Red Gone Wild: Thee Album

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Mar 27, 2007
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 1 out of 14

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HexumS
    Jun 20, 2007
    10
    Whoa! Hip-hop! Actual hip-hop!
  2. Edward
    Jun 1, 2007
    10
    Awesome album by tha Doc. Redman, nigga you still poppin' of tha phunky shit. Dope front Cover 2. Its Krazy totally. Beatz are awesome, lyrical content is awesome as I expect from him. easily a contender for best rap album of 2007
  3. MichaelF
    Apr 19, 2007
    10
    This album is absolute INSANITY. For Pitchfork to give this album a 55 just shows how little they know about Hip Hop music. This album is excellent, and some of Redmans best work to date. Funk Doc is as fresh as ever.
  4. SoT
    Jun 3, 2007
    10
    Wowwwww!! That's what i said when i heard "red gone wild" the first time!! And even the second!! Seriously, this album is a piece of museum!! I got a weekness on "merry jane" and all rockwilder's productions but th whole album is awesome!! the level is as high as him...
  5. AdamS
    Apr 16, 2007
    10
    RedMan rocks... It is nice to here real rap again with real beats and samples insteed of all this fake ass down south BS rap latley
  6. CalvinT
    Aug 13, 2007
    10
    This is one of the best rap albums I have heard this year, Red puts it down on this cd, for it to recieve anything lower than an 80 rating is absurd.
  7. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    This album is amazing i love it, he needs more music like this. This album is is funny and amazing lyrical, redman did great, haha gillia house is retarted haha
  8. May 8, 2015
    9
    Redman is on fire on the album, as good as in his 90's prime. He delivers funny and clever rhymes and the old school beats are just perfect. Redman fans will really enjoy this LP, but if you are hoping for changes and freshness on his approach, you'll be disappointed, it is just like his old albums.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. As big and as diverse as the guest list is, the album hangs and flows effortlessly.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    He's in fine form, spitting a string of mishievously witty quotables over grimy old-school samples. [30 Mar 2007, p.71]
  3. This latest LP is manna for rap purists.