Rain On The City - Freedy Johnston
Rain On The City Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 4 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The first album of new studio material in nine years for the singer-songwriter was produced by Richard McLaurin.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Johnston's best songs remind us that every mirror, like every voice, is always in danger of cracking. But that doesn't take anything away from the beauty of our illusions.
  2. Your gratitude for his economical writing may overcome your wonderment over why something so modest took so long.
  3. Freedy Johnston last released an album of new music in 2001 (he put out an engaging covers collection in 2008), but the years since have yielded a gorgeous pop record.
  4. 80
    Rain is a fetching guitar-pop wonder, a melodic feastm blending vintage Marshall Crenshaw-like hooks with elegant, acoustic scenes-in-miniature. [Mar 2010, p.89]
  5. Johnston delivers another album of nuanced and evocative tunes laced with vivid imagery and emotional depth.
  6. Here's a welcome return, as the underrated singer/songwriter went eight years between releases of original material. That's far too long for someone of Johnston's skill, but Rain On The City nearly makes up for the gap. [Holiday 2009, p.83]
  7. There’s nothing really wrong with a single one of them. The problem is that fans of Johnston’s music have been here before.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. BrianG.
    Jan 25, 2010
    Very solid, enjoyable listen.
  2. BrentG.
    Jan 18, 2010
    Freedy is back, sounding very much like Freedy. And we've missed ya.
  3. RickV.
    Jan 18, 2010
    I've missed Freedy's songs during the long hiatus between this CD and 2001's "Right Between the Promises." Anyone who thought I've missed Freedy's songs during the long hiatus between this CD and 2001's "Right Between the Promises." Anyone who thought the delay might mean a shift in style will be disappointed, but they shouldn't be. This one has some tunes that will grab you right away, but most of them need a little time to work their magic. In this respect, the CD is not unlike 1999's "Blue Days Black Nights." Johnston remains a first-rate songwriter and this CD is fine testimony to his enduring strengths. Let's hope the next one comes out in six months. Expand