Real Emotional Trash

  • Record Label: Matador
  • Release Date: Mar 4, 2008
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HB
    May 2, 2008
    10
    R.E.T gets better with every successive playing. Smart lyrics match oddly tuned fuzzy guitar. The Jicks are simultaneously loose and tight.
  2. Shiftybob.
    May 17, 2008
    10
    This album blew me away. I'm a long time Pavement fan who lost a little interest after what was to me, just an ok first solo album. After the good word of mouth on I picked up Real Emotional Trash and it hasn't left my PC/car/stereo/ipod since...So many good tracks but yes Hopscotch Willie is a 10 by itself and Janet Weiss is brilliant. Everyone I've played it around has This album blew me away. I'm a long time Pavement fan who lost a little interest after what was to me, just an ok first solo album. After the good word of mouth on I picked up Real Emotional Trash and it hasn't left my PC/car/stereo/ipod since...So many good tracks but yes Hopscotch Willie is a 10 by itself and Janet Weiss is brilliant. Everyone I've played it around has been "What's that you're playing? It's really good!!!" I agree. Expand
  3. TrevorW.
    Apr 4, 2008
    7
    The jamming is not as satisfying as it should be.
  4. BriboF.
    Mar 5, 2008
    9
    I'm not sure what all this naysaying is about. If you never liked Pavement/Malkmus in the first place, odds are you won't be converted by this record. (Odds are, also, that you're a fucking loser/retard/douchebag.) This is his heaviest album, his most focused and cohesive album, and easily his best album. Yes, he's siphoned off some of the old snarkiness in favor of a I'm not sure what all this naysaying is about. If you never liked Pavement/Malkmus in the first place, odds are you won't be converted by this record. (Odds are, also, that you're a fucking loser/retard/douchebag.) This is his heaviest album, his most focused and cohesive album, and easily his best album. Yes, he's siphoned off some of the old snarkiness in favor of a little more good, old-fashioned earnestness, but a songwriter of his caliber shouldn't be blase about his talents, and here he brings them all to bear in service of some of the finest songs of his career (Pavement included). The only letdown is the incongruously jaunty "Gardenia", which just sounds out of place. Unreservedly recommended. If you need to try before you buy, go to the Matador site and download the free MP3 of "Baltimore", one of this set's many highlights. Expand
  5. Ramirez
    Apr 25, 2008
    9
    The Doors (anyone else notices how the breakdown in Baltimore sounds like spanish caravan?) meets classic Pavement with some sonic youth jamming inbetween. Musically there are some awesome fuzzy solo's like on wicked wanda, and lyrically it's classic Malkmus brilliance. Col Sun has a great chorus, Elmo Delmo's first half is brilliant, Out Of Reaches is stunningly beautiful The Doors (anyone else notices how the breakdown in Baltimore sounds like spanish caravan?) meets classic Pavement with some sonic youth jamming inbetween. Musically there are some awesome fuzzy solo's like on wicked wanda, and lyrically it's classic Malkmus brilliance. Col Sun has a great chorus, Elmo Delmo's first half is brilliant, Out Of Reaches is stunningly beautiful but the standout song here for me has to be Baltimore, one of his best songs in a long time. Expand
  6. JeremyX
    Mar 10, 2008
    8
    "The Dick said to Willie "you're in the klink, so save your pity party for the county shrink". I love that line. Solid cd, some great jams. SM freakin' rocks.
  7. Chris
    Mar 18, 2008
    10
    Unbelievable. Malkmus has taken his style to a new level. And the new drummer is great.
  8. Drew
    Apr 10, 2008
    10
    I hadn't heard a SM album before this and I got it and was completely blown away! I've heard the rest of his collection since and was equally blown away (haven't really stopped listening to the stuff yet) but this one just has more depth. Musically it seems a lot more serious and personal. (The solo on Out of Reaches is just chilling) It's definitely heavier, more I hadn't heard a SM album before this and I got it and was completely blown away! I've heard the rest of his collection since and was equally blown away (haven't really stopped listening to the stuff yet) but this one just has more depth. Musically it seems a lot more serious and personal. (The solo on Out of Reaches is just chilling) It's definitely heavier, more shredding, just more of SM being a total badass with his songs. The addition of Weiss is evident and a definite plus in my book. I missed out on seeing them live recently and I am regretting it every time I listen to the bastard's music...Damn you SM for being so incredibly good, damn you! Expand
  9. Ronald
    Mar 10, 2008
    10
    How can any critic consider this album to be a failure? This is hands down Stephen Malkmus's best solo album and ranks up there with what he accomplished with Pavement.
  10. HexumS
    Mar 15, 2008
    10
    This is sweet
  11. MichaelK.
    Mar 16, 2008
    10
    A 10 for Hopscotch Willie alone. Album of the year so far.
  12. MichaelC.
    Mar 5, 2008
    10
    One of his best releases yet
  13. Eastside
    Mar 5, 2008
    8
    This is a fun, engaging listen. Malkmus has blossomed into an impressive guitar player. There is some extended jamming on this record, but it does not detract from the impact of the songs (for the most part). Kudos to Janet Weiss and her fantastic drum playing. She really pushes the songs a long and sounds fantastic. You will like this album if you liked any of Malkmus' previous work This is a fun, engaging listen. Malkmus has blossomed into an impressive guitar player. There is some extended jamming on this record, but it does not detract from the impact of the songs (for the most part). Kudos to Janet Weiss and her fantastic drum playing. She really pushes the songs a long and sounds fantastic. You will like this album if you liked any of Malkmus' previous work as a solo artist or as a member of Pavement. Expand
  14. BrianB.
    Mar 5, 2008
    10
    Its his most solid release since his solo debut album. Every song has a sing along quality to it. And he proves even in his 40's, he can still make music that dwarfs so many others best. A more than rewarding listen and proves their still can be quality after the four minute mark.
  15. Lennyf
    Mar 6, 2008
    9
    Fuzzier, heavier but the same old Malkmus. A Black Sabbath vibe on a couple of tunes, a touch of Allman bros. on a couple others (not too much). What's not to like?
  16. Jared
    Mar 13, 2008
    10
    Great CD. Gardenia changed my life. Elmo Delmo gave me the courage to ask my wife to marry me.
  17. KGFReeze
    Mar 17, 2008
    9
    Money, in a bag. That is what this album is. Soooo much better than Face the Truth (not that Face the Truth was bad). Guitar wonderousness that I can follow as well as the lyrics, quite impressive. Janet Weiss, I love you, but mix those CD drums higher!! The jams rule but for a couple minutes there I didn't know if there was some samples Sonic Youth. Not that that's a bad thing.
  18. MeggieJ
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    Superb.
  19. AndrewA
    Apr 22, 2008
    8
    I think musicians and all time malkmus fans will really love this record. And as I am a Malkmus fan I would say it´s heavy, the jams are great, the key and tempo changes are amazing, and finally there are definitely some nice hooks to be discovered. But then, I think if you are not a musician or a malkmus fan, you will just hear a couple of long jams.
  20. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    one of the few albums that has not left my rotation in the past few years. malkmus is still an excellent, distinctive songwriter with a voice to match.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. The joy of listening to Malkmus's songs has always been the involvement the listener takes in separating the "truth" from the "spoof" (much like with other oddball geniuses like Robyn Hitchcock or Tom Waits). There's plenty of both here, but more importantly, there's enough interplay between the two to keep things interesting and delightful.
  2. The album is both a generous, transparent body pleasure and a flinty, oblique mind pleasure.
  3. 60
    Trash has its moments. [Mar 2008, p.106]