• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Random Access Memories Image
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 895 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth studio release for the electronic duo features guest appearances by Julian Casablancas, Todd Edwards, Panda Bear, Paul Williams, and Pharrell Williams.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. May 29, 2013
    100
    This is a dazzling album, steeped in soul and brimming with an uncommon musicality, all rhythmic urgency and compelling melodies and anthemic choruses.
  2. May 13, 2013
    100
    Daft Punk's best album in a career that's already redefined dance music at least twice. It is, in short, a mind-blower. [Jun 2013, p.88]
  3. May 20, 2013
    90
    Random Access Memories is also Daft Punk's most personal work, and richly rewarding for listeners willing to spend time with it.
  4. May 13, 2013
    80
    At times, the album is a victim of its own ambition. But it wouldn't be half as awesome a ride if it had aimed any lower.
  5. May 21, 2013
    80
    What Daft Punk have done on Random Access Memories could be seen as a methodically curated, musical museum of the future, rather than a conservatory for experimental collaboration.
  6. May 20, 2013
    80
    Daft Punk have shone a laser beam into dark corners of the 70s and 80s and made them sing again, with timbres more human than ever before.
  7. May 9, 2013
    60
    On paper these might sound like mad genius, but Daft Punk somehow misplace the wit and the light touch that’s pretty much their trademark. Instead, these long epics become somewhat tedious and there is a strong whiff of egoism and self-indulgence.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 205
  1. May 21, 2013
    10
    This year marks the famous robotic duo Daft Punk's 20th year as a band and the release of their long awaited fourth studio album, RandomThis year marks the famous robotic duo Daft Punk's 20th year as a band and the release of their long awaited fourth studio album, Random Access Memories. Being announced a little over a month before its release, R.A.M. created a huge amount of hype and remixes from ads, TV spots, and a website makeover. Being my favorite band and artists of my favorite album, I was anxious to get my hands on Daft Punk's new album and for eight years, it was well worth the wait. Thomas Bangalter and Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo does not disappoint with these thirteen tracks and hour and a quarter of pure French House bliss. R.A.M. feels more like an experience more than an album with stand out songs such as Touch, Instant Crush, Get Lucky, and more. I highly recommend you pick up this phenomenal new album available on CD, vinyl, and digital download as soon as possible. Expand
  2. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    Their magnum opus. Lush, interwoven sounds that make me feel really good. An artist that actually gives a damn about recording an album, notTheir magnum opus. Lush, interwoven sounds that make me feel really good. An artist that actually gives a damn about recording an album, not just a single. Expand
  3. May 21, 2013
    10
    Random Access Memories is in the simplest of terms a triumph. Despite Daft Punk's robotic visage, every song on the album feels incrediblyRandom Access Memories is in the simplest of terms a triumph. Despite Daft Punk's robotic visage, every song on the album feels incredibly heartfelt, from the love letter to the Synthesizer that is Giorgio by Moroder, to the laid back and hypnotic Fragments of Time.

    Despite having few collaborations prior to this record, Daft Punk clearly know how to get the best out of their new recruits. By selectively choosing artists and musicians that they look up to and admire, Daft Punk have managed to easily intertwine their inimitable electronic class with the likes of Nile Rodgers' incredibly catchy guitars, Todd Edwards' smooth cut-ups and Panda Bear's confident indie feel.

    From the reviews and opinions I've gathered so far, the album's biggest point of contention seems to be 'Touch' the collaboration with Paul Williams. Whilst definitely not the best track on the album, it's certainly one that grows on you, especially when it hits that magnificent 3:20 mark.

    Definitely not an album that should be missed by anybody.
    Expand
  4. May 27, 2015
    9
    After eight years of staring at a particularly noticeable Daft Punk-shaped hole in the electronic dance music industry, Random Access MemoriesAfter eight years of staring at a particularly noticeable Daft Punk-shaped hole in the electronic dance music industry, Random Access Memories arrived, and Daft Punk made a dramatic return onto the scene with an album... that seemed to lack any electronic dance music. Save for one track (the brilliantly catchy "Doin' It Right", featuring Panda Bear), the entirety of Random Access Memories was recorded with live instrumentation - and it is all the better for it. Perhaps not a concept album so much as a journey through the heart of the seventies, Daft Punk's best work so far opens with the terrifically uplifting "Give Life Back to Music", before dissolving into quieter, more poignant pieces such as "Game of Love" and "Within". It is not until "Touch", the track the producers describe as the 'crux' of the album, and perhaps the track that truly represents what the album is trying to present, that Random Access Memories bursts into a roaring crescendo, with the catchier "Get Lucky" and "Fragments of Time" staying with the listener long after the CD has stopped playing. Random Access Memories will not appeal to everybody, and the evolution Daft Punk have undergone with this record explains this; but if you've followed them from their acid house beginnings, not giving this album a chance could be one of the bigger mistakes you'll make. Expand
  5. Jun 20, 2013
    8
    I wouldn't say this album is a masterpiece, but I do say it is remarkable. I like to think about it as the extension of some of their 'lessI wouldn't say this album is a masterpiece, but I do say it is remarkable. I like to think about it as the extension of some of their 'less popular' songs like "Veridis Quo". It doesn't mean that Daft Punk gave up their willingness to make people dance as they used to do, this time they wanted to make people think about their emotional B-side. Expand
  6. Jul 23, 2013
    7
    Let me start by saying the promotion of this album was first-class, awesome and it raised my expectations. I can't say the same about thisLet me start by saying the promotion of this album was first-class, awesome and it raised my expectations. I can't say the same about this album though. It starts off with an over-the-top guitar line, which gets you curious about what's ahead. What comes after it is a decent song. The second song (within)
    , and weakest point on the cd, is one that you probably want to skip. The pianoplaying of gonzales is good, but i just don't want to hear vocoder-vocals for a whole verse & chorus. The same thing counts for the songs the game of love and beyond. Get lucky is, ofcourse, a nice song. Lose yourself to dance gets boring after a whole though, and shows that pharrell isn't exactly the best singer. Fragments of time is okay, but not special.
    I'm not saying that the whole CD is worthless though. Giorgio by moroder is, although the talking part is a bit long, a masterpiece, just like contact. Touch and motherboard are just beautiful songs with great melodies, and i like the emotional vocals on touch. But overall, this album just isn't as good as what i expected.
    Expand
  7. Apr 3, 2014
    0
    The album Random Access Memories by Daft Punk don't have anything to show for the eletronic music in the current days. Pharell Willians isn'tThe album Random Access Memories by Daft Punk don't have anything to show for the eletronic music in the current days. Pharell Willians isn't the Great musician, but is just a new face in the American Music. So, we can't believe that this work is important because the stereotypes of the society created. Expand

See all 205 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2013

    The Best Albums of 2013 Image
    Published: December 19, 2013
    We reveal our final official list of 2013's highest-scoring albums.
  2. 2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from dozens of music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.
  3. Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2013 So Far

    Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2013 So Far Image
    Published: July 3, 2013
    We reveal the top 25 albums of the first half of 2013. While the list includes rare releases from the likes of My Bloody Valentine, Daft Punk, and Boards of Canada, it's a metal band that tops our chart.
  4. This Month's Best New Albums: May 2013

    This Month's Best New Albums: May 2013 Image
    Published: May 30, 2013
    We reveal the best-reviewed albums released over the past month, including new releases from Daft Punk, Vampire Weekend, The National, and more. Spotify users can listen to each one.
  5. Summer Music Preview: 30 Notable Upcoming Albums

    Summer Music Preview: 30 Notable Upcoming Albums Image
    Published: May 9, 2013
    The coming months will see new albums from Daft Punk, Vampire Weekend, Boards of Canada, The National, Queens of the Stone Age, and (maybe) Kanye West. Get all the details on these and other major summer releases, and listen to tracks from each one.