User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 726 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 78 out of 726

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PeteR
    Jun 26, 2010
    10
    Great album. His best since The Eminem Show. No other rappers out there today can even compare to the lyrical and mic skills of this guy.
  2. Jan 27, 2015
    7
    This is one of Eminem's worst albums, but it is still amazing just like Eminem. You will find plenty of great songs on here. .
  3. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    This is Em's return to form, as 'Recovery' is his strongest album since The Eminem Show. Strong, focused, and truly memorable, 'Recovery' is as moving as any of his previous albums, probalby even more so with the new direction he's taking with this CD. His flow has never been better, and whatever "ring rust" he may have had is now gone, and he is killin' them one by one in 'Recovery'.This is Em's return to form, as 'Recovery' is his strongest album since The Eminem Show. Strong, focused, and truly memorable, 'Recovery' is as moving as any of his previous albums, probalby even more so with the new direction he's taking with this CD. His flow has never been better, and whatever "ring rust" he may have had is now gone, and he is killin' them one by one in 'Recovery'. He won last year for "Best Rap Album" with 'Relapse', so I can only predict that he will undoubtedly win this year as well. Anyways, the album isn't perfect, as some songs such as "Seduction", "W.T.P.", "On Fire", and "So Bad" don't seem to belong in the album. They have a "Relapse" vibe to them, and I think he should have included them in 'Relapse' not here in 'Recovery'. Despite that, the songs are all great, especially "Not Afraid, "Going Through Changes", "Love The Way You Lie", "Talkin' 2 Myself", and "No Love", which really bring this album alive and become instant classics. I really loved this album and I hope Em has something as good as this prepared for the future. Anyways, ignore the pathetic critic score of 62-for they don't know nothing of Rap/Hip-Hop-and buy this CD. This is Rap-and Eminem-at its best. Expand
  4. idrisa
    Jun 28, 2010
    10
    These critics are insane..how could you like drake cd better than this one....eminem delivered on this record i think it is tied for his second best work the eminem show..now this cd is on track to selling 700,000 in its first week out Go em!
  5. JakeSnake
    Jun 28, 2010
    10
    It's interesting how the average review by critics is 61%, while the average review from fans is 92%. Most of the negative reviews I read hardly focused on the album at all, in fact it was painfully obvious that the writer had a personal hatred for Eminem. They didn't talk about the beats, the lyrics, the concept, all they did was throw personal attacks at Eminem and try to say It's interesting how the average review by critics is 61%, while the average review from fans is 92%. Most of the negative reviews I read hardly focused on the album at all, in fact it was painfully obvious that the writer had a personal hatred for Eminem. They didn't talk about the beats, the lyrics, the concept, all they did was throw personal attacks at Eminem and try to say he's irrelevant, that he's a weak parody of what he was in the early 00's, basically a bunch of hate speech toward him as a person. In reality this album is a lyrical masterpiece. Every single verse is incredible, and his flow is better than ever. He spits intricate rhymes with such speed and precision that most rappers probably couldn't even repeat them. Also, he went in a different direction musically. The beats and hooks on this album sound like nothing Eminem has done before, it's very respectable that he is moving forward with his music and NOT trying to re create what he had going on early last decade. I guess the critics trashed this album so much because if you don't like Eminem, you HATE Eminem. He is so famous, he continues to be the best selling artist in the world 11 years after he came out... I mean, his haters must be getting really really sick of it. Unfortunately, writing horrible reviews and personal attacks about him will not make him stop, and seeing as his fans are loving recovery, there is no end in sight for your frustration, sucks doesn't it? Expand
  6. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    This is one awesome album. And no, it's not good as Marshall Matters or Eminem Show or Encore, but I really, really like it. I would pick out 3 fav songs from this album: Not Afraid, Love The Way You Lie (And it will be a hit ! You' ll see) and W.T.P. Go,Em, go !
  7. Nov 6, 2010
    8
    Pretty good and some nice songs in this album. Examples are, ''Not Afraid'', ''Love the way you Lie''.
    Overall, deserves a 8/10 rating for the number of hits it produced and it is one of Em's best albums to date.
  8. NoahD
    Jun 28, 2010
    10
    Eminem has always made it crystal clear that pleasing his critics is the last thing he aims for when applying his trade in the studio. With the majority of the above critiques blasting this album, we begin to understand why he feels this way. It has never been more evident that his fans get what the critics don't. Mike S. said it best: when the critics are left to compare Eminem to Eminem has always made it crystal clear that pleasing his critics is the last thing he aims for when applying his trade in the studio. With the majority of the above critiques blasting this album, we begin to understand why he feels this way. It has never been more evident that his fans get what the critics don't. Mike S. said it best: when the critics are left to compare Eminem to his past self it's obvious he is in another stratosphere altogether. This album cements Em's legacy as the greatest rapper alive. I firmly believe that critics will change their tune years from now and come around to the reality that all of Em's are already aware of. Expand
  9. MattM
    Jun 25, 2010
    10
    Best album since the Mathers LP and one of the best hip hop albums in recent years. Can't remember when the last time I couldn't stop listening to an album over and over again, Great job EM keep up that killer sh*t!!!
  10. GarryV.
    Jun 27, 2010
    10
    One of his best albums to date, just to name a couple of amazing songs including his colaborations with lil wayne, rhianna and Kobe on 'No Love', 'Love the way you lie' and 'Talking to myself'! I think eaisly the best album of the year and going to easily be one of Eminems best ever.
  11. PeyotrS.
    Jun 26, 2010
    9
    What I love about this album, and Eminem in general; is his self-awareness. He realizes his last two albums were shit; he knows he's white trash, and he's never unnerved to admit it. I love his boldness. Sometimes I do resent the fact that he's almost overly vulgar, but it gives it a raw feeling, and he's unabashed by it. The beats and chorus are very "pop" oriented, What I love about this album, and Eminem in general; is his self-awareness. He realizes his last two albums were shit; he knows he's white trash, and he's never unnerved to admit it. I love his boldness. Sometimes I do resent the fact that he's almost overly vulgar, but it gives it a raw feeling, and he's unabashed by it. The beats and chorus are very "pop" oriented, but it doesn't detract at all from his overwhelming talent as an MC. I previously had no interest in Eminem before I'd listened to this album, but I felt a real genuine sense of sentimentality; that's not too overbearing, and a sense of escape from his floundering career that can be described as nothing but inspiring. Expand
  12. F.S.
    Jun 25, 2010
    9
    Been a fan for a while, and I have to admit I was really saddened by Encore, and Relapse to some extent, but this sh@t it great! It is about the same as Eminem Show...beats are good to great, but what really stands out are the lyrics...dude is killing it! I remember when I really loved Snoop off of Doggystyle, but then after that he never rapped the same...not Em, this guy is THE best Been a fan for a while, and I have to admit I was really saddened by Encore, and Relapse to some extent, but this sh@t it great! It is about the same as Eminem Show...beats are good to great, but what really stands out are the lyrics...dude is killing it! I remember when I really loved Snoop off of Doggystyle, but then after that he never rapped the same...not Em, this guy is THE best rapper, no iff's and's or buts! Nobody puts words together like this guy. If Em could get better beats, like from say Black Milk, Premier, etc this guy would be unstoppable! Seriously, if you liked Em's earlier stuff, go buy this now. Expand
  13. MattF.
    Jun 26, 2010
    9
    Critics need to not worry about whether or not it is his best album yet; they need to worry about whether or not it is a good album for the present. I agree with Mike S. they need to stop comparing Eminem to himself and worry about the flow of this album, the beats of this album; not compared to his old flows, beats and lyrics. This critique is of Eminem's new album and only this Critics need to not worry about whether or not it is his best album yet; they need to worry about whether or not it is a good album for the present. I agree with Mike S. they need to stop comparing Eminem to himself and worry about the flow of this album, the beats of this album; not compared to his old flows, beats and lyrics. This critique is of Eminem's new album and only this album and not a review of how well he stacks up against his old flows, beats or lyrics. Expand
  14. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    very good album one of his best along the eminem show and mmlp, i would rank his albums in this order:

    1.The Eminem Show/recovery
    3.The Marshsall Mathers LP
    4.sslp/relapse/encore
  15. Oct 29, 2010
    8
    While it's not Eminem's best, Recovery stands out with Marshall's desire to change. It's called Recovery for a reason, so you can't expect the same man on this album. This is way different from anything else he's ever produced with poppy tracks and mainstream lyrics that aren't as dark or deep as his predecessor Relapse.
  16. Oct 18, 2010
    10
    After listening to this album i was amazed it had funny sides but also serious.Way better than Relapse:Refill album.I thought he did a amazing job.10 years and hes still making hits!
  17. RobY
    Jun 22, 2010
    9
    I'm a lackluster eminem fan, and I typically tend to agree with Pitchfork, but it would seem PF and some of these other critics. His last two releases have been boring and uninspired. Recovery is his answer to those releases and he answers triumphantly. This album will eventually be regarded as one of the best, if not the best, of his career. Don't buy into the negative hype and I'm a lackluster eminem fan, and I typically tend to agree with Pitchfork, but it would seem PF and some of these other critics. His last two releases have been boring and uninspired. Recovery is his answer to those releases and he answers triumphantly. This album will eventually be regarded as one of the best, if not the best, of his career. Don't buy into the negative hype and hegative critical trends. It's not popular to like Eminem among critical circles right now, but this album may well prove his masterpiece. It's that good! Expand
  18. TomS.
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    Truly amazing album. It's his 2nd best behind MMLP for me. There's only one song on this I skip (W.T.P.), the rest are gold. Em is so far ahead of everyone else out there lyrically, it's not even funny. A few guys come close (Black Thought/One Be Lo/Nas), but Em's flow, complex rhyme schemes, and metaphors are second to none.
  19. LollyP
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    All time classic album. I enjoy listening to this more than even the Marshall Mathers LP.
  20. OvaisM.
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    An emotional. album with some genious humor.
  21. MikeS.
    Jun 23, 2010
    10
    Absolutely amazing album. What a come back. I want to shake Eminem's hand and congratulate him for all of his hard work and success. Not since The Eminem Show has rap been so well done. You know there's something wrong in the world when Drake's Thank Me Later album scores almost as well as The Marshall Mather's LP. Screw the critics, they don't know anything about Absolutely amazing album. What a come back. I want to shake Eminem's hand and congratulate him for all of his hard work and success. Not since The Eminem Show has rap been so well done. You know there's something wrong in the world when Drake's Thank Me Later album scores almost as well as The Marshall Mather's LP. Screw the critics, they don't know anything about rap. Eminem is still the king of hip hop and the best at what he does. This album will be another classic to add on to his prestigious list of accomplishments. BUY THIS ALBUM AND SUPPORT ARTISTS WHO DESERVE IT. Expand
  22. MikeG
    Jun 25, 2010
    9
    Sick album. Don't understand what the critics are talking about. He got criticism for shallowness, but he talks about losing his best friend, picking up from his drug struggles, and compares how he felt about hip hop then and now. There is actual meaning behind his lyrics. No clue how drake can get a better rating by complaining about how hard it is to be rich & famous (something Sick album. Don't understand what the critics are talking about. He got criticism for shallowness, but he talks about losing his best friend, picking up from his drug struggles, and compares how he felt about hip hop then and now. There is actual meaning behind his lyrics. No clue how drake can get a better rating by complaining about how hard it is to be rich & famous (something literally none of his listeners can relate to) with mediocre lyrics when eminem actually talks about different authentic problems with incredibly complex rhyme schemes. Excellent album and one of his best. Expand
  23. travisw
    Jun 28, 2010
    10
    This album showed em's lyrical mastery and word play without all the hate he has had in past albums, which I didn't know he would be able to do and still keep the passion. This album gets you fired up in a much different way then his second CD but it still works. I think it is his second best CD after the 2nd one. That one was a classic album. This one is right up their This album showed em's lyrical mastery and word play without all the hate he has had in past albums, which I didn't know he would be able to do and still keep the passion. This album gets you fired up in a much different way then his second CD but it still works. I think it is his second best CD after the 2nd one. That one was a classic album. This one is right up their lyrically but probably not in terms of passion. Anyone who has something to say negative about this album isn't a hip hop fan. They are a trained hater, or no nothing about the art form. This is a great Hip hop CD. Not for the pop fans of Em, but for the people that appreciate his flow Great CD..and talkin' to myself is an all-time classic. Expand
  24. BT
    Jun 28, 2010
    9
    I follow the critics alot...but these reviews make no sense. This is Em at his best....we haven't seen him this good since 2002. Nice work.
  25. mattr
    Jun 28, 2010
    10
    Album of the Year no doubt, and any one who gives this album a bad review is either a major hater or fuckin hip-hop / rap musically challenged!
  26. DRomich
    Jun 28, 2010
    10
    Em's most complete album to date. His sound has matured and he spits hard every verse, every song. Sure, there are 2 or 3 songs that on this CD that sound average; but on any other CD out right now would be in the top 3.
  27. Aug 27, 2010
    10
    Eminem keeps improving his skills in the last couple of years. Relapse was good, but this is PERFECT!
    Certainly one of the best hip-hop albums in the last 5 years.
  28. tst
    Sep 4, 2010
    10
    the best album of the year, the songs are amazing im a normally a very strong critic when it comes to music, because i love it , this is one of eminems best albums

    yours sicerly

    tst
  29. Sep 7, 2010
    9
    This album says only one thing Eminem is back alive and kicking. Em's return has made a big impact on the charts with 2 singles already reaching the top 10 in the UK charts with Love the Way You Lie reaching number 1 for 1 week, this album is the best Eminem album ive ever listened to by far. Good work Marshall.
  30. Oct 7, 2010
    9
    Relapse and Encore were not worth downloading illegally. And I'm being kind. Recovery is just that -- a return to what made me listen to Eminem in the first place. He's angry, he's rhyming every other word in his sentences, and he doesn't sound like making fun of some imaginary ethnicity with a faked accent. There are a couple songs I don't like, but the 12/17 songs I do like total aboutRelapse and Encore were not worth downloading illegally. And I'm being kind. Recovery is just that -- a return to what made me listen to Eminem in the first place. He's angry, he's rhyming every other word in his sentences, and he doesn't sound like making fun of some imaginary ethnicity with a faked accent. There are a couple songs I don't like, but the 12/17 songs I do like total about 54 minutes, which is more than most full-length albums today anyway, so no complaints from me. I wouldn't call them "filler tracks," they're just not my thing ("WTP" is a good example... it's not bad; I just don't dance at clubs and thus don't care). He also innovates a lot. I rarely see any rap songs in 3/4, and even less that change time signatures, even if it is just a sampled chorus. Great commercial potential, doesn't get old after many listens, unique beat patterns ("Almost Famous," for sure), and considerably less misogyny and homophobia -- with just enough remaining to retain his critic-aimed raised middle finger. 9/10 -- truly excellent, but not perfect. Expand
  31. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    This album is the most anticipated album of 2010. Eminem is back, bigger, better and stronger. Reocvery holds the most whitty, funny and moving lyrics, ever made by Eminem. The choruses for the songs are fantastic, they have a light pop style in them which makes them catchy. Hip-hop and I are proud to say, Eminem, is the greatest rapper alive.
  32. Nov 25, 2010
    8
    One of the greatest albums of 2010. This album is very good but it can't beat The Slim Shady LP or The Marshall Mathers LP and The Eminem Show. Great!
  33. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    It's of course not Em's best album and it's far from the level of the Marshall Mathers LP or the Slim Shady LP. However Eminem gets credit for putting one of his best album since the Eminem Show and still being, after more than 10 years of career, one of the best out there.
  34. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    The best eminem album yet. Tons of classic beats and lyrics. Also, many people featured in his songs are perfectly integrated to keep the eminem feel, while still giving their own individual touch.
  35. Apr 8, 2012
    8
    I know its hard for a lot of people to admit it but Eminem is still one of the best in the game. Anyone noticed his albums have come in pairs? Slim Shady lp with Marshall Mathers lp, contrasting his multiple personas. The Eminem Show and Encore, The eminem show is one of the best rap albums ever (in my opinion) and after that em said f*ck it, started doin a lot more drugs and we get halfI know its hard for a lot of people to admit it but Eminem is still one of the best in the game. Anyone noticed his albums have come in pairs? Slim Shady lp with Marshall Mathers lp, contrasting his multiple personas. The Eminem Show and Encore, The eminem show is one of the best rap albums ever (in my opinion) and after that em said f*ck it, started doin a lot more drugs and we get half on point/half zany Encore (which is still better than the majority of rap releases but em's worst album). Finally 5 years later we get Relapse and Recovery. Relapse was brilliantly insane and given the events in em's life Recovery was the obvious next album. The complete opposite of relapse, this album is him going through the 12 steps, just getting everything out of him. This is not the Eminem I prefer but i think it was very necessary plus he is still a lyrical powerhouse and a constant flow machine. Not many artists can pull off one of these albums, let alone 6. Eminem is truly one of the best artists to ever touch a microphone. Expand
  36. Feb 23, 2012
    8
    Eminem attempted to make a comeback after Relapse (Which I Think Is better Than Recovery). It was a great comeback he performed with 2 #1 hits and a seven week #1 album run. But for me it was an Aight album. I really love this album but i would take Relapse Over Recovery Any day of the Year.
  37. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Stunning...the best album since maybe The Eminem show. And I'm not just talking Eminem.....

    Can't match the IMPACT of MMLP1 (you can't be the first man on the moon ever since Neil Armstrong went there) but in terms of this man's genius this could be #1.
  38. MikeL
    Jun 22, 2010
    5
    This is a pretty mediocre album. Em's lyrics are definitely there, but the production is pretty bad, and his singing voice gets annoying after a while. I'd say it's still better than relapse, but it does not even compare to the eminem show or the marshall mathers LP.
  39. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    Em should have hung up his hat a long time ago.

    He isn't a rapper anymore, he's a pop star.

    This album was the first of his that I have to say I will never recommend to anyone, ever.
  40. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    So Eminem's Recovery has a lower score than Lil Wayne's I am not a human being. That shows how much common sense critics lack. Look Lil Wayne would only talk about his status, money, how much lady he gets, smoking weed, and how much powerful he is. Yes I have to admit that Recovery isn't a perfect album but still it's worthy of a 10/10. I was pretty surprised when this album came out... itSo Eminem's Recovery has a lower score than Lil Wayne's I am not a human being. That shows how much common sense critics lack. Look Lil Wayne would only talk about his status, money, how much lady he gets, smoking weed, and how much powerful he is. Yes I have to admit that Recovery isn't a perfect album but still it's worthy of a 10/10. I was pretty surprised when this album came out... it was like Eminem hitting his 2nd puberty. His voice has gone a little deeper and he has gone more mature. Before recovery Eminem was dissing rappers off, but now hes encouraging rappers to keep it up (Talking to My Self). The beats are Ok i would say, but I care more about the lyrics than the beats and that is why im giving a 10/10. Expand
  41. IvanB.
    Jun 22, 2010
    4
    Disappointing really... It seems he's so eager to prove he's a bad ass he just rages across the whole album. The thing about rage is that it gets old after a while. If you listen to his earlier albums he's got a good combination of comedy, light hearted songs, just plain silly songs, and then the serious raging songs... it's what makes them great, you get to experience Disappointing really... It seems he's so eager to prove he's a bad ass he just rages across the whole album. The thing about rage is that it gets old after a while. If you listen to his earlier albums he's got a good combination of comedy, light hearted songs, just plain silly songs, and then the serious raging songs... it's what makes them great, you get to experience different beats and dynamics... this album is all serious and rage with some below average love songs sprinkled in it. You get tired of listening to Eminem scream and growl his way through the album... after a while you just dont feel it... feels empty and almost like he's just gliding through the convoluted beats. Some of the tracks you have to listen really hard to understand what he's saying because the beat is overwhelming his voice, that is not EM's style... the em we all know and love thrives on simple beats, perfect enunciation, and clear rapping. Expand
  42. Aug 31, 2010
    4
    This is Just not a good album really yes if he's not screaming he's cussing I've heard worse though his verses are good but it seems his beats are repetitive and he tries to hard to tell make himself seem as innocent we all want to hear your story but tell it raw but with less screaming and cussing and less pop and rap and more REAL
  43. Dec 25, 2011
    4
    I haven't been such a big fan of Eminem or Rap in general for a long time know but when I heard this, I honestly lost a lot of respect for him, jesus this is awful this is going to spawn a fan base that obviously isn't familiar with his earlier and much better work that was very much a fan of but all that is now lost in this latest album.
  44. Dec 13, 2011
    0
    This truly might be one of the worst albums I have ever heard. I understand that people used to like Eminem when he was considered edgy, but he has turned into nothing but awful. I have never heard anybody complain more in my life than this guy. I would be alright with it if some form of wordplay existed in his albums, but that is not even present. I guess I would not mind the lack ofThis truly might be one of the worst albums I have ever heard. I understand that people used to like Eminem when he was considered edgy, but he has turned into nothing but awful. I have never heard anybody complain more in my life than this guy. I would be alright with it if some form of wordplay existed in his albums, but that is not even present. I guess I would not mind the lack of wordplay if he was able to hold a thought for more than two lines. At no point does he tell a story throughout the entire album. He simply raps for two lines about someone who wronged him in some stupid way, and then moves on to the next person who made him a "victim" in some way. Expand
  45. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    Dark and twisted, yet heartfelt and passionate, this is Eminem's best release. It burns with emotion, and really cuts to your core.
  46. DavidN
    Jun 23, 2010
    2
    An obvious attempt to get the pop fans back on side. The promotion behind this album is mecca. The content is typical: MM whining about everything then denying it, all to the sound of dreary, looping beats. I want to be impressed, not shocked.
  47. ScottD
    Jun 28, 2010
    5
    I feel like a lot of people giving this album a 10 must have been listening to something else. When I listened to it the first time I literally found one song I liked. On a second and third listen I found a few additional songs to be pretty decent, but over all the CD felt uninspired, drab, and incredibly boring. I listen to Eminem for his fast beats, hard hitting rhymes, and inspired I feel like a lot of people giving this album a 10 must have been listening to something else. When I listened to it the first time I literally found one song I liked. On a second and third listen I found a few additional songs to be pretty decent, but over all the CD felt uninspired, drab, and incredibly boring. I listen to Eminem for his fast beats, hard hitting rhymes, and inspired music. This album featured basically none of that. I'm not sure ho heavy Dre was involved in the production, but the album felt completely without the soul his typical productions have. Maybe what makes Eminem so great is his ability to communicate with an enormous audience through his varying styles. Personally, I didn't really love Relapse, but Recovery was far worse than his last CD. Expand
  48. Jun 10, 2011
    3
    The people who give this album a high rating do not know the true Eminem-The Real Slim Shady. The once controversial and trashy rapper who everyone loved to hate has turned into America's sweetheart. His flow is still there, the amount of syllables he can fit in a bar is still amazing, but his "maturity" is nothing more than an act to gain approval from the contemporaries. I understand asThe people who give this album a high rating do not know the true Eminem-The Real Slim Shady. The once controversial and trashy rapper who everyone loved to hate has turned into America's sweetheart. His flow is still there, the amount of syllables he can fit in a bar is still amazing, but his "maturity" is nothing more than an act to gain approval from the contemporaries. I understand as an artist one must grow, but it's past Eminem's prime. He's a man who has been down "that road", and he exclaims his redemption in this album. I praise Eminem for his growth as a human being, but I think it's time for him to put down the mic. Expand
  49. CalebR.
    Jun 23, 2010
    1
    His rapping sounds extremely forced. His flow is no longer 'fluid.' The choruses are incredibly cheesy/cliche/corny. He needs to stop singing. This is the public's perception of rap. This is far from authentic rap - this is more pop music then rap - but the masses will end up thinking this is rap because they are uninformed/don't really know much about music in His rapping sounds extremely forced. His flow is no longer 'fluid.' The choruses are incredibly cheesy/cliche/corny. He needs to stop singing. This is the public's perception of rap. This is far from authentic rap - this is more pop music then rap - but the masses will end up thinking this is rap because they are uninformed/don't really know much about music in general. This is a corporate product made to make 'mad bank' ect. Expand
  50. BenD.
    Jun 22, 2010
    0
    If he was black, no one would listen.
  51. DanJ.
    Jun 22, 2010
    2
    Sloppy, self-indulgent, incoherent garbage; so far away from a return to form it makes me want to cry.
  52. RezJ
    Jun 28, 2010
    1
    What just happened to his music? there's only one track that you can listen and it's his collaboration with Rihanna. the one hi did with P!nk is the worst track ever but i really wanted more from Eminem. they kinda know him as "King of Rap" but "Recovery" can ruin his career.
  53. JamesK
    Jun 23, 2010
    0
    Honestly, Eminem has once again succeeded in making me embarrassed to listen to hip-hop. His lyrics are filled with hate and shame that he has no reason to have. Seeing the user score for this album makes me disgusted as well. Has the real hip-hop really died?
  54. Nov 4, 2013
    0
    Overated as getting good ratings beacuse he is white. He can't rap for Stop illeagaly downloaing his albums and get Kanye West's, as he is the best.
  55. JohnJ.
    Jun 22, 2010
    9
    Em has matured, I really enjoyed his old stuff, and I believe this album shows that he still has it, and his new style still has mainstream appeal. I believe the next album will be even closer to MMLP/SSLP style work. This album accurately reflected his experiences over the past few years, and critics don't seem to appreciate it. Most believe 25 to life is about Kim LOL. Great album, Em has matured, I really enjoyed his old stuff, and I believe this album shows that he still has it, and his new style still has mainstream appeal. I believe the next album will be even closer to MMLP/SSLP style work. This album accurately reflected his experiences over the past few years, and critics don't seem to appreciate it. Most believe 25 to life is about Kim LOL. Great album, his third best in my opinion, maybe fourth. The next one will be even better I hope. Production seems a bit loose, but lyrics are tight as ever, 9. Expand
  56. MarkK.
    Jun 22, 2010
    8
    Despite the criticism above, I was actually really surprised by the album. Definitely better than the 'Relapse' album released in 2009. Whilst 'Relapse' contained only 1 or 2 songs I liked (mainly because of the resemblence with older songs), 'Recovery' brought me 6 to 7 songs that got me back into the old-school Eminem-vibe. I understand that he barely says Despite the criticism above, I was actually really surprised by the album. Definitely better than the 'Relapse' album released in 2009. Whilst 'Relapse' contained only 1 or 2 songs I liked (mainly because of the resemblence with older songs), 'Recovery' brought me 6 to 7 songs that got me back into the old-school Eminem-vibe. I understand that he barely says anything he hasn't said already on his previous albums, but that's honestly the only lyrics I want to hear coming from his mouth. It's a shame that the beats on some of the tracks are a bit messy. Overall though, an awesome follow-up to Eminem's older work with the same amount of energy and lyrical wordplay. Expand
  57. WillO
    Jun 22, 2010
    8
    Great album, much better than Relapse and Encore. That's one thing that automatically turns me away from the critics. On metacritic, both Encore and Relapse have higher ratings than Recovery somehow. Encore was his worst album by far and it got a 64? Really. Well this album has Eminem showing the skill he has. No one can match him lyrically. His flow, metaphors, everything is miles Great album, much better than Relapse and Encore. That's one thing that automatically turns me away from the critics. On metacritic, both Encore and Relapse have higher ratings than Recovery somehow. Encore was his worst album by far and it got a 64? Really. Well this album has Eminem showing the skill he has. No one can match him lyrically. His flow, metaphors, everything is miles ahead of most artists. G.O.A.T. Expand
  58. ChrisD.
    Jun 22, 2010
    8
    Not quite up there with the Eminem show, his best album, but much closer than his last two albums.
  59. BenW
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    Amazing album, any critic that tells you different is just dissing it to get attention. I've been a long time fan, this is some of his BEST WORK! my only complaint is that So Bad did not fit in with the rest of the album, it was probably originally slated for the album back when it was called Relapse 2, because it definitely felt more like a Relapse song, but this could've been Amazing album, any critic that tells you different is just dissing it to get attention. I've been a long time fan, this is some of his BEST WORK! my only complaint is that So Bad did not fit in with the rest of the album, it was probably originally slated for the album back when it was called Relapse 2, because it definitely felt more like a Relapse song, but this could've been the only Dre Produced song he had available that he could fit closest with the album. So Bad is still a great song don't get me wrong tho! 25 to Life is probably my favorite song on the album. Expand
  60. ChrisW.
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    Amazing album, very clever to use himself as a mirror for the world.
  61. Edwin
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    Umm...why is the Entertainment Weekly score an 8.3 if it indicates a B+ on the review? Wouldn't that be more like an 8.7-8.9?
  62. TJP.
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    Awesome album. Keep up the good work EM!
  63. DésiréeM.
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    I had high hopes for Eminem's newest album. And he surpassed them. For preparation I whipped out all his old albums (luckily all digital) and wallowed in an infinite Eminem overdose. At the same time i got into his newer collab projects with Lil Wayne or Drake to get prepared for the newer sounds. And Recovery was right what I wanted. I wanted the dirty, seductive Marshal, I wanted I had high hopes for Eminem's newest album. And he surpassed them. For preparation I whipped out all his old albums (luckily all digital) and wallowed in an infinite Eminem overdose. At the same time i got into his newer collab projects with Lil Wayne or Drake to get prepared for the newer sounds. And Recovery was right what I wanted. I wanted the dirty, seductive Marshal, I wanted the cocky Em and the spittin' Shady. And I got it all and more! There is a new side. I don't have a name for it yet, but it is the honesty and bravery that got me most in this album. I *love* the new rocky guitar and drum sounds, I like the grittiness, I like the female and male hooks (Kobe Honeycutt aka Kokilla on 'Talkin' 2 Myself'') and unusual paths he walks ('Cinderella Man'). I am endlessly pleased with this album. I haven't bought a CD in a long time, but this was so worth it. Expand
  64. WR
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    Hands down Eminem's most lyrical album. From the content to the punchlines, everything in this album is hands down thought provoking, interesting to listen to, and emotional, at the right times.
  65. LeonardS.
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    This is a great album. One of the best albums to come out in a long while. Judging by the way I love it more the more I listen to it, I think in two years it might be considered a classic. I'm sure it's going to break some records. Definitely up there with Eminem Show and Marshall Mathers LP! Will take a couple of listens before you get every line, punchline, metaphor, crazy This is a great album. One of the best albums to come out in a long while. Judging by the way I love it more the more I listen to it, I think in two years it might be considered a classic. I'm sure it's going to break some records. Definitely up there with Eminem Show and Marshall Mathers LP! Will take a couple of listens before you get every line, punchline, metaphor, crazy rhyme. And be ware, he uses the word "antidisestablishmentarianism" in one of the song. Amazing. The emotion is back. The witty lines are back. In fact, Eminem is back! It will definitely win Rap Album of the Year, probably Album of the Year, at the Grammies! Expand
  66. GieunC.
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    A superior delivery in all technical categories as well as subject matter that is much more captivating than his previous two releases. These critics reviews actually have me baffled, as to rate this lower than Encore or Relapse, with material that is (arguably) superior to The Eminem Show is simply hipocritical. One of the greatest emcees of the twentieth century has won back a fan.
  67. ryans.
    Jun 23, 2010
    10
    This has to be My favorite album from Eminem. This entire album exceeds Relapse in every way. Amazing, keep it up Em.
  68. KelK
    Jun 23, 2010
    6
    Best I've heard from Em in a while, but the overall sound is a been there done that. Still I would suggest a giving the record a listen.
  69. BrianB
    Jun 23, 2010
    10
    HE IS BACK. the metacritics dont know or understand, they are stuck in their addictons, But Eminem surpassed his addictions and thus he is way above these critical freaks of nature. Em i get you man, get it up bro its a daily battle to remain real in the midst of all these talkers.
  70. MichaelB
    Jun 23, 2010
    9
    Don't listen to the critics, especially not jayson greene at pitchfork, this album is one of the better albums I've heard in the past couple years, certainly eminem's best since the eminem show.
  71. AdamD
    Jun 23, 2010
    10
    His best in years. Right behind The Marshall Mather's LP and The Eminem Show in terms of quality.
  72. HogHead
    Jun 23, 2010
    10
    This was a thoroughly entertaining album from start-to-finish. I guarantee that critics will eventually realize this for the classic it is, but as with The Marshall Mathers LP, its genius will take its time to be recognized. Packed with humourous, witty lines (So Bad, W.T.P.), combined with crazy lyrical firebombs (Almost Famous, No Love) and introspective, heartfelt tracks (Going Through This was a thoroughly entertaining album from start-to-finish. I guarantee that critics will eventually realize this for the classic it is, but as with The Marshall Mathers LP, its genius will take its time to be recognized. Packed with humourous, witty lines (So Bad, W.T.P.), combined with crazy lyrical firebombs (Almost Famous, No Love) and introspective, heartfelt tracks (Going Through Changes, You're Never Over), Recovery is a brilliant addition to Eminem's catalogue that comes across as a mature Eminem Show 2. Great stuff, Marshall. You're 'On Fire'. Expand
  73. AJ
    Jun 23, 2010
    9
    A near perfect album, his best in years. At first I wasn't impressed, but now I love it more every time I listen to it.
  74. gurjb
    Jun 23, 2010
    9
    Not the biggest eminem fan but i can fully understand why this is being labelled a classic. His lyrical ability can stimulate the imagination and one song to the next on this recovery album sees the listener indulge in a vast array of emotions and the music also allows relation to eminems music especially 'Love the way you lie' its a great album but one downpoint is instead of Not the biggest eminem fan but i can fully understand why this is being labelled a classic. His lyrical ability can stimulate the imagination and one song to the next on this recovery album sees the listener indulge in a vast array of emotions and the music also allows relation to eminems music especially 'Love the way you lie' its a great album but one downpoint is instead of passion on many tracks of the album it tilts to aggression which deters its effect,but never the less a great rap album for 2010 and with eminems and drakes albums both getting great approval it shows how much hip hop has grown with two completely different albums but both great and both hip hop. Collapse
  75. HumayunM
    Jun 24, 2010
    10
    Probably one of the best album that he has came out with. The Critics need to realize that he is getting old and he will not rap about his hate for Moby.
  76. kb9h2opolo
    Jun 24, 2010
    9
    Awesome except for a few tracks "meh" songs --> no love, your never over, seduction, wtp and talkin to myself... Awesome tracks--> love the way you lie, almost famous, cinderella man, space bound, cold wind blows, 25 to life, wont back down Good not great--> not afraid, going through changes, so bad, the bonus track and on fire.
  77. JDDubbleya
    Jun 26, 2010
    9
    Great album. Wordplay and lyricism is by far at the top of the game, and possibly top of his game. The content vaires from what were used to from Em, but he has been through a lot and he has matured and come out on the other side. Generally good production but not great. The production of the album is in my mind what makes it a 9 and not a 10.
  78. triagemc
    Jun 26, 2010
    10
    Not one of these critics would know a hot verse or a sick metaphor if it slapped their wife...u want radio hits and 'fun' turn on the radio. you want to set ur speakers on fire listen to em's recovery...an album for rappers. any true emcee is mindblown by this album. not one track on here that doesnt have at least a couple lines that just make you look at your boys and say Not one of these critics would know a hot verse or a sick metaphor if it slapped their wife...u want radio hits and 'fun' turn on the radio. you want to set ur speakers on fire listen to em's recovery...an album for rappers. any true emcee is mindblown by this album. not one track on here that doesnt have at least a couple lines that just make you look at your boys and say are you SERIOUS?? ems #1 in the game and everbody gotta step it up if they wanna stay wit im. proud to call myself a lifeling shady fan after this one. Expand
  79. YianniH.
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    Eminem successfully recovers. Great album. Tied for his third best ever. The critics are very wrong on trashing such a brilliant album. THE BEST: No Love, Space Bound, Almost Famous, Talkin 2 Myself THE WORST: W.T.P
  80. AndrewS
    Jun 22, 2010
    9
    Near perfection, return to the top, modern, great beats and samples, new producers, current flavour, a true classic.
  81. GreggK.
    Jun 22, 2010
    9
    Much better than last CD. Tight rhymes and hooks. Nice flowin Em.
  82. ColinH
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    This album is sick. His best in years. Everyone who hates on it just can't accept the fact that Em is now in his mid 30s and no longer feels the need to rap like he did when he was in his mid 20s. His music and his disposition is maturing and I believe its for the better. Keep it going Shady.
  83. OvaisM
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    His most emotional and serious album and this is the eminem I prefer.
  84. JasonA
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    Amazing album, it's so nice to get something completely different yet remarkably familiar. Very impressed, eminem is back in true form.
  85. PeterL
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    This is his best album since The Eminem Show. Eminem remains at the top of his game showing off his incredible lyricism and how he is untouchable on a mic with this album. His last album was mediocre, but still blew away most of what hip hop released in the past year. This album solidifies his place as a legend in hip hop. A+!
  86. MattD
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    I have no frickin idea how the hell this got such a low score. This ,as well as all of em's other albums, was an amazing album where he expresses his passion for loving the game and his love for his kids and the loss of his best friend as well as the usual ima f*****g kill you attitude on a few of the songs but his clean and sober return has been a great one, and haters should just I have no frickin idea how the hell this got such a low score. This ,as well as all of em's other albums, was an amazing album where he expresses his passion for loving the game and his love for his kids and the loss of his best friend as well as the usual ima f*****g kill you attitude on a few of the songs but his clean and sober return has been a great one, and haters should just stop hating on him just because he speaks his mind. Expand
  87. JakeA.
    Jun 22, 2010
    9
    The majority of negative reviews for this album seem to be production based. I like that the lyrics seem to be the central thesis on this album. I guess if kanye produced this people would have been freaking out. much better than his last two.
  88. JosueR.
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    This is definitely one of Eminem's best albums. Relapse, to me, was actually really good. Though, I saw so many flaws in his last record, you can barely spot any on this one. Some flaws include, producers weren't as strong on some songs, but other than that this album is near perfect. Eminem shows that his lyrical voice is still there. He showcases his abilities more than his This is definitely one of Eminem's best albums. Relapse, to me, was actually really good. Though, I saw so many flaws in his last record, you can barely spot any on this one. Some flaws include, producers weren't as strong on some songs, but other than that this album is near perfect. Eminem shows that his lyrical voice is still there. He showcases his abilities more than his past two albums. It's great to have him back. He's sober, but angry and hungry to take the rap game back. Welcome back Slim, you deserve to be titled "The Greatest Rapper Alive" Not only did he go out and experiment with different styles, he succeeds. He reaches out with his emotional lyrics. He's more mature and is still strong. I disagree with Slant Magazine and Pitchfork since they even gave the Marshall Mathers LP low scores. It's sad, but Eminem doesn't care about critics, he care about his fans that'll never get tired of him. Expand
  89. DavidM.
    Jun 22, 2010
    9
    All in all lives up to the hype, now with the bonus tracks (actually very very dope indeed and not just fillers) it's a pretty amazing album!
  90. JohnS.
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    An incredible album that gives an unprecedented look into the mind of one of the greatest rappers out there.
  91. ollys
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    Completely blew me away. I'm not even that huge a fan up to this point, but I gave this one a few listens and it's mind boggling how good it is. It might sound odd but this is in my top 5 of the year, along with Janelle Monae, High Violet, American Slang and Teen Dream by Beach House. What an odd top 5 of this year to date, but that's mine.
  92. HansS
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    Eminem is back. This is album is in par with The Eminem Show. This is coming from someone who despised Encore and Relapse. The critics are just haters, half of them wouldn't appreciate good rap if Jesus delivered it himself. I AM SO HAPPY WITH THIS ALBUM!!!!
  93. NickR.
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    This album joins the Slim Shady LP and The Marshall Mathers LP as Classic Rap Albums.
  94. ZachQ.
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    I still don't understand the low scores the so-called "critics" gave this. This album covers so many different subject matters and brings together elements of vintage Eminem that we saw during his SSLP, MMLP, and TES era. We have the songs that are for demonstration of his ability to incorporate complex rhyme schemes and syllables in his deliver (Cold Wind Blows, On Fire, So Bad, I still don't understand the low scores the so-called "critics" gave this. This album covers so many different subject matters and brings together elements of vintage Eminem that we saw during his SSLP, MMLP, and TES era. We have the songs that are for demonstration of his ability to incorporate complex rhyme schemes and syllables in his deliver (Cold Wind Blows, On Fire, So Bad, Untitled, No Love), songs about his drug addiction and rock bottom state of internal combustion (Talkin 2 Myself, Going Through Changes, Space Bound), songs that exemplify his comeback and return to strength and clarity (Not Afraid, Cinderella Man, Won't Back Down), his distraught relationship with hip-hop (25 to Life), of course the track with Rihanna which is a story about a destructive relationship where the narrator is a spouse abuser (Love the Way You Lie) and finally the dedication track to his fallen friend Proof (You're Never Over). The only weak track is W.T.P. which basically just pays homage to his white trash roots and can't be penalized for that. He pays appropriate attention to all subjects that are relevant not just to Eminem himself but his fans as well. His rhyme schemes and delivery on his flow is nearly flawless. Line-for-line is nearly perfect minus a VERY few number of sub-par lines (which in today's state of rap you're more likely to fit the tolerable lines of your average rap album on one hand). Even the songs that deal with the same subject matter take a vastly different scope. Take the drug addiction songs for instance: Going Through Changes deals with his rock bottom state and how quickly he spiraled out of control following one tragedy after another, ending with his post-addiction state where he reaches clarity as a person. Talkin 2 Myself is a reflective piece where he addresses how he was filled with jealousy and envy and the faults and failures of his previous albums. Space Bound is a creative track where the first two verses he speaks to his addiction/drug as if it were a real person with the final verse replying to Em as a real person upon his decision to get clean. Think of it as a psychedelic version of "Stan". Three sons on the same subject each taking on different scopes. The production may not be vintage Eminem but for the subject matter it is appropriate. This is not the same Em from SSLP or MMLP because his state of mind is different so the atmosphere of the album needs to be equal to that and retain it. Low scorers missed the point completely just as they did nearly ten years ago when MMLP received some of the same scoring only for them to come back and call it a classic. Expand
  95. JoeS.
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    This, in my mind, is the most honest and solid Eminem album he has released.
  96. MarkF.
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    This album is pure hip hop. wasnt made for the critics, but the fans and he pulled through.
  97. LiamR.
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    Amazing... Maybe the best album ever?? Do yourself a favor if you still love true hip-hop buy it!!
  98. TrentL
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    This album is awesome; best album of the year so far and one of his best album I give this album a 9.5/10 . all the songs are awesome. some critics understand that this album is really good.
  99. JaredY.
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    One of Em's best albums, definitely better than relapse. One of my personal all time favorites.
  100. BlazeM.
    Jun 22, 2010
    9
    Very good album. It's not often that 8 or so songs off one album make it to my ipod. There are some songs that don't capture my attention quite as well, but the overall experience is fairly strong due to: Going Through Changes, Seduction, Space Bound, Cinderella Man, 25 to Life, Almost Famous, Love the Way You Lie, and Untitled.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 28
  2. Negative: 4 out of 28
  1. No matter how cleverly he's rhyming, which varies, he could use subject matter beyond married-to-the-game and his traditional obsessions. But with Shady in the shadows, rarely are these themes lifted by Em's long-recessive sense of play.
  2. Much of Recovery centers around such themes as romantic devotion and anxiety, but the resulting material rings unsurprisingly hollow.
  3. Sadly, a piecemeal approach to production (Dr Dre has just one credit) leaves the album lacking an abiding mood and drowning in fashionable soft-rock samples.