Rebel, Sweetheart

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JessicaS
    Jun 5, 2005
    10
    Rebel, Sweetheart focuses on The Wallflowers strengths: including thoughtful songwriting, and good, solid rock and roll. Refreshing disc after the over-produced Red Letter Days rivals Bringing Down the Horse and (Breach), the band's best albums so far.
  2. BrittR.
    Jun 20, 2005
    10
    This is by far there best album yet. They really took the heart and soul lyrics and put them to amazing instamentals. It is really too bad that they are so under rated.
  3. melissaa
    Jun 30, 2005
    10
    The best album yet! Many possible singles, including (confessions of a drunken marionette). Its the best song they have recorded to date. (How far you've come) is so beautiful, soft and full of meaning. Everyone check this album out! They are touring this summer, so try and catch a show.
  4. TangC
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    Once again, one of rock n roll greatest DNA has managed to refine itself and bham .. in the person of jake dylan ..this is what rock/ folk should sound like.. people ..please request their songs onm the radio.. we are watching the masacre of an entire generation of youngsters who think music is either in a candy shop or from some shit american idol spinoffs..
  5. lisaa
    Jul 9, 2005
    10
    Full of great songs. The dual disc is great with video footage. Highly recommended! Best song of their carrer, confessions of a druken marionette (here he comes). Go buy this album today, you won't be disappointed!!
  6. PhillipC
    May 28, 2005
    9
    After the mildly dissapointing "Breach" and "Red Letter Days," the Wallflowers come through with their best effort in years with "Rebel, Sweetheart." Jakob Dylan's voice reverberates with both passion and disgust at the timeless themes of war, love, and death. Through melodies both upbeat and slow, the Wallflowers take us through a journey of sure defeat and signs of optimism, After the mildly dissapointing "Breach" and "Red Letter Days," the Wallflowers come through with their best effort in years with "Rebel, Sweetheart." Jakob Dylan's voice reverberates with both passion and disgust at the timeless themes of war, love, and death. Through melodies both upbeat and slow, the Wallflowers take us through a journey of sure defeat and signs of optimism, closing with the possibility that there are "New arms to hold back the revolution"--the chance that this predicament (based largely on the Iraw War, presumably) can get better before it gets worse. Highly recommended for thought-provoking messages, catchy rhythms, and lyrics that require digestion and sifting through. Expand
  7. Matt
    Jun 9, 2005
    9
    I love their straightforward rock sound!
  8. JasonR
    Jul 5, 2005
    7
    Might be the Wallflowers weakest album to date. One of the few Brendan O'Brien produced albums that I've ever been at all disappointed in. The mix sounds a little weird to me...perhaps a bit over compressed and just little "sludgy" sounding. On a positive note, theres a few really great songs. Rebel, Sweetheart just isn't what I've come to expect from usually amazing Might be the Wallflowers weakest album to date. One of the few Brendan O'Brien produced albums that I've ever been at all disappointed in. The mix sounds a little weird to me...perhaps a bit over compressed and just little "sludgy" sounding. On a positive note, theres a few really great songs. Rebel, Sweetheart just isn't what I've come to expect from usually amazing Wallflowers Expand
  9. bdean
    Dec 9, 2005
    10
    Jakob Dylan is not Bob Dylan. Well, duh- get over it. This album is amazing.
  10. LaurenC
    May 29, 2005
    10
    If you like straight forward rock and roll album that throws it back to Petty& Springsteen and is lyrically brilliant, then this is your album. Top to bottom a solid gem of a record.
  11. jonahg
    May 30, 2005
    4
    This album instead of moving the wallfowers forward, seems to only drag them back. The singing seems dry, and musically the disc goes nowhere they haven't been before.
  12. CosmoPrelog
    Jun 7, 2005
    1
    Had Lester Bangs been alive to review this record, he would have killed himself shortly after.
  13. Harly
    Jun 18, 2005
    10
    These reviewers don't give this album it's due. Please go to Amazon.com for more accurate reviews and allmusic.com. You won't regret buying this album.
  14. AndyS.
    Jun 21, 2005
    9
    Great. Really great.
  15. BrianT
    Aug 24, 2005
    10
    The fact that the reviewer for Eonline didn't like it much and was catty about it, yet those hacks actually seem to think that "The Black Eyed Peas" are anything other than the flavor of 05 just reaffirms my complete enjoyment of this album. Dylan has come so far since 96's "Bringing Down The Horse." No BS here, and no filler. Every single song on this album spoke to me, and The fact that the reviewer for Eonline didn't like it much and was catty about it, yet those hacks actually seem to think that "The Black Eyed Peas" are anything other than the flavor of 05 just reaffirms my complete enjoyment of this album. Dylan has come so far since 96's "Bringing Down The Horse." No BS here, and no filler. Every single song on this album spoke to me, and that almost never happens for me in these days of stretched out content and rush recording. Then again, Dylan has proven that he's not as interested in celebrity as he is in becoming a good songwriter. He's getting there! Expand
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Merely highlights all the weak spots, like the lifeless voice, generic MOR melodies and the highly noticeable lack of Jakob being Bob.
  2. A slickly produced, radio-friendly collection of almost love songs with downbeat lyrics and upbeat guitar riffs. [27 May 2005, p.136]
  3. Dylan's images are sharper than ever and his vision more focused. [22 May 2005]