• Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Nov 23, 2009
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 542 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 542

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 20, 2011
    0
    After the 'Good Girl Gone Bad' era, I was expecting a huge record from Rihanna. Rated R was a letdown. The ballads are sappy and seemed to be pulled from Celine Dions reject pile. Not good at all.
  2. Sep 14, 2011
    0
    'Rated R' is a letdown from GGGB. There is too much filler and it sounds like she's trying to hard to convey the "dark" pop star role. However, she's at her best in the Caribbean inspired 'Rude Boy'
  3. ajdude
    Nov 23, 2009
    0
    Yawn....Wasn't expecting such degrading effort from RIhanna. After the gem she dropped in 2007, we get a sub-par effort. No bangers like umbrella to be found here! ordinary effort! poor!
  4. vlad
    Nov 25, 2009
    3
    Very boring - you've heard it all before. Nothing catchy and undeniable. Strange, but the only good songs, "Fire Bomb" and "The Last Song", are both produced by Brian Kennedy and are both pop-sad. Probably because sadness is the same for sweet girl Rihanna and her Rated R version.
  5. KateS
    Nov 23, 2009
    0
    Awful and overrated album.
  6. Parismells
    Nov 24, 2009
    0
    She gets beaten one time and now she talks about Russian roulette. She's really gonna play off of this, not to mention many critics are talking about this. It's absolutely ridiculous. We get it she's been through rough times(like the rest of the world), she's not a girl...WE GET IT! Anyway, I can respect she's trying to change and go different directions but the She gets beaten one time and now she talks about Russian roulette. She's really gonna play off of this, not to mention many critics are talking about this. It's absolutely ridiculous. We get it she's been through rough times(like the rest of the world), she's not a girl...WE GET IT! Anyway, I can respect she's trying to change and go different directions but the music still isn't good, it just isn't. I've heard all this before, not original. Expand
  7. DanD
    Nov 28, 2009
    2
    Few R&B artists are able to tackle an edgier sound with much success. Like most of them, Rihanna fails. Her emotional year is reflected in a set of disjointed songs that absent the physical abuse scandal would lack oomph. There's barely a likable track on the record and I don't expect any of these songs to top the charts.
  8. Jul 7, 2011
    0
    Aside from a couple songs, this is pretty boring with songs like Stupid In Love, Rockstar 101, Wait Your Turn. Not her best. My favorite is Te Amo & Firebomb
  9. Nov 21, 2010
    1
    "Very boring - you've heard it all before. Nothing catchy and undeniable. Strange, but the only good songs, "Fire Bomb" and "The Last Song", are both produced by Brian Kennedy and are both pop-sad. Probably because sadness is the same for sweet girl Rihanna and her Rated R version." completely agree with you
  10. Aug 19, 2011
    0
    Not a good album at all. I only like 1 song, which is 'Rude Boy' I'm a Rih fan, but no there are no hits on this... I prefer LOUD though. Songs like Stupid In Love, Photographs and the other slow songs are a borefest.
  11. Sep 14, 2011
    0
    'Rated R' could of been good. It's just very boring and no excitement that I expected it would be... Her vocals have improved though, but more work is needed.
  12. Nov 19, 2011
    0
    Boring album with sappy ballads. Rihanna is not able to evoke the emotions that is required for some of the songs, instead it comes off as sappy and bland.
  13. Aug 30, 2016
    1
    Wow, Im shocked at these reviews, Not too shocked because Critics Overrate & Underrate thing all the time. Poor Rihanna, She thought she could pull off another Bâ Collapse
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jun 24, 2011
    60
    You are way, way better off not projecting any kind of emotional subtext onto this record.
  2. What works as therapeutic psychodrama for the singer doesn't always work quite as well as pop music, which, from the shiny surfaces, it's clear everyone here is still striving for.
  3. Nothing else on the album can top 'Russian Roulette,' but they certainly complement it, and make its startling conclusion feel sadly inevitable.