Queen of the Wave

Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Feb 13, 2012
    60
    There's just too much noise here, and not enough cohesion, for a singular identity to sing clearly.
  2. Uncut
    Feb 1, 2012
    60
    All over the shop stylistically--but a keen handle on dynamics and narrative holds it all together. [Feb 2012, p.97]
  3. Mojo
    Feb 1, 2012
    60
    [Their] constant supersize-me approach is a bit exhausting, but few albums this year will strive this hard to entertain. [Feb 2012, p.95]
  4. Feb 1, 2012
    60
    What we're left with feels like a big blur--an entertaining and wacked-out trip to Wonderland, but not one that I feel particularly compelled to return to.
  5. Mar 23, 2012
    50
    Queen of the Wave just makes you lay prostrate at the feet of Pepe Deluxé in the hopes that you won't mind them relentlessly hammering you with tacky quirks and leaving absolutely nothing to the imagination.
  6. All the talent in the world can't cover up the fact that Queen of the Wave simply tries too hard and succeeds too infrequently.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Best album of the year, hands down. It's beyond brilliant. If Quentin Tarantino directed a Cirque du Soleil show, this would be the score...Best album of the year, hands down. It's beyond brilliant. If Quentin Tarantino directed a Cirque du Soleil show, this would be the score... And Lord knows that needs to happen. Full Review »
  2. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    I've never heard anything like this album before. I mean, I've heard a lot of stuff like it, but never this far out there. It's like all ofI've never heard anything like this album before. I mean, I've heard a lot of stuff like it, but never this far out there. It's like all of the best parts from all of my favouritest albums put together. Full Review »