Random Access Memories Image
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 830 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth studio release for the electronic duo features guest appearances by Julian Casablancas, Todd Edwards, Panda Bear, Paul Williams, and Pharrell Williams.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. May 29, 2013
    100
    This is a dazzling album, steeped in soul and brimming with an uncommon musicality, all rhythmic urgency and compelling melodies and anthemic choruses.
  2. May 13, 2013
    100
    Daft Punk's best album in a career that's already redefined dance music at least twice. It is, in short, a mind-blower. [Jun 2013, p.88]
  3. May 20, 2013
    90
    Random Access Memories is also Daft Punk's most personal work, and richly rewarding for listeners willing to spend time with it.
  4. May 13, 2013
    80
    At times, the album is a victim of its own ambition. But it wouldn't be half as awesome a ride if it had aimed any lower.
  5. May 21, 2013
    80
    What Daft Punk have done on Random Access Memories could be seen as a methodically curated, musical museum of the future, rather than a conservatory for experimental collaboration.
  6. May 20, 2013
    80
    It has no chance in hell to answer to all the hype and buzz around it, it’s not going to impact the dance music scene that reveres the robots so and you might as well be playing it on shuffle, but it’s a rich and warm musical experience that suits both the dancefloor and concentrated headphone listening in equal amounts that forms an important part of the duo’s musical journey.
  7. May 9, 2013
    60
    On paper these might sound like mad genius, but Daft Punk somehow misplace the wit and the light touch that’s pretty much their trademark. Instead, these long epics become somewhat tedious and there is a strong whiff of egoism and self-indulgence.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 196
  1. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    Best and most creative work of Daft Punk. Instead of focusing on making futuristic music, back to the past, the genres of disco and electronica that was surely gave the album the innovative touch. Random Access Memories is not only the best album of the French duo's career, but also becomes the best album of the year. Expand
  2. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    This is just an excellent example of how music and conceptual albums should be done. And that is exactly why the release started with Give Life Back to Music. Expand
  3. May 21, 2013
    10
    Random Access Memories is in the simplest of terms a triumph. Despite Daft Punk's robotic visage, every song on the album feels incredibly heartfelt, from the love letter to the Synthesizer that is Giorgio by Moroder, to the laid back and hypnotic Fragments of Time.

    Despite having few collaborations prior to this record, Daft Punk clearly know how to get the best out of their new recruits. By selectively choosing artists and musicians that they look up to and admire, Daft Punk have managed to easily intertwine their inimitable electronic class with the likes of Nile Rodgers' incredibly catchy guitars, Todd Edwards' smooth cut-ups and Panda Bear's confident indie feel.

    From the reviews and opinions I've gathered so far, the album's biggest point of contention seems to be 'Touch' the collaboration with Paul Williams. Whilst definitely not the best track on the album, it's certainly one that grows on you, especially when it hits that magnificent 3:20 mark.

    Definitely not an album that should be missed by anybody.
    Expand
  4. May 5, 2014
    9
    Random Access Memories is full of amazing songs, especially contact. The one complaint I do have is that the song Motherboard is really lacking, and not as memorable as the others, such as touch, giorgio, and contact are. Expand
  5. Jun 20, 2013
    8
    I wouldn't say this album is a masterpiece, but I do say it is remarkable. I like to think about it as the extension of some of their 'less popular' songs like "Veridis Quo". It doesn't mean that Daft Punk gave up their willingness to make people dance as they used to do, this time they wanted to make people think about their emotional B-side. Expand
  6. Jun 9, 2013
    7
    I liked it but it doesn't seem to me like the old good favorite daft punk. It's good, but not good enough after so many years of disappearance. The music is good listen to it) and I hope they make an album similar to the old ones. Expand
  7. Apr 3, 2014
    0
    The album Random Access Memories by Daft Punk don't have anything to show for the eletronic music in the current days. Pharell Willians isn't the Great musician, but is just a new face in the American Music. So, we can't believe that this work is important because the stereotypes of the society created. Expand

See all 196 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2013

    The Best Albums of 2013 Image
    Published: December 19, 2013
    We reveal our final official list of 2013's highest-scoring albums.
  2. 2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from dozens of music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.
  3. Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2013 So Far

    Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2013 So Far Image
    Published: July 3, 2013
    We reveal the top 25 albums of the first half of 2013. While the list includes rare releases from the likes of My Bloody Valentine, Daft Punk, and Boards of Canada, it's a metal band that tops our chart.
  4. This Month's Best New Albums: May 2013

    This Month's Best New Albums: May 2013 Image
    Published: May 30, 2013
    We reveal the best-reviewed albums released over the past month, including new releases from Daft Punk, Vampire Weekend, The National, and more. Spotify users can listen to each one.
  5. Summer Music Preview: 30 Notable Upcoming Albums

    Summer Music Preview: 30 Notable Upcoming Albums Image
    Published: May 9, 2013
    The coming months will see new albums from Daft Punk, Vampire Weekend, Boards of Canada, The National, Queens of the Stone Age, and (maybe) Kanye West. Get all the details on these and other major summer releases, and listen to tracks from each one.