Reanimation - Linkin Park
Reanimation Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 155 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Not quite the next Linkin Park album, 'Reanimation' is instead a remix of their entire debut album, 'Hybrid Theory' (actually, a remix of the Japanese version, which contained extra tracks). The 19 songs here have been reinvented by an array of alternative and hip hop musicians and producers, including members of Korn, Jurassic 5, Orgy, and Staind, and given cryptic new titles such as "Rnw@y" and "My{Dsmbr." (You'd think with all the money they're making they could at least buy a vowel.) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. 80
    A freakazoid musical pastiche. [Oct 2002, p.83]
  2. 70
    Ultimately, the set is a little schizo, but it channels enough rap-rock frisson to make it more than just a between-albums snack. [Sep 2002, p.128]
  3. 70
    As on Hybrid Theory, there's a definite formula at work in all 19 songs, but it's flawless and effective.
  4. The remixes are extremely liberal, cutting and pasting with little regard for the originals in question.
  5. Some of this works quite well, some of it is kind of juvenile, much of it is only slightly recognizable from the original, it's too long and compared to contemporary arty rock, it really isn't that arty.
  6. The music isn't exactly groundbreaking, and none of the remixes improve on the Hybrid Theory originals, but the boyish energy of Reanimation has its own appeal, and it's not too far emotionally from the tried-so-hard spirit of "In the End."
  7. Chester Bennington's anguished man-child howling is largely left on the shelf, as are the thrusting hooks that were Linkin Park's big draw.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 68
  2. Negative: 12 out of 68
  1. Aug 17, 2013
    Reanimation. It's been a fair few years since I'd last heard this album and Hybrid Theory. As a result, this past week I've been listening to these two albums. And I can honestly say after a couple of listens to Reanimation, it's their best album they've released. And it isn't even a real studio album. Reanimation takes Hybrid Theory's Nu Metal sound, and infuses it with more Rap sounds. This is why the album had a lot of DJ's many people hadn't heard of working on the album to gain them exposure and put a fresh new sound on the songs.

    Don't be worried though if you haven't heard the album before but are a fan of Hybrid Theory, your heavy rock and Chester vocals still remain, with the powerful riffs we knew getting a bit of the cyber treatment, especially in the Points of Authority remix. The album is terrific, and as an added bonus it's a remix of the Japanese version of Hybrid Theory so you also get High Voltage and My December remixes which both sound pretty good.

    Nu Metal fans can rejoice in this album, it was a breath of fresh air when it came out, and still is today. Rap and Rock lovers can unite in this, and even if you are not the biggest Rap fan, you can't help but remember the catchy lyrics added and sing along to them. Not many albums have the ability to do that, so take this as an added bonus. I absolutely recommend this album to any Linkin Park fan and any fan of Rap and Rock in general. One thing I will say is Cure For The Itch should have been left alone, but apart from that, it's fantastic.

    I give it a 10/10 for being so different to the Nu Metal genre. Worth a few listens minimum.
  2. Jan 5, 2011
    This was an amazing Album.. I Loved it.. I usually select some of the songs from this album to play it in my car stereo.. Absolutely Rocks.. Best Band Ever.. Expand
  3. Jun 27, 2012
    Great album!! because this isnt just a bunch of remixes, it features entirely reinterpreted songs, arrangements, sectionst, and a more industrial,hip hop aproach. Expand
  4. Oct 23, 2011
    Reanimation is a great album from linkin park, it is like a brand new album you get remixes of all the songs from hybrid theory and then some new songs. Expand
  5. Apr 11, 2012
    It's the atmosphere across the whole of this remix album which gives it such an interesting listen, Mike Shinoda was very involved with getting the whole album to sound cohesive and dark, with everything from techno anthems to old school hip-hop, it's on overdrive melodically with all aspiring talent onboard. Expand
  6. Nov 3, 2011
    Not their best album, but deffinitley one to keep on the iPod. Remixing their song was a smart, yet dumb idea. "H! Vltg3" and "Kyur4 th Ich" they should of left original. But on the other hand, "Krwlng" , "Pts.of.Athrty" and "By_Myslf" are better remixed than original in my opinon. Expand
  7. Nov 14, 2011
    Easily the worst they have ever put out. A completely pointless remix album that does nothing but butcher and ruin classic LP songs for no reason at all. Expand

See all 68 User Reviews