R.E.D. - Ne-Yo
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Nov 7, 2012
    50
    The highlights are all casual, subtle, finely detailed midtempo numbers and slow jams. What's truly disappointing is the absence of energetic songs descended from soul and funk.
  2. Nov 6, 2012
    80
    Ultimately, it's the love songs that make the biggest impression on this nicely balanced disc.
  3. 91
    The rawer lyrics showcase a man who's maturing without making a fuss about it.
  4. Nov 19, 2012
    70
    Overall R.E.D. is concise and beautifully simple, making it one of this year's smoothest R&B albums.
  5. 63
    You get some of that [back to basics feel] from the first two songs on R.E.D., both of which Ne-Yo co-wrote with Shea Taylor, who also produced.... After that, though, R.E.D. doesn't really stick to the idea of less is more.
  6. Nov 16, 2012
    50
    As peers like Frank Ocean and Miguel boldly reimagine commercial R&B, this often feels less like vision than parsing market research.
  7. Nov 6, 2012
    60
    R.E.D. won't reassure those who accuse him of drifting away from R&B to make a quick pop buck.
  8. 80
    What's striking about R.E.D. are Ne-Yo's subtle but notable stylistic departures.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Nov 7, 2012
    8
    This album is an intriguing case but overall it's one I personally enjoy. For Ne-Yo it demonstrates two things. The first is his diversity as an artist. This album features various stylistic departures from his tried and true smooth RnB. From the dynamic upbeat pop tracks like Let Me Love You and Let's Go, to the RnB/country hybrid She Is ft Tim McGraw. This isn't to say that there aren't those classic RnB tracks and ballads us Ne-Yo loves have grown attached to. Tracks like Cracks in Mr Perfect, Lazy Love, Stress Reliever and Jealous are prime examples of that. The second is how he has matured as both an artist and a person. For example the first song, Cracks in Mr Perfect, is all about him acknowledging his personal flaws and as it winds down towards the end it becomes about self acceptance. As for the vocals, Ne-Yo sounds as silky smooth as ever. Particularly on the slower paced tracks. He makes it sound rather effortless at points. There is one critique I do have with the album though, and it's that it can feel a little inconsistent. He's tried so many things and shown off his diversity, but as a result the album doesn't quite define itself particularly well. This is something that will definitely both a good few people and may alienate them from considering buying the album, but I personally don't find it to be a big deal in the long term since there are definitely some excellent songs that offer a real sense of progression for Ne-Yo as an artist. I think the bottom line is, a fair few Ne-Yo fans may look at this album and think it's a back track from what Ne-Yo used to be. That the old Ne-Yo isn't really present but it's actually quite the opposite. It's a definite step forward for Ne-Yo. A new Ne-Yo that both acknowledges what he's done before and tries to do something new. Some may love it, some may not but I personally think this is a real great collection of songs. So do yourself a favour, and find the beauty in your cracks. Full Review »
  2. Nov 7, 2012
    7
    I'm a big Ne-Yo fan but this actually is not my favorite Ne-Yo album. It got many good singles, but putting them at all I feel a kind of inconsistency, both among the singles and with its title. It would be better to call it a "collection" rather than an "album". Maybe I would give this a 5 or 6 if its not Ne-Yo's work. He was just over-concerned about returning to the edge and that unfortunately blinded his eyes. Hope he will truly "coming back" at next album. Full Review »
  3. May 12, 2013
    4
    Ne-Yo needs to learn how to make better music. This generic dance crap isn't going to cut it for 2 much longer. Try a ballad or something, they're becoming big. Mixed reactions. Full Review »