Ravedeath, 1972 - Tim Hecker
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Feb 23, 2011
    86
    That idea, the notion of music as a cheapened, battered object, touches nearly every aspect of Ravedeath, 1972, a dark and often claustrophobic record that is arguably Hecker's finest work to date.
  2. Mar 22, 2011
    91
    Complex and rewarding in a way that the telescoping salvia trip of An Imaginary Country never was, and tougher and more fibrous than the excellent Haunt Me Haunt Me, Do It Again, Ravedeath, 1972 somehow manages to soothe even as it disorients.
  3. Mar 14, 2011
    100
    The use of the church organ is a particular masterstroke and it imbues Hecker's compositions here not with grandiosity, but with a sort of faded grandeur that chimes brilliantly with his familiar themes. It also offers a superb range of texture and sound, sometimes attacking and aggressive, at others soft and warm.
  4. Apr 12, 2011
    90
    What resulted is ultimately an album of destructive beauty. Elegance married with sonic destruction!
  5. It makes its own statement, and it does so with the level of maturity and succinctness that we've come to expect from Hecker, an artist who has well earned his place as a leader amongst his peers.
  6. Feb 23, 2011
    90
    It might lack the narrative arc of 09's An Imaginary Country, but it's hard to imagine that 2011 will see many finer releases, of any genre.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Mar 8, 2011
    9
    A startlingly beautiful album, Hecker's 6th studio effort sees his always immense style become even more so. With a sound never anything less than colossal, "Ravedeath, 1972" was recorded in a church in Iceland which is plain to hear; the sound reverberates to the point that at times it feels as if there's a solid wall of sound surging towards you through your headphones. An enormous ambient masterpiece. Full Review »
  2. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    I am a massive fan of Hecker, and the way he can manipulate a church organ into the most beautiful, delicate, eerie, catastrophic, emotional, beautiful & destructive album I have ever listened to is unbelievable. This album's perfection & beauty cannot be put into words; The best album of 2011 in my opinion. Full Review »
  3. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    Tim Hecker more than delivers, giving the listener a beautiful yet bleak landscape to explore. The album's twists and turns remain exciting after multiple listens and stands as the best album of 2011 for me. Full Review »