Red Dirt Girl

  • Record Label: Nonesuch
  • Release Date: Sep 12, 2000
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DavidS
    Oct 10, 2001
    9
    I've never been a country fan, but I bought this on a whim (something whispered to me in the record shop) having never heard any EmmyLou before: since then I've been completely transfixed by the tracks on this album. At times the music rocks, but nevertheless always seems to be sad, slow, and dreamy: she slides from verse to verse and with each breath brings me closer to crying. I've never been a country fan, but I bought this on a whim (something whispered to me in the record shop) having never heard any EmmyLou before: since then I've been completely transfixed by the tracks on this album. At times the music rocks, but nevertheless always seems to be sad, slow, and dreamy: she slides from verse to verse and with each breath brings me closer to crying. I *hate* listening to this album when I'm sad, but do so anyway: each time it's like a decent into a wonderful, dark, warm, mossy depression. Buy it! Expand
  2. JimP
    Jan 10, 2004
    9
    Pretty good album. The *pre-quel* to STUMBLE INTO GRACE. Since RDG won the Grammy, I would expect SIG to effectively challenge too.
  3. AldenT.
    Nov 2, 2001
    9
    EH at her very best. The songs are personal and focused. As a "farm boy" who is now a "city slicker" I find in it music that really speaks to me
  4. TimothyF
    Jul 8, 2005
    9
    genuinely sing-a-longable and a deep reaching sincerity in her delivery of the lyrics. the sure and easy phrasing of each song unites the album musically, while the wistful, down-home text ties the album together thematically.
  5. JimC.
    Jul 24, 2001
    10
    This is classic Emmy Lou!
  6. JPosey
    Aug 11, 2001
    10
    Almost perfect. Emmylou is the world's greatest songwriter.
  7. MatthewC.
    Aug 18, 2001
    10
    One of the most extraordinary albums I've ever heard. Superior to any Nashville product. Emmylou Harris is the most valuable artist in music today!
  8. raVen
    Apr 17, 2004
    8
    Good album. Worth buying for the title song alone, but others like "My Antonia" w/Matthews will keep it spinning in your player.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Five years ago she collaborated with Brian Eno and U2 producer Daniel Lanois on the ambient Wrecking Ball. Now she returns with a less intense but no less powerful new record that continues that album's heavy/ethereal vibe, courtesy of producer (and Wrecking Ball engineer) Malcolm Burn, but with a more melodic touch.
  2. Harris is making music that stands with -- and perhaps eclipses -- her most well-regarded work.
  3. Alternately sparse and lush, Red Dirt Girl can be seen as a companion piece to 1995's Wrecking Ball... The diverse production only adds to Harris' earthy songwriting, adding interest to what could otherwise be lulls during the more subdued songs, and really showcases the understated lyrics that the singer has slowly become recognized for.