Rather Ripped - Sonic Youth
Rather Ripped Image

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This self-produced 20th album finds the New York band back down to a four-piece, with Jim O'Rourke dropping out after two albums.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. This is their radio-rock record, and it's not a tribute, it's as close to the real thing as they've come since they actually had a chance at radio play back in the '90s.
  2. Rather Ripped is probably one of the best records in Sonic Youth's catalog, and definitely one of the best albums of 2006.
  3. "Rather Ripped" is a concise serving of what the band does best.
  4. Rather Ripped is the sound of a band no longer setting their distortion pedals on stun, and, as a result, the best songs are as low-key as a small town on Sunday morning. [Aug 2006, p.218]
  5. Rarely have they laid down so many tunes that are this downright pretty, hummable, even. [#14]
  6. 40
    Ripped is about three- or four-minute songcraft--never the highlight of their resume. [Jul 2006, p.88]

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Sep 9, 2011
    For a group whose reputation has long rested on tremendous risk-taking, to make a risk-averse album can be itself risky: it stands to be denigrated as dull and half-assed by some critics who think that innovation can only go in one directionâ Expand
  2. Jan 28, 2012
    Rather ripped is a beautiful album that can still pack a punch. Every song is very beautiful and Incinerate could be the song of the decade. Sonic Youth is one of the only bands that can be thirty years old, but still have more life then most bands debut albums. Expand
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    I don't expect from Sonics repeating any of their hits like Daydream Nation or Washing Machine on this album. This all has been said and shut. This is just a compilation of really well-crafted *songs* (pretty much an innovation in Sonic Youth's music) with their old spice. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews