Ram [Deluxe Edition] - Paul & Linda McCartney
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. May 25, 2012
    100
    These songs may not be self-styled major statements, but they are endearing and enduring, as is Ram itself, which seems like a more unique, exquisite pleasure with each passing year. Hardcore fans will definitely find the big set to be a worthwhile investment.
  2. May 25, 2012
    92
    Ram is a domestic-bliss album, one of the weirdest, earthiest, and most honest ever made.
  3. May 25, 2012
    90
    Ram sounds ahead of its time.
  4. May 25, 2012
    100
    It's more of a "real" record than McCartney, but it just as firmly rejects rock-star self-importance.
  5. Ram's 2012 reincarnation sounds impeccable. Though the bonus tracks don't pack much punch, the LP's dozen original cuts, crowned by the breakthrough sensation "Uncle Albert / Admiral Halsey," arguably make this LP McCartney's seminal solo effort.
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    This album was criminally under-appreciated in it's day, because most critics I don't think "got" what Paul was trying to do here. In contrast to Lennon's "important statement" Plastic Ono Band, and Harrison's career defining epic "All things Must Pass", this was just Paul largely recording independently signing songs that superficially didn't appear to be about anything in particular. How could the writer largely responsible for Abbey Road and Sgt. Peppers release something that didn't make some sort of grand sixties statement?

    But that's part of the genius of this album and why it deserves to be in the pantheon of "Greatest former Beatle solo projects". Ram is arguably the first indi-pop album, that doesn't try to be anything more than it is. Paul's musical talents are brilliantly understated on this album, songs like "Ram on" "Dear Boy" and "Back seat of my car" get under your skin without even really trying. The lyrics have some coded (and not so coded) shots at his former bandmates, but they're largely just a celebration of his new life with Linda+ Kids on the farm. In many ways, by not trying to make a "grand post-60's statement", it sounds less dated than some of Lennon's blatant political messages he was releasing around this time. It's a shame this album received the critical backlash that it did when it came out, because Paul reversed course almost immediately and dedicated the rest of this decade and the 80's making music that tried so hard to be liked. It's not really until the late 90's and early 00's that Paul felt comfortable making albums that are comparable to this again.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 18, 2013
    8
    First album I listened of Paul outside of The Beatles and I love it. Quite a few good songs though out such as Uncle Albert/Admiral Halsey and Smile Away. It's just a real feel good album and definitely worth checking out. Full Review »
  3. Sep 26, 2012
    9
    I thought this album had a few good songs on it but for the most part, this was one of McCartney's weirdest albums. I like it because it's Paul, but it's not my favorite. Full Review »