Rage Against the Machine XX [20th Anniversary Edition] Image

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The self-titled 1992 debut album from Rage Against the Machine is reissued and remastered. Additional B-sides, songs from the band's demo tape, and DVDs are included on the special edition/deluxe box set versions.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jun 4, 2013
    The real gold is in tracks that didn’t make the final album, such as the funked-up Autologic and a jazz workout, Darkness Of Greed.
  2. Nov 29, 2012
    Overall, Rage Against the Machine has aged extremely well.
  3. Jan 3, 2013
    For 50 minutes, Rage Against The Machine is in superb form, showing that its vision was strong from the start. [Jan-Feb 2013, p.92]
  4. Dec 17, 2012
    This reissued debut reminds, they were a band better informed--and more thrilling--than most. [Jan 2013, p.106]
  5. Jan 3, 2013
    The expanded set illustrates the inventiveness of their playing and the original template of their sound was a strong one--these were louder protest songs for a louder time. [Feb 2013, p.94]
  6. Jan 2, 2013
    Rage Against The Machine's debut is still a record that would shock and shake foundations were it released today. [1 Dec 2012, p .48]
  7. Dec 14, 2012
    It's as well assembled as one could hope a box set of this type to be assembled. But the excessiveness of the content here suggests that this box set would have been better served in a career-spanning retrospective, not one limited to just the debut album.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Dec 4, 2012
    An absolute stone cold classic 90's album. Fueled by a palpable anger that is still relevant today, sad to say that 20 years later the government still serve themselves first and the people a distant second. Perhaps its naive to think politicians will ever change but at least you can rage against them. Beginning with Bombtrack, then straight into the anthem of the dissatisfied Killing in the name. Every song is a classic, an anthem and as an album it is close to perfect. So perfect in fact that Rage could never equal it or really come close to it. An astonishing debut, now packaged with the original album demo and a dvd showing the live energy of the band at their peak. Collapse
  2. Apr 10, 2013
    The disc of rough-around-the-edges demo tracks is worth the price of admission but this is a 90s classic in every way. I would've rated it a straight 10 even if the reissue were just a remastering of the original 10-track release. Expand
  3. AGK
    Jan 16, 2014
    this is probably the best music I have listened to ever. I love rock music, especially rock music from the 90's and this brings the money to the table. it's too bad that this band is underrated, they deserve a lot more love and they actually sing about actually important stuff other than today's typical song of being in the club with a bunch of chicks RATM's music actually serves a purpose and once again, I love it! Expand
  4. Oct 15, 2013
    great and politically heavy
    a little repetitive but all right
    rocks.............................................................................. Expand