Recovery

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 829 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 82 out of 829

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndrewH
    Jun 22, 2010
    9
    I don't understand some of these reviews so far. I have listened to the Album twice. the guy from the Guardian couldnt even get the lyrics right ffs!. I feel as though the genre of Hip-Hop, should be reviewed by actual Hip-Hop enthusiasts, because the reviewers so far, seem to be confused to what Hip-Hop and this Album actually represents. 'Recovery' The songs, for most I don't understand some of these reviews so far. I have listened to the Album twice. the guy from the Guardian couldnt even get the lyrics right ffs!. I feel as though the genre of Hip-Hop, should be reviewed by actual Hip-Hop enthusiasts, because the reviewers so far, seem to be confused to what Hip-Hop and this Album actually represents. 'Recovery' The songs, for most parts definately fall into place with the Album Title. And lyrically, Eminem strikes as desperate to get the fans back on his side, after at least 4 years living in his own little world. And even though there is something like an unwritten Law into a Rapper to NEVER show his weakness, This Album tells a story of his 'Recovery' and also His struggles. Songs like 'Not Afraid', 'Love the way you lie', FT Rihanna, 'Talkin to myself', ft Kobe, '25 to life' , 'space bound' and Expand
  2. JacobD
    Jun 22, 2010
    8
    Eminem is back! After the two disappointments in Encore and Relapse, I'm glad to say that Eminem is back, although he has changed a lot. It seems Slim Shady has disappeared (at least for now) which will without a doubt turn of a lot of fans, this is not another Slim Shady LP or Marshal Mathers LP. Style-wise it's more like The Eminem Show, but not really AS good. The album has a Eminem is back! After the two disappointments in Encore and Relapse, I'm glad to say that Eminem is back, although he has changed a lot. It seems Slim Shady has disappeared (at least for now) which will without a doubt turn of a lot of fans, this is not another Slim Shady LP or Marshal Mathers LP. Style-wise it's more like The Eminem Show, but not really AS good. The album has a couple of themes, Eminem's love life, his relationship to Hip/hop and apologies to fans. His rhymes and flow is almost back to the class of the old Eminem, which is good. Overall I really really like the album, but there are a few bad things about it. Eminem sings on a lot of the choruses, and it's painfully bad, his rapping is good, singing horrible. The tracks themselves are not perfect either, tracks like Talkin' 2 myself, Not Afraid, Space Bound, 25 to life and surprisingly Love The Way You Lie (featuring Rihanna) are in my opinion the best, while Won't Back Down (where P!nk does the chorus) and W.T.P are the worst, and they are really bad. The rest of the songs are a mix of average and above average to good. It's a very honest Eminem, and I think his new style suits him, although it's bound to turn a lot of people, his older fans, off. I hope we will see more of the vintage Eminem in the future, but I'm glad to say that Eminem has recovered! Expand
  3. Ridith
    Jun 22, 2010
    7
    The album is good in the sense that it has good songs, such as '25 to life', 'so bad', 'won't back down', 'space bound', and of course 'not afraid', but when eminem said he's gonna go back to his best form, this album doesn't come close...seriously, consider The Marshall Mathers LP or The Eminem Show...this album ain't The album is good in the sense that it has good songs, such as '25 to life', 'so bad', 'won't back down', 'space bound', and of course 'not afraid', but when eminem said he's gonna go back to his best form, this album doesn't come close...seriously, consider The Marshall Mathers LP or The Eminem Show...this album ain't close to those landmarks. Expand
  4. BobL
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    Return to form for Eminem, much better than the cliched and empty Relapse.
  5. chada.
    Jun 22, 2010
    9
    Great album Better hooks and more polished production and it would be a classic! A must have for any true Eminem fan Skillful metaphors and fierce wordplay culminate Eminem's best effort since 2002 A Must-buy.
  6. SpencerG.
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    In his top 3 albums for sure. Also, it's the best album of the year hands down!
  7. laki
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    Most of these 'reviews' have got it all wrong. em is back to doing what he does best, expressing himself. whether you dig the content of his lyrics or not, he's got that same fire he had earlier in his career. the beats on this album are sick. i don't get why some reviews consider it 'inconsistent'. i consider this album his most consistent of his career. Most of these 'reviews' have got it all wrong. em is back to doing what he does best, expressing himself. whether you dig the content of his lyrics or not, he's got that same fire he had earlier in his career. the beats on this album are sick. i don't get why some reviews consider it 'inconsistent'. i consider this album his most consistent of his career. there's not one bad song here, earlier albums have a few tracks that i skip, but not this one. that's consistent to me. the lack of dre is a GOOD thing. i felt that the dr. / em combo was getting tired and formulaic. working with other producers has kept things fresh, not inconsistent. the album does offer variety, and versatility. there are aggressive songs, emotional songs, funny songs, etc. and each one is performed with that classic em enthusiasm that was lacking on the last two albums. this might be his best work to date. i'm disappointed in these reviews, and i will not trust any review i read anymore. i heard this album. let me stress the word ALBUM and NOT 'collection of singles'. i think that may be why the critics say it is inconsistent. it's because they forgot how to appreciate a full rollercoaster ride of an ALBUM. not every track has to sound exactly the same. don't get spoiled by the current state of the music industry that focuses on individual singles. ALBUMS do exist and this is one of them. this album is for his fans who understand his work and his progression, not for some schmuck reviewer who listens to a ton of other crap. Expand
  8. ThomasM.
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    This album is a masterpiece. Space bound, almost famous, and The near death experience of Going Through changes... That songs sends Chills down my spine. If that song doesn't Touch you then you have no soul. Please support This cd by buying it. Let him know that We, his fans know that he is back!
  9. JusL
    Jun 22, 2010
    9
    Best Rap Album in Years, How is Drakes and BOB's piece of a shit albums rated better than eminem's latest recovery album on this web site. All i have to do is laugh. He is 100 bars above any one else in the game. Just imagine if dre produced this whole album it would have been one of the greatest of the last two decades. too bad he didnt and that is the only downfall of this Best Rap Album in Years, How is Drakes and BOB's piece of a shit albums rated better than eminem's latest recovery album on this web site. All i have to do is laugh. He is 100 bars above any one else in the game. Just imagine if dre produced this whole album it would have been one of the greatest of the last two decades. too bad he didnt and that is the only downfall of this album it doesn't have dre's prefection. Expand
  10. BrentK
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    Remember Eminem? Well, of course you do
  11. Lukasz
    Jun 23, 2010
    8
    Better than Relapse and Encore but TSSLP, TMMLP, TES are still the best.
  12. AlexP.
    Jun 23, 2010
    8
    Not his best album, but considerably better than relaspe. His flows back, and beats are different but refreshing. Keep it up eminem.
  13. AndrewT.
    Jun 23, 2010
    10
    This album is so sick it going to be a number one seller for sure.
  14. darrylt.
    Jun 23, 2010
    10
    Great album eminem is back,he clearly put alot of heart into this album, most of them critics that have slated the album must be jealous of his comeback or maybe they cant get over all there own problems or addictions. haters i think there called.
  15. RobbieO.
    Jun 23, 2010
    10
    The Album is one of the best hes ever done. Hes finally gotten back to his roots and lost that accent that riddled Relapse.
  16. Jeff
    Jun 23, 2010
    9
    This is one of Eminems best albums vy far, his intensity, and lyrics are reminiscent of the MMLP, his metaphors on this album are ridiculous, noone evern close to his level of wordplay, its one if not his most honest personal album, I actually thought Relapse was one of his best albums, lyrically it was amazing, but when you hear Recovery, he elevates to a whole new level. These so called This is one of Eminems best albums vy far, his intensity, and lyrics are reminiscent of the MMLP, his metaphors on this album are ridiculous, noone evern close to his level of wordplay, its one if not his most honest personal album, I actually thought Relapse was one of his best albums, lyrically it was amazing, but when you hear Recovery, he elevates to a whole new level. These so called critics don't know shit when it comes to lyrics, Its true, no matter how awesome an album is, he still will never ever get the props he deserves, "On Fire" he talks about that to some degree. Overall a fantastic album that any hip hop fan should buy, cuz like he has said so many times before, he's back!! Expand
  17. DanielO
    Jun 24, 2010
    8
    Good album, bit too apolegetic.
  18. Schmidty15
    Jun 24, 2010
    7
    Big fan of Pitchfork.com but man...they blew it on their review. The only thing holding this album from being a true classic are EM's corney sing-songy choruses. Lyrically, I'm not sure if I've ever heard EM spit with so much conviction. Rejoice Slim Shady fans....he's back!
  19. BrandonT.
    Jun 24, 2010
    10
    Album is dope. Em keep killing them.
  20. MullardS
    Jun 24, 2010
    10
    This is the only cd ive listened to over the last 2 weeks. some of the beats (So Bad), themes (WTP, Wont Back Down), and hooks (Youre Never Over, On Fire) arent always on point, but lyrically, Recovery is unparalleled in hip hop right now. 25 to Life, Talking 2 Myself, Almost Famous, and Love the Way You Lie are perfect examples of Eminem at his best across a wide range of genres. By This is the only cd ive listened to over the last 2 weeks. some of the beats (So Bad), themes (WTP, Wont Back Down), and hooks (Youre Never Over, On Fire) arent always on point, but lyrically, Recovery is unparalleled in hip hop right now. 25 to Life, Talking 2 Myself, Almost Famous, and Love the Way You Lie are perfect examples of Eminem at his best across a wide range of genres. By taking out a couple of fillers and redoing some hooks, there is a perfect CD within the lengthy Recovery. I give a 10 because even though its slightly flawed, it's some of the best music in today's hip hop. Expand
  21. Nejc
    Jun 24, 2010
    10
    It's just amazing how great album Recovery is after all the disappointments in the last 5 years. Although I really liked Relapse. This one is just on another level.
  22. JamesS.
    Jun 25, 2010
    9
    Great album...I'm sick of the funny, joking, waste of time Eminem has filled some albums with. This is real from top to bottom.
  23. TommyK
    Jun 25, 2010
    9
    This album has shown why Eminem is on the level of the all time greats. His records evoke different emotions and with great variety. Unlike his last album "Relapse" this album isn't in a accent. This complements the subject matter of the raps. He mainly raps about his deceased best friend Proof from D12, his struggle with drugs, and his comeback to rap.
  24. Noirling
    Jun 25, 2010
    9
    I don't understand music critics, I suppose, because this album is excellent. There were at least 5 songs on it that I would deem hit worthy. The rest were 4 and 3 star quality. It's time to get off the HATE EMINEM bus, people. This stuff is touching and tight. Peep it.
  25. ChaseB
    Jun 22, 2010
    9
    This is definitely a great album. Yes, it's true that his lyrics seem to stumble about in some places, but on the whole, it is a great record, and a grand return to form by THE master rapper.
  26. BigB.
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    Back to being the emiem of old. Great album!
  27. JohnD.
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    Critics are dumb, you can feel the passion in this album.
  28. BenP
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    Art critics are like second rate philosophers, they don't only NOT take part in the creation of anything, but the whole of their contribution is not even to inject new ideas into the cultural landscape, just deconstruct and complain about the people who do...this album is by no means perfect, but the reason eminem has such a loyal following is because his flow, creativity and energy Art critics are like second rate philosophers, they don't only NOT take part in the creation of anything, but the whole of their contribution is not even to inject new ideas into the cultural landscape, just deconstruct and complain about the people who do...this album is by no means perfect, but the reason eminem has such a loyal following is because his flow, creativity and energy are like a narcotic, through the highs and lows of every song, every album, there is an innate magnetism that is impossible to ignore...the newness that is so very lacking in rap/hip hop these days, and no second rate hack that writes for some cheap entertainment rag is going to every convince me otherwise. Expand
  29. merr
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    These critics are shit. This album is not only fantastic in its realm of beats and musical composure but also in the emotion that is put into this album. I have followed Eminem and been a fan since his first album. I did not have a general care for his previous album (Relapse) but this album literally blew me out of the water. Every song seems to be conveyed with such emotion that I can These critics are shit. This album is not only fantastic in its realm of beats and musical composure but also in the emotion that is put into this album. I have followed Eminem and been a fan since his first album. I did not have a general care for his previous album (Relapse) but this album literally blew me out of the water. Every song seems to be conveyed with such emotion that I can feel myself. He is fantastic artist and a fantastic lyricist. I believe that with the beats, lyrics and combination of all these aspects, makes this Eminem's best album yet. It is UNREAL. Expand
  30. MaryT
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    This is obviously the best Eminem album since the Eminem Show. I don't know what these critics were listening to. A 2.8 on Pitchfork? Really? That is an obvious troll attempt. Slant also slammed The Marshall Mathers LP, so their review doesn't surprise me. This album should be high 70s through mid 80s, not low 60s like it is now. My other criticism is that there are many This is obviously the best Eminem album since the Eminem Show. I don't know what these critics were listening to. A 2.8 on Pitchfork? Really? That is an obvious troll attempt. Slant also slammed The Marshall Mathers LP, so their review doesn't surprise me. This album should be high 70s through mid 80s, not low 60s like it is now. My other criticism is that there are many positive reviews from major magazines that haven't been included in the Metacritic ratings. This seems like an obvious bias to negative reviews if they don't add these reviews later. Expand
  31. VegardM
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    Critics gonna hate! What counts is what the people think, and 9.4/10 is not that bad! ;) It is also deserved. The album is flawless!
  32. MarcusE
    Jun 22, 2010
    8
    Solid album - far superior to relapse. Honest, introspective, creative, catchy and just plain fun.
  33. JesusR
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    Best album I've heard this year. Eminem has now become a trendsetter... He basically brought all different kinds of elements into this album, and if you're music fan and not necessarily an Eminem fan, you would really appreciate the hard work he's done for this album.. Highly recommended.
  34. BrandonF
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    Amazing Album. Check out Space Bound, Almost Famous, Going Through Changes, and Love the Way You Lie. Your mind will be blown.
  35. NeT.
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    Love how the critics are smashing this amazing album... It's one of the best things I've ever heard. Eminem reestablishes his love for hip-hop and music. The tracks are fire. Screw the critics, if you're a true hip-hop/ Eminem fan this album does not disappoint. Either way, I know what's going to be in my CD player for months. Good night, radio.
  36. Alex
    Jun 22, 2010
    9
    I really am surprisd at the response of some 'critics'. This album is up their with 'The Eminem Show' his skill as a emcee is second to none. Yes, there are times when his flow doesnt link but when he does it such a complex way it is bound to happen, it is not perfect but deserves a much better response. His metaphors and lyrical word play are superb. the humour is I really am surprisd at the response of some 'critics'. This album is up their with 'The Eminem Show' his skill as a emcee is second to none. Yes, there are times when his flow doesnt link but when he does it such a complex way it is bound to happen, it is not perfect but deserves a much better response. His metaphors and lyrical word play are superb. the humour is still there but this time were getting a more real eminem. Ive been a fan since the slim shady lp and its good that eminem has matured because his fan base has matured aswell. the thing that disappointed me about relapse was taht it was to much like the slim shady lp. Hes bigger than that now, he doesnt need to shock and be as crude as possible (which he does anyway), we wanna hear the truth and thats just what we get, its the perfect combination. The only weak track on this album is W.T.P, every other track from production to performance is amazing and it really is a shame he is not getting this credability. good thing the user score is high to show the fans who really know what there talking about other than these bullshit journalist who give bad reviews just to seem smarter than they acctually are when they dont even know what theyre talking about. As Marshal says himself 'next time you blog try and spit a flow. Expand
  37. DanielB.
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    Showed that Em can now rap about more that slicing up woman and popping vicodin. Very good album.
  38. JayT.
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    Introspective with excellent lyrics.
  39. AnthonyB.
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    Reviews thus far are way too low for this album. How this got lower reviews than Relapse is a mystery.
  40. mysteriousfields
    Jun 22, 2010
    9
    The critics score for this album is far too low. I think this is a very strong album the only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because there is no real hip hop hooks like in his early days. I don't mind that fact that most of the hooks are more pop orientated but sometimes it doesn't work like eminem singing the hook on your never over, that track has stellar verses but the The critics score for this album is far too low. I think this is a very strong album the only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because there is no real hip hop hooks like in his early days. I don't mind that fact that most of the hooks are more pop orientated but sometimes it doesn't work like eminem singing the hook on your never over, that track has stellar verses but the hook doesn't sound very good. All in all though I wrote this because i think the score for this album is faaaar too low. Expand
  41. DannyM
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    A great album. I've been waiting for an album like this since The Eminem Show.
  42. JohnG
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    When listening to recovery what really strikes you is eminem is back with his old witty and bizare lyrics that kicked up a fuss 10 years ago. recovery is for the fans with many of the songs appoligising to them for letting them down with the drug abuse and putting out a half harted albums out like repapse but its safe to say that eminem is back on top and back to his own ways and i for When listening to recovery what really strikes you is eminem is back with his old witty and bizare lyrics that kicked up a fuss 10 years ago. recovery is for the fans with many of the songs appoligising to them for letting them down with the drug abuse and putting out a half harted albums out like repapse but its safe to say that eminem is back on top and back to his own ways and i for one is happy about it. Expand
  43. DBrown
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    Pitchfork, you really upset me this time. This is his best since the Marshall Mathers LP.
  44. ChristianC.
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    Recovery has been an album that everyone one must expect of Eminem. He came strong and ready, my response to the other viewers such as, Slant Magazine and Pitchfork. They don't know what they're talking about, Eminem's music has meaning in each song if you actually listen to his lyrics and rhymes he makes sense. Hear the song No Love and Space Bound and many more that would Recovery has been an album that everyone one must expect of Eminem. He came strong and ready, my response to the other viewers such as, Slant Magazine and Pitchfork. They don't know what they're talking about, Eminem's music has meaning in each song if you actually listen to his lyrics and rhymes he makes sense. Hear the song No Love and Space Bound and many more that would prove my point. So cut Eminem some slack, he's done so much for us he gave his best, and I respect him for that. Expand
  45. michaels
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    It's a little more than a standalone score. Eminem has come back with raw spitfire, much harder than other mainstream artists. Also, all this talk about the weak beats if off. Maybe I've listened to it too many times, but I dig almost every groove. There are slight missteps lyrically and music wise as well, but all in all, I am comfortable giving this a ten. I highly recommend It's a little more than a standalone score. Eminem has come back with raw spitfire, much harder than other mainstream artists. Also, all this talk about the weak beats if off. Maybe I've listened to it too many times, but I dig almost every groove. There are slight missteps lyrically and music wise as well, but all in all, I am comfortable giving this a ten. I highly recommend it to any Eminem fan and anyone interested in inventive, slightly abrasive wordplay. Expand
  46. JeffH
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    10x more content than "Thank Me Later". . . and better quality as well.
  47. AndrewWhiteC
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    I love this album. I'm glad that it went up seventeen points, because it definitely did not deserve a 44. The strongest points of the album are "Not Afraid" and "Won't Back Down". I also like many more. Good thing RS gave it a four star, that kinda saved it!
  48. GabeM.
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    This has to be Eminems most emotional and best album since Marshall Mathers LP. Maybe even better. Most of these critics have gotten it wrong so do not listen. I mean Rolling stones has given Eminem the same rating on every album "80" when obviously they were not all of the same greatness cough cough Encore and Relapse. Eminem is back and has alot to prove. He does so In Recovery. Eminem This has to be Eminems most emotional and best album since Marshall Mathers LP. Maybe even better. Most of these critics have gotten it wrong so do not listen. I mean Rolling stones has given Eminem the same rating on every album "80" when obviously they were not all of the same greatness cough cough Encore and Relapse. Eminem is back and has alot to prove. He does so In Recovery. Eminem we love you and so glad your back to the top. Expand
  49. ZakeryL.
    Jun 23, 2010
    9
    Possibly the best album yet... sure it has its flaws but he's back back again shadys back... best song on the album is either your never over or not afraid hands down
  50. JamieRitchie
    Jun 23, 2010
    10
    amazing album
  51. YasserR
    Jun 23, 2010
    9
    I really like this album. Its really more then what i could have hoped. An truly fantastic album and a must buy for any Eminem fan.
  52. BhaveshM
    Jun 23, 2010
    10
    It is different from his other works, this album is new and refreshing, while still not at the pinnacle of his best work, this album is far better than his previous two, and there are some tracks where he spits hot fire.
  53. BraidenM
    Jun 23, 2010
    10
    This is the problem with critic reviews on music they don't like. Ok so most ppl dont like "gratuitious nastiness", or so they want you to believe, but I think that without cursing and being himself I would turn it off. Clean is Eminem. 10. Hes back playable tracks throughout. Get some critics that actually listen to rap.
  54. MarkN
    Jun 23, 2010
    10
    This album could be a classic. Eminem lyrically murders pretty much every song.
  55. NestorS
    Jun 24, 2010
    10
    Amazing album...I seriously think the critics dont 'get' it and are expecting something they shouldn't plan on receiving. The lyrics in here are on par with the greatest of all time and this album deserves multiple listens.
  56. RobM
    Jun 24, 2010
    9
    Recovery is Eminem's best album since The Eminem Show and is, in my opinion, his third best album so far (behind the Marshall Mathers LP and The Eminem Show respectfully). 90% of the material on this CD is absolutely brilliant and getting rid of the pointless skits was an inspired decision. Theres no more Steve Burman or Ken Keneff... thank god. An amazing album.
  57. AlexM.
    Jun 24, 2010
    10
    These critics are retarded...as of right now the critics are saying encore was better than recovery... they dont know dick.... Marshalll Mathers LP Slim Shady LP Eminem Show Recovery Relapse Encore.
  58. BobB.
    Jun 24, 2010
    10
    Great great album, Eminem is totally back to form. Lost the accent, lost the corny joke tracks, just pure fire.
  59. Anon
    Jun 25, 2010
    9
    This is his best effort since The Eminem Show. The tracks "On Fire, WTP, Seduction, Untitled" leave something to be desired, but at a total of 17 tracks strong, there is a ton of quality music. Space Bound, Cinderella Man, Love the Way You Lie, You're Never Over are all pleasant surprises. The album lacks a goofy MTV hit song, which may hurt it
  60. OkotieO
    Jun 25, 2010
    9
    He expressed his felt feelings, i particularly love No love, the way to lie, crazy about space bound.... the melancholic reality of talking 2 myself... its a pass 4 me.
  61. KennyJ.
    Jun 25, 2010
    9
    The album proves Eminem's back for real and registers as his third best album only behind "The Marshall Mathers LP" and "The Eminem Show".Screw the critics on this one,they definitely too deaf and can't tell how good the record is.
  62. danielm
    Jun 25, 2010
    10
    Going to do my best. To never read another music critics review (starting today). I usally stay away from them. Because, most come across, like sheltered individuals with little to no real life experience. But, I love this album so much. Thought I would give them a chance. But, obviously they don't get it. Which is fine. But, why would you take so much time to rate an album it
  63. AlexG
    Jun 26, 2010
    10
    I would probably rather give it a 9 than a 10 but the critic score is so ridiculously low that I'll just rate it up a bit. Anyway, the album is amazing and definitely the best work eminem has done in a long long time. Almost every song is fire. Of course everyone has heard "Not Afraid", but there are several (and imo better, if not as catchy) tracks on here. Cinderella Man, and Space I would probably rather give it a 9 than a 10 but the critic score is so ridiculously low that I'll just rate it up a bit. Anyway, the album is amazing and definitely the best work eminem has done in a long long time. Almost every song is fire. Of course everyone has heard "Not Afraid", but there are several (and imo better, if not as catchy) tracks on here. Cinderella Man, and Space Bound are the very special tracks here if you ask me. But I'm not gonna get into specifics of each song. The point is that you can say what you want about Em, but after all this time...he's still got it, and while this CD is very different from anything you've heard from him in the past, it's also one of the better productions of his career. The album as a whole isn't as cohesive and structured as in the past, but every track stands well on its own with excellent production values. His verses are as always unmatched. No one can touch him lyrically, any fan of rap that DOES NOT buy this album is not really a rap fan, it's that simple. He is to this day the best rapper in the world. Can you say that he's no longer putting out the classic hits of old, sure. But even his worst work can stand up with some of other artists best efforts. And recovery his far from Em's worst. It shows you just how much better he is than everyone else. The rhymes and the word play are top notch, redefined (if not re-imagined) shady. There is only one track that actually features another rapper on this album, and that's "No Love" with Lil Wayne. And personally...I'm surprised Wayne even wanted to be on it. This is the 3rd track with both of them on it...and each time Mr. Mathers completely painted the floor with Wayne's blood. He makes other rappers look plain stupid with his sick verses. Anyway, enough of my rant, go buy the damn record. Expand
  64. SoulBadass
    Jun 26, 2010
    9
    new em album is amazing but at times he seems that he is still recovering but much better than relapse. great how he mentions alot of prior experiences. SLIM SHADY IS BACK!!!!!!!!
  65. Aug 15, 2010
    10
    this may not be the best eminem album but not the worst album yet.Any person can keep on listening 2 diss album continuosly without skipping a track not a great stuff but still its shady back again..
  66. Aug 18, 2010
    7
    Good but not great. Too much pop for my taste. Better than "Relapse", that's for sure. I'm glad that he is still making some good songs. Album certainly exceeded my expectations.
  67. Sep 3, 2010
    7
    Recovery is a pretty good jump from Relapse. No crazy accents thrown around and he doesnt over do his joking around. Eminem hasnt been this fierce since The Eminem Show. It does bear some of the moodiness of Encore but it isnt mellowed over. While Eminem's fierce flow, crazy & thought provoking lyrics are a plus here, Recovery still has a major flaw. The finger shouldnt be pointed atRecovery is a pretty good jump from Relapse. No crazy accents thrown around and he doesnt over do his joking around. Eminem hasnt been this fierce since The Eminem Show. It does bear some of the moodiness of Encore but it isnt mellowed over. While Eminem's fierce flow, crazy & thought provoking lyrics are a plus here, Recovery still has a major flaw. The finger shouldnt be pointed at Eminem's performance, but at his more at his guest list. Rihanna's singing is decent, but on an Eminem song, she just seems out of place. While Pink's cameo isnt as out-there as Rihanna's, its honestly nothing special either. Eminem wouldve been better off using sampled hooks or underground, unknown singers (Kobe was a slight plus). Lil Wayne's cameo is nothing special at all either. He brings his usual, played out structured punchline flow, making it seem like he's not saying anything he hasnt said already. Eminem totally outshines him on "No Love", putting his speedy, comical, and partially fierce flow next to Wayne who sounds either delibertly high or bored. That song wouldve been PERFECT for a Bad Meets Evil reunion. Expand
  68. Jan 28, 2011
    10
    Eminem is back. With a much stronger album than his last 2. And you can tell the reason its so different from relapse isnt because of its poor reviews. its because like all his albums it reflects his life and what is going on in it. Mr. Mathers is starting to mature. and the product could not be more pleasing. sick beats with some of the most complex verses ive ever seen make this album aEminem is back. With a much stronger album than his last 2. And you can tell the reason its so different from relapse isnt because of its poor reviews. its because like all his albums it reflects his life and what is going on in it. Mr. Mathers is starting to mature. and the product could not be more pleasing. sick beats with some of the most complex verses ive ever seen make this album a must have. Mr. Mathers, Please continue to tell us your life story because it is a damn good one Expand
  69. Jul 21, 2011
    5
    I have no shame in saying that I liked Relapse better. Lyrically, Eminem has improved since Relapse, but in numerous other aspects, Recovery is a downgrade. The production values are weaker this time around, as Dr. Dre only produced one song (So Bad), so the strong bass and percussion are missing. The songs are mostly cliche soft rock beats, with annoying synthesized percussion,I have no shame in saying that I liked Relapse better. Lyrically, Eminem has improved since Relapse, but in numerous other aspects, Recovery is a downgrade. The production values are weaker this time around, as Dr. Dre only produced one song (So Bad), so the strong bass and percussion are missing. The songs are mostly cliche soft rock beats, with annoying synthesized percussion, produced by DJ's. The album overall sounds monochromatic and uniform. From beginning to finish, it is a noise album where Eminem screams in a monotone from track 1 to track 17. Despite a new theme of self-awakening, the album still has some very profane tracks (which did not generate any controversy from the media which largely ignored this), which is good that he was not being self-righteous or pretentious. But this serious side of him does seem phony, as he essentially acts as if he is too strong to laugh or smile. While Eminem, thankfully, finally decided to let go of the fart jokes, the album is still laden with outdated pop culture references and silly metaphors. Half of the tracks on the album are not really about anything in particular, but rather just random freestyles. While Eminem is on the right track lyrically, and in terms of delivery, he is in a dilemma where he is simply running out of things to talk about. But most importantly, the fans are happy. From a critical standpoint, this album is a setback, but if you like the new Eminem, go and buy his CD. Expand
  70. Jan 2, 2011
    9
    Ive noticed somtimes critics don't appreciate great ablums untill a few years pass by. The Marshall Mathers LP got an okay pretty good 79 when it came out but now its considered a classic! Recovery is his best album since The Eminem Show. Relapse was much too silly but now Eminems serious he is spitting more impressive rhymes. There are onlly a few weak tracks (only for Eminem'sIve noticed somtimes critics don't appreciate great ablums untill a few years pass by. The Marshall Mathers LP got an okay pretty good 79 when it came out but now its considered a classic! Recovery is his best album since The Eminem Show. Relapse was much too silly but now Eminems serious he is spitting more impressive rhymes. There are onlly a few weak tracks (only for Eminem's standard) that aren't that bad they are pretty ok but the better tracks are amzing lyricaly and they cover about 90 percent of the whole album. Even the mainstream songls like love the way you lie are impressive Expand
  71. NJR
    Nov 3, 2010
    6
    To put it simply, a major disappointment, all of Em's "Mainstream fans" will love this one because he uses his proper voice, but as far as Hip-Hop goes, the album is weak, the production is pretty awful, Em's delivery gets seriously boring, his tone does not change at all in the album and lyrically the album is very predictable and corny. The reason I give the album a 6 is simply becauseTo put it simply, a major disappointment, all of Em's "Mainstream fans" will love this one because he uses his proper voice, but as far as Hip-Hop goes, the album is weak, the production is pretty awful, Em's delivery gets seriously boring, his tone does not change at all in the album and lyrically the album is very predictable and corny. The reason I give the album a 6 is simply because of his flow, which has never let him down, but honestly these last 8 years have just been disappointment after disappointment for us real Shady fans, I just hope to god that someday he can return to the form he showed from 99 to 02. Expand
  72. Nov 23, 2010
    7
    Lots of people are giving it a 10 unconsciously. In reality, it deserves a 7 because some of the content is repetitive, the nasal delivery can get annoying, and the singing isn't all that good, but I applaud him to his vocals shine through and not use auto-tune to cover it up. But still, the biggest problem is abysmal production, other then the Dre, Bo1da, and Blaze tracks, it's not veryLots of people are giving it a 10 unconsciously. In reality, it deserves a 7 because some of the content is repetitive, the nasal delivery can get annoying, and the singing isn't all that good, but I applaud him to his vocals shine through and not use auto-tune to cover it up. But still, the biggest problem is abysmal production, other then the Dre, Bo1da, and Blaze tracks, it's not very quality. Lyrically, it's an excellent album and his flow is back to being normal and his rapid fire delivery as back. It's a good introspective rap album. It's his best album since he got hooked on drugs (or the bad half of Encore). There are no real weak but the album mostly consists of average tracks, and there are a some of good tracks, and a few excellent tracks. But, by Eminem's standards, it's not classic, but a worthy and necessary addition to his collection. Buy: Space Bound, Not Afraid, Talkin' 2 Myself Download: Cinderella Man, On Fire, So Bad, You're Never Over, Almost Famous Skip: N/A Rapping (Lyrics and Flow): 9/10 Vocals (Singing): 6.5/10 Production: 6/10 Expand
  73. Feb 9, 2011
    9
    Well what an album! It's not as good as Kanye West's My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy but his darkness and his ability to rap will blow you away.
  74. Jan 22, 2011
    9
    Eminem is back and with noo surprize Kicking *** with his new album. Yes its not the same as his old stuff but still just as good. Eminem never fails to impress
  75. Jan 22, 2011
    10
    When he titled it RECOVERY, Em sure did mean it. To me this is probably his second best and only The Marshall Mathers LP would be better than this. He has finally come to peace with his demons and he is finally ready to let the whole world know how he feels which is good for the fans and bad for the haters. Infact, most of this album features songs saying how feels about some of the hatersWhen he titled it RECOVERY, Em sure did mean it. To me this is probably his second best and only The Marshall Mathers LP would be better than this. He has finally come to peace with his demons and he is finally ready to let the whole world know how he feels which is good for the fans and bad for the haters. Infact, most of this album features songs saying how feels about some of the haters ( eg. On Fire, Almost Famous, Untitled Hidden Track, No Love, Won't Back Down, Cinderella Man etc.) as well as personally driven songs ( Not Afraid, Going Through Changes, Talkin' 2 Myself, Your Never Over, Space Bound, 25 to Life etc.). This album is definetly the most complete album he has done since The Marshall Mathers LP. He still is looking to prove that he is THE best Rapper out there and is back to prove it. The first track ( Cold Wind Blows) pulled me in because it wasn' a skit for once and was actually a song that Em opens the album with. Very good song. Let's see if he can make people forget about that little punk Justin Bieber or that a**hole Kanye West. Give or take a year or two, but one of those guys will likely be forgotten because of EMINEM'S GREAT RECOVERY!!! Expand
  76. Feb 10, 2011
    10
    Jonathan Burger
    1-24-11 Recovery-Eminem Review
    Eminem, now clean, once again shocks the music world with an outstanding album about his recovery from drug abuse. With his last album being named relapse, some thoughts might come to mind that â
  77. Feb 27, 2011
    10
    In his latest album eminem now finds himself maturing more from "relapse". this album is hardly a recovery. it his pretty much the same eminem whining about his life, his wife, and his love life and how he has had his heart broken. there good tracks like not afraid, and your never over, and some pretty bad ones like ridaz, love the way you lie and on fire. you would never expect an albumIn his latest album eminem now finds himself maturing more from "relapse". this album is hardly a recovery. it his pretty much the same eminem whining about his life, his wife, and his love life and how he has had his heart broken. there good tracks like not afraid, and your never over, and some pretty bad ones like ridaz, love the way you lie and on fire. you would never expect an album like this from eminem, where in one breath he is claiming that he is cold as a a cold wind when it blows, and that he has always been giving you his best, and in another saying how he is sorry that he almost dissed kanye and lil wayne and how his carrer would have been ruined and how he thinks that his last two albums were trash. he will also bash auto tune, then do a song with lil wayne, a notorious abuser of auto tune. the beats sound like they were made with someone with basic knowledge of garage band, dr.dre only has 1 beat on the album and 2 if you buy the bonus track one. the songs sound the same, his flow is good, but sounds the same on every song. i am a fan of the first 3 eminem albums and although this was better then relapse it still is disappointing. he didnt have a lot of time to do it in so i will give him credit for that, but the album still dose not live up the old eminem standards by any means Expand
  78. Apr 2, 2011
    8
    While this album does not have the variety and ground breaking songs and lyrics of old Eminem classics such as The Slim Shady LP (1999), The Marshall Mathers LP (2000), and The Eminem Show (2002), it is a big improvement on Encore (2004) and Relapse (2009). The only things that keep this album from being a classic are the lack of funny Slim Shady songs, no extremely homophobic or sexistWhile this album does not have the variety and ground breaking songs and lyrics of old Eminem classics such as The Slim Shady LP (1999), The Marshall Mathers LP (2000), and The Eminem Show (2002), it is a big improvement on Encore (2004) and Relapse (2009). The only things that keep this album from being a classic are the lack of funny Slim Shady songs, no extremely homophobic or sexist punchlines, terrible chorus, and terrible collaborations. This album however has some solid lyrics, and Eminem's skill of rapping is at an all time high. Expand
  79. May 12, 2011
    8
    eminem was more calm on this album. it was a good album. it deserved recognition at the grammys. it was decent. eminem proves he can sing and rap.
  80. Jun 29, 2011
    7
    "Recovery" is a very good album with several standout tracks: "Not Afraid", "Love The Way You Lie", "W.T.P" and more. Some of the other tracks, however, are simply boring.
  81. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    Hey, to everyone who says if we give this a good rating, we don't know the real slim shady, well yes i do, i have heard all his cds, i own all of them and i generally like them all (Relapse and Infinite are just ok though). He is the best rapper ever and i personally believe this is his best cd. It has nothing but good songs, it is amazing and shows just how great of a rapper he is
  82. Aug 18, 2011
    10
    this album is the best album ever. love the way you lie is the best track ever. this is eminem coming back to form. much more serious and emotional album. eminem proves that he is the king of hip hop after releasing this album. just love it. all eminem haters f**k you
  83. Jun 23, 2011
    7
    This ranks 5th in my list of best Eminem Albums right behind "The Marshall Mathers LP", "The Eminem Show", "Relapse" and "The Slim Shady LP." I'm not trying to knock it either because that's pretty elite company in my opinion.
  84. Jun 28, 2011
    8
    If you weren't impressed with Relapse or Refill you more then likely will be with this album. I wouldn't put this album on the same level as The Eminem show, the Slim shady LP or the Marshal Mathers LP but I would put it above Encore or at the least on the same level as it. Recovery has some of Eminem's greatest songs along with some mediocre tracks that most people will probably just skipIf you weren't impressed with Relapse or Refill you more then likely will be with this album. I wouldn't put this album on the same level as The Eminem show, the Slim shady LP or the Marshal Mathers LP but I would put it above Encore or at the least on the same level as it. Recovery has some of Eminem's greatest songs along with some mediocre tracks that most people will probably just skip to get onto the good songs. Overall this album in my opinion is one of the best if not the best album of 2010. Expand
  85. Aug 31, 2011
    9
    This album was an unspeakably huge improvement over Relapse with some of his deepest emotional moments and some tracks that I can't stop listening to (Space Bound & You're Never Over).
  86. Aug 30, 2011
    7
    I feel this album is overall a good album. Better than Encore and Relapse, but not like the first three. I don't like the idea of doing a song with Rihanna though. But still, a good album
  87. Sep 5, 2011
    7
    An ultimately underwhelmingly follow-up to Relapse. For the most part, this didn't sound like a typical Eminem album, due to the heavier focus on the producing aspect. Dr. Dre's role appeared to be shortened in favour of more thumping producers. Many of the tracks float over my head and make little impact, whereas Eminem albums usually have the capability to keep me entertained throughout,An ultimately underwhelmingly follow-up to Relapse. For the most part, this didn't sound like a typical Eminem album, due to the heavier focus on the producing aspect. Dr. Dre's role appeared to be shortened in favour of more thumping producers. Many of the tracks float over my head and make little impact, whereas Eminem albums usually have the capability to keep me entertained throughout, whether in disbelief or genuine enjoyment. The single that accompanied the album Not Afraid was disappointingly whiny, but there are still a couple of strong tracks. Buy it...if you want. Expand
  88. Dec 22, 2011
    8
    I enjoyed it. Recovery has some really good songs, and I think that the theme is way better than on Relapse. Even tough songs like ''You're Never Over'' feature great themes, Em isn't a singer, but when he raps like on ''Won't Back Down'' or ''Untitled'' it's freaking amazing.Kill'd it once again but he had better.
  89. Oct 22, 2011
    9
    His best album since The Eminem Show and The Slim Shady LP. The album contains 17 tracks. But this album contains too much musical gore and too little common sense or meaning in his songs. Instead he focuses on getting angry and saying bad stuff to people. But it's not all like that there's 2 songs about his best friend Proof which everyone will really like. And for the 1st time You canHis best album since The Eminem Show and The Slim Shady LP. The album contains 17 tracks. But this album contains too much musical gore and too little common sense or meaning in his songs. Instead he focuses on getting angry and saying bad stuff to people. But it's not all like that there's 2 songs about his best friend Proof which everyone will really like. And for the 1st time You can hear Eminem singing. This isn't his worst album but it's a lot better than Relapse and The Re-Up. Anyway it's good if you're a fan then buy the album now. Expand
  90. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    One of my favorite albums to date, it was a much better follow up album after Relapse. I still listen to this album frequently even a year after its release.
  91. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    I really like Eminem's new songs, I don't understand why anyone would hate this album. All I see is people saying "What is this? I want the old Em back!". Listen, there never was old or new Eminem, there is only Eminem and his decisions. Every song on this album is worth listening, although there are a couple songs that get tiring already after listened to 5 times or so.
  92. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Great album, haters cant hate that this dude is beyond anyones level. his lyrics are too good and just cuz he doesnt talk about beating women/drugs/homos doesnt mean he doesnt have talent, those who want to listen to that. which i still do, go listen to slim shady lp, marshall mathers lp (which is my fav album). recovery is still better than ENCORE...which was his worst.
  93. Dec 10, 2011
    9
    Why so bad reviews. Eminem brings a new and fresh really good taste to his rap music. Loved it. No Love, Not Afraid, Cinderalla Man, and Love the way you Lie are the highlights.
  94. Jan 13, 2012
    6
    A lot better then Relapse but I did not like how Eminem sold out on this album (Lil Wayne, Rihanna, and Pink...come on). Also it only had a few good songs, The rest was trash.
  95. Oct 2, 2013
    7
    Pretty good. Great time for all of the boys. I would listen all day, everyday. To be honest, I have a lot of fun with this album. I put it on late at night and dance around the living room without any worries in the world. Thank you Eminem! You are cutie pie!
  96. Jun 30, 2012
    6
    Recovery is much an improvement on the previous album Relapse, and possibly should have been his comeback album. Saying that, it does not contain the great simple beats of Dr Dre that the old albums do and lyrically is not as offensive as his older material and when it is it seems like he has tried too hard to do so. Overall, it is not a great album, but minus a few blips such as SeductionRecovery is much an improvement on the previous album Relapse, and possibly should have been his comeback album. Saying that, it does not contain the great simple beats of Dr Dre that the old albums do and lyrically is not as offensive as his older material and when it is it seems like he has tried too hard to do so. Overall, it is not a great album, but minus a few blips such as Seduction and Almost Famous, it is a good album. Expand
  97. Dec 27, 2012
    8
    Even though it's evident that Eminem is still getting back on his feet, his flow is back to normal (which is incredible and unmatched) and his lyrical brilliance is finally exposed. The emotional content is resonant even though the tone inconsistencies are awkward and not smooth in "The Eminem Show" and "MMLP". The bottom line is I can't stop listening to this album repeatedly.
  98. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    My personal favourite from the best rapper that ever lived. low points WTP, Almost Famous and Untitled (I still like the songs but there not as good as the others.) Best songs are On Fire, Not Afraid, Seduction, No Love (my favourite), Space Bound, Cinderella Man, 25 To Life and Love The Way You Lie.
  99. Mar 11, 2013
    3
    This album is but another disappointment, not one of the songs was enjoyable on this. His flow seems strange, he doesn't really rap its just like yelling the entire time with terrible rhymes. Though most would disagree I believe this album is worse than Relapse, I got the impression he wasn't even trying with his lyrics. If your a fan listen to it but you'll be disappointed.
  100. Dec 23, 2012
    9
    eminem doesn't fail to impress with his latest studio album, recovery. im thinking of seeing him at the reading festival next year. and as i always like to say, **** nicki minaj and other mainstream rappers like drake, this is REAL rap!
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 28
  2. Negative: 4 out of 28
  1. No matter how cleverly he's rhyming, which varies, he could use subject matter beyond married-to-the-game and his traditional obsessions. But with Shady in the shadows, rarely are these themes lifted by Em's long-recessive sense of play.
  2. Much of Recovery centers around such themes as romantic devotion and anxiety, but the resulting material rings unsurprisingly hollow.
  3. Sadly, a piecemeal approach to production (Dr Dre has just one credit) leaves the album lacking an abiding mood and drowning in fashionable soft-rock samples.