Rated R

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Nov 23, 2009
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 467 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 467

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NickG
    Nov 28, 2009
    5
    I have to admit this album was extremely overrated by critics.The only songs I can remember were G4L, Rockstar 101, wait your turn and russian roulette.Her attempts at ballads were extremely weak.Russian roulette was the only good ballad.79 was a score too high for this album in comparison to other artists with better work.The songs are generally immemorable, disturbing at times and not I have to admit this album was extremely overrated by critics.The only songs I can remember were G4L, Rockstar 101, wait your turn and russian roulette.Her attempts at ballads were extremely weak.Russian roulette was the only good ballad.79 was a score too high for this album in comparison to other artists with better work.The songs are generally immemorable, disturbing at times and not "dance-able".She tried something dark and thought that derogatory language would fully cover that. Expand
  2. lalasmith
    Nov 23, 2009
    5
    This album was full of songs that's honestly had no content and was really repetitive. Russian roulette was the only song to me that had meaning the rest to me was just her way of crying out that she is a bad girl rebel which by the way im not buying.
  3. Spin
    Nov 27, 2009
    5
    Rated R, Rihanna's first album since her brutal confrontation with ex-boyfriend Chris Brown, wants to recast her as a searing woman scorned. It doesn't quite take.
  4. Dec 3, 2011
    6
    Normally, I would stray away from over-produced pop-stars, but this album has personality. Even if it's a very dark side that's interesting. Great record.
  5. Aug 14, 2013
    4
    I was a little disappointed, since "Good Girl Gone Bad" was so good, or because this was a bad Rihanna CD. This is where she ultimately goes from the girl who sings "Pon De Replay" to dropping the F bomb all over.
  6. Feb 4, 2012
    6
    I Love Rihanna.. But This Album Was Well Meh.. I Loved Russian Roulette, Rude Boy, And Photographs. The Rest Were Ok....
    My Favorite Rihanna Albums:
    1- LOUD
    2- TALK THAT TALK
    3- GOOD GIRL GONE BAD: RELODED
  7. May 31, 2012
    5
    I Feel Bad Giving Rihanna Anything Below A 8...
    I Only Listen And Like Only 3 Songs On This Album.. They Arent Bad Songs.. There Just Not Catchy And Popy Like Rihanna Is...
    Sadly This Is Not What I Am Looking For...
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jun 24, 2011
    60
    You are way, way better off not projecting any kind of emotional subtext onto this record.
  2. What works as therapeutic psychodrama for the singer doesn't always work quite as well as pop music, which, from the shiny surfaces, it's clear everyone here is still striving for.
  3. Nothing else on the album can top 'Russian Roulette,' but they certainly complement it, and make its startling conclusion feel sadly inevitable.