Reality - David Bowie
Reality Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 40 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 'Reality' finds a now 56-year-old David Bowie working once again with longtime producer Tony Visconti. Included among the 11 tracks is a cover of Jonathan Richman's "Pablo Picasso."
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Reality is easily one of his most emotionally transparent albums.
  2. Bowie's best music since Scary Monsters. [Oct 2003, p.101]
  3. 80
    While it's very much a rock album... it kicks in a very 'now' way (this ain't Tin Machine). [Oct 2003, p.112]
  4. 70
    Lucid, enjoyable and occasionally full-on rockin'. [Oct 2003, p.115]
  5. It's the sound of a man who's worked out how to be good again, who finally understands his own strengths and limitations.
  6. The album quickly reveals itself to be a muddled effort of overproduction and drab lyrics.
  7. While Reality isn't a failure by anyone's standards, there's precious few moments that you can recall, much less hum, an hour after listening to it.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. May 25, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. O Melhor Desde Earthling 1997.
    Um Album Completamente Ótimo.
    Começa Com A Ópera De Rock New Killer Star Seguindo O Mesmo Padrão Com Pablo Picasso Never Get Old E Reality A Faixa Título
    É A Cara De Bowie A Balada Melancólica The Loneliest Guy,Days,Bring Me Disco King.
    E O Rock Melancólico Tipico De Bowie Looking For Water,She'll Drive The Big Car
    Ótimo Disco
    Expand
  2. WenM
    Sep 17, 2003
    10
    As always, Bowie's music and enthusiam is overwhelming. A GREAT album
  3. AmandaM
    Apr 29, 2004
    10
    This is one of those albums you really have to live with for you to realize just how brilliant, textured, nuanced, and hard-rocking it really is. I've been a Bowie fan for over 20 years now, and some of his albums are tougher than others. "Outside" "hours" and even "Heathen" never really did it for me. But "Reality" has made all those other efforts worth it. For the past few years he's been searching, God love 'im, developing his current band, and this fabulous album is the result. Finally, if you haven't seen Bowie in concert, you MUST make the trip on his current North American swing -- the man is just a God on stage -- you won't believe how good he is. Collapse
  4. RodP
    Sep 19, 2003
    9
    Excellent songs with a rawer edge than the past couple of albums (Heathen & Hours).
  5. DarrylG
    Sep 22, 2003
    9
    Sweet God in Heaven this Star is a Killer. Praise all who not only think of what could have been but rather what is ...and those who dwell in the day still to come. Bowie will rock me from my cradle to my grave! Expand
  6. EdS
    Sep 21, 2003
    8
    Tight production that really kicks in starting with New Killer Star. He puts fun into this song with the "loose" guitar sounds. I get to play this often now than Heathen's "Sunday", one of my favorite Bowie tunes (or "Cactus" lol). Expand
  7. zokip
    Sep 17, 2003
    1
    shit.the worse b album after heathen

See all 27 User Reviews