself? The answer was that I used to really like Autechre. The next question was...why did I used to like Autechre? The answers to that one were numerous...Tri Repetae, LP5, Innacabula, etc. The only question left is "what the hell happened?" Experimentation with sound is awesome...but to the the maximum return on these sounds, you have to make a song out of it. This album is almost completely devoid of anything resembling a song. I got into autechre because they pushed the envelope on what a song was, what a song could be....they stripped the melodies and rhythms down to their roots. Sadly on their last 2 albums, they've thrown both out the window entirely. Expand
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Not since "LP5" has being impressed been so obviously secondary to enjoyment.
  2. At times it feels like a lot is going on, others not so much. The pieces are all there, but it just doesn't add up to more than the sum of its parts.
  3. Quaristice--the band’s 9th full length, with about as many EPs--is probably the best album Autechre could have created at this point in their career.