Random Access Memories

  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: May 21, 2013
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 902 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 74 out of 902

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 21, 2013
    10
    Random Access Memories is in the simplest of terms a triumph. Despite Daft Punk's robotic visage, every song on the album feels incredibly heartfelt, from the love letter to the Synthesizer that is Giorgio by Moroder, to the laid back and hypnotic Fragments of Time.

    Despite having few collaborations prior to this record, Daft Punk clearly know how to get the best out of their new
    Random Access Memories is in the simplest of terms a triumph. Despite Daft Punk's robotic visage, every song on the album feels incredibly heartfelt, from the love letter to the Synthesizer that is Giorgio by Moroder, to the laid back and hypnotic Fragments of Time.

    Despite having few collaborations prior to this record, Daft Punk clearly know how to get the best out of their new recruits. By selectively choosing artists and musicians that they look up to and admire, Daft Punk have managed to easily intertwine their inimitable electronic class with the likes of Nile Rodgers' incredibly catchy guitars, Todd Edwards' smooth cut-ups and Panda Bear's confident indie feel.

    From the reviews and opinions I've gathered so far, the album's biggest point of contention seems to be 'Touch' the collaboration with Paul Williams. Whilst definitely not the best track on the album, it's certainly one that grows on you, especially when it hits that magnificent 3:20 mark.

    Definitely not an album that should be missed by anybody.
    Expand
  2. May 21, 2013
    9
    After 3 years of silence, the noise has finally returned. The rightful kings of EDM (Electronic-Dance Music) are back and in full swing with their new album. The tracks ooze through the speakers with such magnificence, you will have to brace yourself to endure the exhilarating experience. The songs intertwine together, tied tightly together with a bow, and handed to you to open and enjoy.After 3 years of silence, the noise has finally returned. The rightful kings of EDM (Electronic-Dance Music) are back and in full swing with their new album. The tracks ooze through the speakers with such magnificence, you will have to brace yourself to endure the exhilarating experience. The songs intertwine together, tied tightly together with a bow, and handed to you to open and enjoy. I must say that Daft Punk may have lost some of their electronic side in the transition period, but those are minor details. It seems as if comparing Human After All with Random Access Memories is like comparing apples to oranges. Yes, they're both fruits, but they're nothing alike.

    Even from the beginning, Daft Punk make their message clear. They are trying to "Give Life Back To Music". They, unlike all pop music today, have emotion. They have rhythm and soul. So, maybe these cold, metallic robots do have hearts after all. They seem to show love and want to spread it with their music. The feel good tracks such as "Get Lucky" and "Lose Yourself To Dance" get their audience into a hypnotic state of being, mesmerized by the entrancing beats. One song in particular caught my attention. The track "The Game of Love" is a heart-wrenching masterpiece with a similar feel to "Something About Us" from Discovery. This lyrics, despite being distorted by a robotic voice, express a deep lamentation and exclamation of love.

    The first half of the album is flawless. The songs are smooth and errorless. When you slowly transition into the second half, it seems as though the songs become more ambient. They would be perfect if they were played in the background of a party, but not as frontline tracks. I'm not saying that they are bad tracks, but they lack the emotion and funkiness that is set-up in the first half. However, I am slightly disappointed with "Doin' It Right". This track features the genius vocalist/drummer Noah Lennox (or better known as Panda Bear). He is a member of one of my favourite bands, Animal Collective, and has made a splash in the electronic spectrum. I figured that the rhythm behind Animal Collective would create a heavenly collaboration with two electronic gods. I was sadly mistaken when I heard the lack-lustre track. It's not all bad, but I really expected something with a little more "oomph".

    Despite a few minor setbacks, Daft Punk have created one of the most enjoyable albums this year and continue to surprise us with new tricks up their sleeves.
    Expand
  3. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    Para mi Random Acces Memories es el mejor album de este año, con grandes canciones, una gran producción hacen que este album sea un deleite para nuestros oídos.
  4. Aug 2, 2013
    9
    I'm a HUGE Daft Punk fan and finally the new album is out, and it's amazing. But it's not perfect, and here is why. There are 3 kind of Daft Punk songs on the album: commercial 'singles' (Get Lucky, Lose Yourself to Dance, Give Life Back to Music & Fragments of Time), mellow 'slow' songs (Game of Love, Within, Beyond & Horizon) and general Daft Punk songs (the remaining 6 songs). NaturallyI'm a HUGE Daft Punk fan and finally the new album is out, and it's amazing. But it's not perfect, and here is why. There are 3 kind of Daft Punk songs on the album: commercial 'singles' (Get Lucky, Lose Yourself to Dance, Give Life Back to Music & Fragments of Time), mellow 'slow' songs (Game of Love, Within, Beyond & Horizon) and general Daft Punk songs (the remaining 6 songs). Naturally most people like the commercial songs the most whereas die-hard fans want that electronic Daft-sound.

    There is something for everyone on this album and you can't ignore the fact that it's an amazing achievement to make an 'electronic' album with hundreds of live intstruments. You can hear the quality of this 5 year in the making album. A bit less 'mellow' and 'commercial' songs and more pure Daft sound and it would be a 10/10 from me. Discovery has the perfect balance and still is their best album.
    Expand
  5. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    Regardless of your stance over Daft Punk’s previous albums, I can hardly think of anyone not liking Random Access Memories. The French duo decided to leave their typical electronic sound and create a more nostalgic and funky vibe that’s also heavier on vocals. Featuring a lot of surprising feature guests (not always in the singing business, of course) such as The Strokes’ JulianRegardless of your stance over Daft Punk’s previous albums, I can hardly think of anyone not liking Random Access Memories. The French duo decided to leave their typical electronic sound and create a more nostalgic and funky vibe that’s also heavier on vocals. Featuring a lot of surprising feature guests (not always in the singing business, of course) such as The Strokes’ Julian Casablancas or septuagenarian singer-songwriter Paul Williams, their fourth album is actually their best, in my opinion. Discovery was amazing, but their newest record just touches so much more layers and combines a multitude of different styles in 13 unique tracks. From sad love songs like “Within” or “Instant Love” over disco gems as “Get Lucky” or “Doin’ It Right” to the unforgettable epics “Touch” and “Giorgio By Moroder”, Random Access Memories presents everything that makes electronic dance music such a great genre. Expand
  6. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    Greatest album out there right now. Overwhelming amount of live-sound, collaborations with Paul Williams, Neil Rodgers and legendary Giorgio Moroder, who is used very brilliantly in this feature. I gotto say, I was surprised by Pharrell Williams, who has never struck me as a powerful artist, but in picked singles he was the best choice over any other. Funk and Disco are the main focus andGreatest album out there right now. Overwhelming amount of live-sound, collaborations with Paul Williams, Neil Rodgers and legendary Giorgio Moroder, who is used very brilliantly in this feature. I gotto say, I was surprised by Pharrell Williams, who has never struck me as a powerful artist, but in picked singles he was the best choice over any other. Funk and Disco are the main focus and Daft Punks usual is kept only to add to the atmosphere. It`s a quality album, that has no technical flaws and disappoitments. This album will be timeless. Expand
  7. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    If you consider yourself a bassist professional, aspiring, or the 11 year old in 6th grade jazz band brave enough to try learn EVERY note of this album. Each song is lovingly crafted, and the bass lines are tailored perfectly for each tune. Don't worry about the "70s disco" thing, or what this could be categorized as; this is EXACTLY what we should be studying as musicians and loversIf you consider yourself a bassist professional, aspiring, or the 11 year old in 6th grade jazz band brave enough to try learn EVERY note of this album. Each song is lovingly crafted, and the bass lines are tailored perfectly for each tune. Don't worry about the "70s disco" thing, or what this could be categorized as; this is EXACTLY what we should be studying as musicians and lovers of music. I'm thrilled that DP would give us a gift this lovingly constructed, and just trust that we would pay if we loved it. I'm buying my hard copy tomorrow! Expand
  8. Jun 16, 2013
    8
    I've always loved Daft Punk since their Homework album. When Random Access Memories came out, I rushed to the store to pick up the CD. I can say that I enjoyed the album. To truly experience this album you must put the CD in your stereo and just let the whole thing play out. Some songs I came across I did not like as much as others, but it's songs like "Touch", "Giorgio by Moroder",I've always loved Daft Punk since their Homework album. When Random Access Memories came out, I rushed to the store to pick up the CD. I can say that I enjoyed the album. To truly experience this album you must put the CD in your stereo and just let the whole thing play out. Some songs I came across I did not like as much as others, but it's songs like "Touch", "Giorgio by Moroder", "Fragments of Time", and many more that pull this album together. Expand
  9. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    Going back to the fast to make musical progressions in the future! I think Daft Punk really struck gold with this record: It's replay value is off the charts, it's catchy as hell, and gives off an authentic throwback vibe. Every song Great.
  10. Oct 13, 2013
    9
    Random Access Memories can easily be described as Daft Punk's finest material to date and one of the most memorable moments of 2013. The lead single, "Get Lucky", was a summer smash and could be considered a contender for being one of the finest pop songs of the 2010s thus far. Although its 70s disco and funk throwbacks might not charm all audiences, it's certainly a welcoming album toRandom Access Memories can easily be described as Daft Punk's finest material to date and one of the most memorable moments of 2013. The lead single, "Get Lucky", was a summer smash and could be considered a contender for being one of the finest pop songs of the 2010s thus far. Although its 70s disco and funk throwbacks might not charm all audiences, it's certainly a welcoming album to anyone even remotely interested in escaping the electro craze that's done nothing but dominate the top 40 in recent years. The vocoders have since become their signature sound, but are more than welcoming in the opening four tracks "Give Life Back to Music", "The Game of Love", and the 'robo-gloom' ballad "Within", which both alienate younger audiences whilst still remaining the listeners in their comfort zone. "Giorgio by Moroder" magnificently narrates listeners through the process of becoming a musician whilst "Instant Crush", featuring The Strokes' lead singer Julian Casablancas, somehow manages to channel the same melody found in the Christmas classic "Last Christmas" and could easily make it into the soundtracks of the duo's punk fans. "Doin' It Right" channels late-70s synthpop and sends euphoric chills into listeners through its mesmerizing use of the vocoder and Panda Bear's effortless vocals. Overall, the album may be overhyped in the media and some may not fall for its worldwide charm, but RAM honestly earns all the hype its given and has the charm to make its way into about every listener's iTunes. The hiatus may have seemingly lasted forever, but it was damn sure worth the wait. Expand
  11. Jul 7, 2013
    10
    This has to be Daft Punk's best overall composition as an album and the one I've enjoyed listening to the most (beating out my other favorites Discovery and the Tron Legacy Soundtrack). The best way to listen to this album is in it's entirety. You can listen to songs by apart from listening to the whole album but I think the album is meant to be listened to at once. I have had manyThis has to be Daft Punk's best overall composition as an album and the one I've enjoyed listening to the most (beating out my other favorites Discovery and the Tron Legacy Soundtrack). The best way to listen to this album is in it's entirety. You can listen to songs by apart from listening to the whole album but I think the album is meant to be listened to at once. I have had many listening parties of this album with friends and it never disappoints. Great album to listen to by the pool as well. It still sounds like Daft Punk but breathes new life into their electronic image and elevates their music at the same time. Expand
  12. Jul 21, 2013
    8
    Daft Punk once again surprises us with a new disco themed album that represents the light at the end of the dark tunnel in the modern music industry. It's a hit or miss, but when it hits, it really hits.
  13. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    Their magnum opus. Lush, interwoven sounds that make me feel really good. An artist that actually gives a damn about recording an album, not just a single.
  14. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Daft Punk's greatest effort to date. Yes, you heard me correctly-- it's better than both Discovery and Alive 2007. It isn't even really close, either.
  15. Oct 5, 2013
    8
    Never listened to any other Daft Punk albums, but I like this entire album very much, and goes beyond the radio hit "Get Lucky" which is not even close to the best song on the album! I think touch is a great song. The vocoder voice can get old on some songs, but it works very well on others.

    Many people here with bad ratings insist that this is not as good as previous work, or that they
    Never listened to any other Daft Punk albums, but I like this entire album very much, and goes beyond the radio hit "Get Lucky" which is not even close to the best song on the album! I think touch is a great song. The vocoder voice can get old on some songs, but it works very well on others.

    Many people here with bad ratings insist that this is not as good as previous work, or that they some how sold out. I disagree. You should take every album on it's on merit, and it should not be rated based on how you feel it should be, but based on how it effects you emotionally, and how you connect with it. If it didn't do it on a level as others, that's one thing, but your preconceptions should be immaterial to a rating.
    Expand
  16. Jul 2, 2014
    9
    This album blew me away but I was wasn't expecting to hear this new wave of Daft Punk music. The new Daft Punk has now incorporated more radio friendly songs and excellent disco-tech that will keep you grooving into the wee hours of the night. Random Access Memories is an excellent album that surprised many loyal Daft Punk fans. Some will be turned off by the new style Daft Punk hasThis album blew me away but I was wasn't expecting to hear this new wave of Daft Punk music. The new Daft Punk has now incorporated more radio friendly songs and excellent disco-tech that will keep you grooving into the wee hours of the night. Random Access Memories is an excellent album that surprised many loyal Daft Punk fans. Some will be turned off by the new style Daft Punk has incorporated but I for one am in awe by how groovy and slick this album actually turned out being. Expand
  17. May 30, 2013
    9
    Random Access Memories is a refreshing return of french duo Daft Punk that is as delightfully groovy as it is brilliant. It does unfortunately have some boring and self-indulgent moments and some overlong tracks and it may even upset some fans with the change of tone, but tracks like "Get Lucky", "Touch", "Giorgio by Moroder" and "Contact" help boost the album into great territories...andRandom Access Memories is a refreshing return of french duo Daft Punk that is as delightfully groovy as it is brilliant. It does unfortunately have some boring and self-indulgent moments and some overlong tracks and it may even upset some fans with the change of tone, but tracks like "Get Lucky", "Touch", "Giorgio by Moroder" and "Contact" help boost the album into great territories...and they do so. This album may not be as good as Discovery, but it is a fine return of the beloved french duo and I hope they continue to do more creative music in the future. Expand
  18. May 26, 2013
    7
    I give this a 7 because I like the album from a generic pop record standpoint. However, as a Daft Punk lover myself, I can't say I'm not disappointed. Some of the songs on here lack any kind of substance, musically or otherwise. Others are very well developed, in particular "Within" and "Instant Crush", which are very appreciated creations. Others, like "Lose Yourself to Dance" and "GetI give this a 7 because I like the album from a generic pop record standpoint. However, as a Daft Punk lover myself, I can't say I'm not disappointed. Some of the songs on here lack any kind of substance, musically or otherwise. Others are very well developed, in particular "Within" and "Instant Crush", which are very appreciated creations. Others, like "Lose Yourself to Dance" and "Get Lucky", are miserable songs that not only drag and lag, but also have little to no quality. A mixed bag of good and songs, but overall, as much as I wanted to give it a higher rating, and even if I don't give it a lower score, I'm sore at this. In all honestly, I hate this new Daft Punk approach, which is now Daft Disco. I want my old French House/Disco/Electronica back, because this doesn't cut it. I'm a fan, but I can only bear so much. Expand
  19. May 31, 2013
    7
    This is the case of the hype much, deliver tush. This album may be different but it doesn't mean it's ground-breaking or amazing. In these days of generic pop tracks, everyone jumps at sounds by famous musicians which do not sound generic but are not necessarily good, and exaggerate their qualities. Don't get me wrong, the melodies are not bad or anything, they just aren't something peopleThis is the case of the hype much, deliver tush. This album may be different but it doesn't mean it's ground-breaking or amazing. In these days of generic pop tracks, everyone jumps at sounds by famous musicians which do not sound generic but are not necessarily good, and exaggerate their qualities. Don't get me wrong, the melodies are not bad or anything, they just aren't something people would 'lose themselves to dance' to. The tracks are too dull to be dance records and not bright enough to be pop. Too fast to be r&b/soul and too tame to be rock. This album just stands in-between and reaches for nothing. I honestly believe that Daft Punk of all people could have found some better ground to build an album after more than 8 years. I knew from the start that critics would hype and acclaim this album just because it is not your usual Rihanna or Pitbull album, but at the same time we gotta ask ourselves: Is different necessarily good? What makes RAM a good album? Is it because it does not sound the same as what's on the radio or because it actually gets you moving irresistibly just like 'One More Time' did? If the answer to the latter is 'no' then this album can be considered mediocre. Expand
  20. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    One (if not) the most anticipated album release of the year, the duo awoken from their circuital slumber to once again shake the EDM scene. From "Give Life Back to Music" to "Contact", Guy-Man and Thomas dazzled our ears with the disco vibed LP. In their fourth album, many would question the LP stance as an electro music, but all (or most) would inclined that RAM is the best album of 2013 so far.
  21. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    This a great album which is different to other albums by daft punk which is what makes their music stand out.
    The quality of the whole album with very high details shows up and gives it its sense of mood.
  22. Aug 13, 2013
    9
    [9.0] It definitely isn't their most energetic music, but it's possibly their best album. Daft Punk somehow manages to make music from multiple decades in the past, yet still original, and still Daft Punk. This album represents the best of pop music.
  23. May 28, 2013
    9
    At first, I wasn't sure about this album, I thought it was a lil' bit borin' comparin' it to their previous efforts, which were made for dance clubs and ecstasy. But I just decided to give it a chance due to the amount of hype it's receiving from the music press around the world, and man, this is truly a GREAT piece of work and art. Just forget about their previous sound, and come to thisAt first, I wasn't sure about this album, I thought it was a lil' bit borin' comparin' it to their previous efforts, which were made for dance clubs and ecstasy. But I just decided to give it a chance due to the amount of hype it's receiving from the music press around the world, and man, this is truly a GREAT piece of work and art. Just forget about their previous sound, and come to this album with new ears, and you'll find that they finally became "human after all", and showed us that EDM producers can be REAL talented and gifted musicians, using real instruments and real musicians working hard in a real professional studio. After 3 listens I was really diggin' it. Just give it a chance and it'll reward you, and it'll grow and grow on you. Ok, it's not an album made for nightclubs and ecstasy, but it's a nice one to listen to during a sunset in front of a beach, drinkin' some good coctails and a big joint before the big "party hard" thing comes later in the midnight. Expand
  24. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    The french duo return after sitting back for seven years(not counting their score work for TRON: Legacy.) And they are back with a vengeance. With Random Access Memories, Daft Punk continues to show why they are the face of House music.
  25. j30
    Aug 19, 2013
    10
    It is hard to believe that Daft Punk's last official album came out 8 years ago (2005's Human After All) and they haven't lost a beat. With everyone from Britney Spears to Lady Gaga going to more of an electronic sound in their music, Daft Punk's record couldn't have come at a better time. They decided to record most of the album with real instruments with the help of the excellentIt is hard to believe that Daft Punk's last official album came out 8 years ago (2005's Human After All) and they haven't lost a beat. With everyone from Britney Spears to Lady Gaga going to more of an electronic sound in their music, Daft Punk's record couldn't have come at a better time. They decided to record most of the album with real instruments with the help of the excellent guitarist Niles Rogers. EDM rarely challenges their listeners as much Daft Punk's RAM does, and is rarely as rewarding. Expand
  26. Jun 13, 2013
    10
    Great album! Every song on this album is just amazing. I wasn't much of a daft punk fan before this album.
    But now I am! Brilliant Album!

    Lose yourself to dance
  27. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    This is just an excellent example of how music and conceptual albums should be done. And that is exactly why the release started with Give Life Back to Music.
  28. Aug 15, 2013
    8
    Hype is a very interesting tool in today's music scene, since it can either make or kill an album. And Daft Punk had possibly the most buzzed about & hyped album of this decade with Random Access Memories. For the record while I'm not exactly a lifelong fan of Daft Punk, I at least made sure to listen to Homework before going into this album. And honestly, despite some great tracks, itHype is a very interesting tool in today's music scene, since it can either make or kill an album. And Daft Punk had possibly the most buzzed about & hyped album of this decade with Random Access Memories. For the record while I'm not exactly a lifelong fan of Daft Punk, I at least made sure to listen to Homework before going into this album. And honestly, despite some great tracks, it didn't stick with me very much. Luckily RAM didn't have a similar underwhelming affect on me, mainly because it takes so many chances, and I was really impressed with it. You can just tell that throughout the making of this project they didn't give even a quarter of an ounce of a crap what their more closed-minded fans would think about such a radical change in style, which is always something I respect in an artist. Even though they might've put a guitar in here & there on their past stuff, here a good majority of the instrumentation is live. Included here are funky disco songs, beautiful piano ballads & weird progressive electro-jazz-rock-fusion... things. And the best part is that it wasn't just a case of throwing everything on the wall & seeing what sticks, but rather you can tell how much work was put into each track, and nearly every song has some earworm hook to draw you into the madness.

    Another aspect of this experimentation is the numerous collaborators & guest musicians featured here. Of course everyone already knows the song of the summer “Get Lucky” with Pharrell & Nile Rodgers, and to a lesser extent “Lose Yourself to Dance” with the same genre & lineup. But other notable people here include Giorgio Moroder doing an interesting storytelling monologue over the fantastic string/synth-tinged prog-rock instrumental “Giorgio by Moroder”, Todd Edwards on the charming good-time soft rock tune “Fragments of Time” (which I'm catching a bit of Steely Dan influence from), Panda Bear on “Doin' It Right”, a smooth dance track that he fits on a lot better than I was expecting, and my personal favorite Julian Casablancas of The Strokes on “Instant Crush”, which between the infectious poppy hooks, sincere & believable lyrics, and great pseudo-funk groove, basically encapsulates everything I love about this album.

    The trademark vocoders fit well with their general musical style & really works in creating a lot of these earworm hooks that repeat over & over throughout a track, but in a way that doesn't get grating & almost feels like just another instrument. However, on the more emotional tracks that use it like “The Game of Love” or “Within”, they serve a different purpose, using the presumably emotionless android personas to, in a way, emphasize the emotional impact of the lyrics. It sounds a bit goofy on paper but ends up working really well, especially for a track like “The Game of Love” that might otherwise come off cliché & phoned-in. And the album ends on an extremely climactic note with “Contact”, an expertly constructed electronic instrumental that builds & builds over with more & more melodies & an increasingly intense noise in the foreground until it explodes & dies down in the last minute. As for complaints, they aren't exactly long enough to have their own paragraph, but there's a couple. For example “Touch” with Paul Williams is for the most part a great 8-minute epic that transitions from electro to jazz fusion throughout, with a well-executed & vulnerable vocal part from Williams. The problem is the laughable, corny & vocoder-infested 2-minute intro that sounds like they sampled it from a bad 70's sci-fi flick. Also there's a couple underwhelming guestless tracks in the middle of the album “Beyond” & “Motherboard” that really do nothing but slow down the momentum & push RAM past the 70-minute mark, which definitely didn't need to happen. And same goes for the bonus track “Horizon”.

    So did RAM live up to the hype? Not entirely. It's not some musical revolution that'll change the way we all think about art & life itself for eons to come like some people were making it out to be. But that doesn't mean it's not worth listening to. In fact I'd very highly recommend it to anyone who has eclectic tastes & loves experimentation in multiple genres as well as just a great earworm hook with a feel-good groove to it. And these days, with popular dance music being a bit more robotic & lifeless, the mainstream needs an album like this to, well, give life back to music. Ironic considering this is an album by a couple of robots.

    Top 5 tracks: Instant Crush, Get Lucky, Contact, Doin' It Right, Give Life Back to Music
    Score: 85/100
    Expand
  29. Jun 13, 2013
    7
    I'm usually not in to the roboty techno stuff, but this was pretty okay. Daft Punk on my terms was pretty trash up until this album. One of my least favorite songs is Around the World, but then again Lose Yourself to Dance is now one of my favorites. This album has a strange old school vibe to it that most people in there right minds would enjoy. And this album was really a "happy" releaseI'm usually not in to the roboty techno stuff, but this was pretty okay. Daft Punk on my terms was pretty trash up until this album. One of my least favorite songs is Around the World, but then again Lose Yourself to Dance is now one of my favorites. This album has a strange old school vibe to it that most people in there right minds would enjoy. And this album was really a "happy" release and a good one to keep my hopes in today's music to a maximum. Expand
  30. May 31, 2013
    10
    All that can be said of disco and funk music in daft punk is clearly in this album. full of innovative rhythms and giving new life to the music that we have lost in these last year, these guys came back with their best album in years. personally, I think is better than discovery although not as good as Homework but still it's such a classic album for new generations who want music with a 70s air.
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Jul 12, 2013
    60
    As a record standing almost entirely on nostalgia, sure, it gives schmaltzy ’70s dance music a fine, not-sacrilegious update and sets it to a pleasant neon glow, but it’s a trip through history that’s almost more educational than immersive.
  2. Jul 3, 2013
    89
    RAM has the immediate appeal of disco, but never overstuffs with candied hooks, even when we want it to.
  3. Jun 26, 2013
    75
    They've wisely chosen to not compete with the younger generation of DJs, and shown the upstarts the roots of dance music. They've also proven that they are not one-trick ponies who can only build beats on samples. They do just as well with a completely different sonic pallette.