R Plus Seven - Oneohtrix Point Never
R Plus Seven Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fifth release for experimental electronic artist Daniel Lopatin is his first disc with Wrap Records as Oneohtrix Point Never.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Sep 30, 2013
    What Lopatin leaves us with is a stunning example in the evolution of an artistic premise and a flawless embodiment of emotive responses to sound, which unite here in their most fractured form: a moving stillness for the digital age.
  2. 90
    R Plus Seven might be the first album to crystallize the simultaneous joy and terror inherent in a life of constant connection and constant surveillance.
  3. Dec 10, 2013
    EBM equals R Plus Seven. [Sep 2013, p.49]
  4. Sep 26, 2013
    R Plus Seven is as singularly compelling as any of his previous releases, but in his desire to transcend glossy hyper pop and introspective electronica into something new and fascinating, Lopatin has delivered a masterful debut for his new label.
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    For the most part, the album showcases Oneohtrix Point Never's restlessness and ambition in flattering ways; if it's equal parts mystifying and beautiful, it's also a puzzle well worth trying to figure out.
  6. Nov 14, 2013
    These abrupt transitions are clearly of central concern for Lopatin, and it's these rapid shifts that make R Plus Seven unlike anything he's produced to date.
  7. Sep 25, 2013
    While there are similar moments of brilliance [such as album closer Chrome Country] buried away, their fleeting existence only serves to underline what could have been. [Aug-Sep 2013, p.92]

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Oct 1, 2013
    A masterpiece of plunderphonics and experimental. Intense, disquieting and at times calm and sometimes euphoric. A brain maze of destroyed, repeated and sliced samples, ambient choruses, and shocked, punchy synthesizers. An album to sit down and really fall into it. Imagination is highly encouraged. A must listen for all lovers of music. Expand
  2. Oct 21, 2013
    This is a treasure. It offers a wide palette of emotions, from the exciting to the serene. Amazing production, linking all these samples into an entire album of beautiful sounds.

    This can be a very rewarding listening experience, if you're patient enough. I didn't like this album the first time i listened to it. It was only by the third time that i discovered the gems inside and loved it.

    Perhaps that's its only drawback. That it requires some sort of commitment.