Raymond v. Raymond Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After being pushed back several times, the sixth album for the R&B singer is finally released, featuring guest appearances from Ludacris, Nicki Minaj, T.I., and will.i.am.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Drawing from a skillful fusion of R&B/hip-hop/pop, Usher addresses the trappings of fame on the uptempo "Monstar," shifts into sexy overdrive on "Lil Freak" (featuring Nicki Minaj) and "Pro Lover," pumps up the beat on the infectious club anthem "OMG" (featuring Will.i.am) and turns introspective on the ballad "Foolin' Around."
  2. His sixth album proves that his ability to make grown-up hits is stronger than ever.
  3. Raymond v Raymond doesn't offer much real revelation. Its main aim is more standard issue: Sleek, grown-and-sexy R&B tuned to seduction, not divorce court.
  4. Since then [2008], Usher's marriage imploded--a development that's good for the single ladies of metro Atlanta but yields mixed results on his sixth studio disc.
  5. Unfortunately, it is hard to embrace these strengths on such a predictably unfocused album.
  6. There are moments where Usher's old charm and vocal velvetiness briefly resurface and remind the listener of what a bright talent he once seemed....But these highlights are rare, and Raymond vs Raymond mostly sounds as shallow and unappealing as its singer.
  7. The album is consistently uninspired, with each song showcasing an incredibly gifted performer grown wearyingly complacent.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Feb 25, 2011
    Nice, half of his songs are really good, and some deserve to actually become International hits, but at the same time, some songs you can find them quite boring and some quite slow, but the balance added to this album affects the rating boundaries of music critics. Though a good achievement and great varieties balanced the scale.â Expand

See all 5 User Reviews