Reality - David Bowie
Reality Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 45 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 'Reality' finds a now 56-year-old David Bowie working once again with longtime producer Tony Visconti. Included among the 11 tracks is a cover of Jonathan Richman's "Pablo Picasso."
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Reality is easily one of his most emotionally transparent albums.
  2. Bowie's best music since Scary Monsters. [Oct 2003, p.101]
  3. 80
    While it's very much a rock album... it kicks in a very 'now' way (this ain't Tin Machine). [Oct 2003, p.112]
  4. 70
    Lucid, enjoyable and occasionally full-on rockin'. [Oct 2003, p.115]
  5. It's the sound of a man who's worked out how to be good again, who finally understands his own strengths and limitations.
  6. The album quickly reveals itself to be a muddled effort of overproduction and drab lyrics.
  7. While Reality isn't a failure by anyone's standards, there's precious few moments that you can recall, much less hum, an hour after listening to it.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Dec 23, 2014
    10
    O Melhor Desde Hours... 1999.
    Um Álbum Excelente.
    Começa Com O Rock New Killer Star Seguindo O Mesmo Padrão Com Pablo Picasso Never Get Old
    O Melhor Desde Hours... 1999.
    Um Álbum Excelente.
    Começa Com O Rock New Killer Star Seguindo O Mesmo Padrão Com Pablo Picasso Never Get Old E Reality A Faixa Título
    É A Cara De Bowie A Balada Melancólica The Loneliest Guy,Days,Bring Me Disco King.
    E O Rock Melancólico Tipico De Bowie Looking For Water,She'll Drive The Big Car,Fall Dog Bombs The Moon
    Ótimo Disco
    Expand
  2. LodiJ
    Sep 19, 2003
    10
    Everyone is freakin nuts, they judge bowie way too hard. All his 90's albums were great, and this one really kicks ass as well!
  3. FourSkin
    Oct 31, 2004
    10
    I bought the version with the DVD. It works as well live as does in the studio. So much for the layering. His band is fantastic. I always I bought the version with the DVD. It works as well live as does in the studio. So much for the layering. His band is fantastic. I always like Bowie music best when its got a kickarse bass played by a kickarse bass player. Expand
  4. RodP
    Sep 19, 2003
    9
    Excellent songs with a rawer edge than the past couple of albums (Heathen & Hours).
  5. DarrylG
    Sep 22, 2003
    9
    Sweet God in Heaven this Star is a Killer. Praise all who not only think of what could have been but rather what is ...and those who dwell in Sweet God in Heaven this Star is a Killer. Praise all who not only think of what could have been but rather what is ...and those who dwell in the day still to come. Bowie will rock me from my cradle to my grave! Expand
  6. EdS
    Sep 21, 2003
    8
    Tight production that really kicks in starting with New Killer Star. He puts fun into this song with the "loose" guitar sounds. I get to play Tight production that really kicks in starting with New Killer Star. He puts fun into this song with the "loose" guitar sounds. I get to play this often now than Heathen's "Sunday", one of my favorite Bowie tunes (or "Cactus" lol). Expand
  7. zokip
    Sep 17, 2003
    1
    shit.the worse b album after heathen

See all 29 User Reviews