R.E.D. - Ne-Yo
R.E.D. Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fifth release for the R&B singer features guest appearances by Tim McGraw and Wiz Khalifa.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. 91
    The rawer lyrics showcase a man who's maturing without making a fuss about it.
  2. Nov 6, 2012
    Ultimately, it's the love songs that make the biggest impression on this nicely balanced disc.
  3. 80
    What's striking about R.E.D. are Ne-Yo's subtle but notable stylistic departures.
  4. 63
    You get some of that [back to basics feel] from the first two songs on R.E.D., both of which Ne-Yo co-wrote with Shea Taylor, who also produced.... After that, though, R.E.D. doesn't really stick to the idea of less is more.
  5. Nov 6, 2012
    R.E.D. won't reassure those who accuse him of drifting away from R&B to make a quick pop buck.
  6. Nov 7, 2012
    The highlights are all casual, subtle, finely detailed midtempo numbers and slow jams. What's truly disappointing is the absence of energetic songs descended from soul and funk.
  7. Nov 16, 2012
    As peers like Frank Ocean and Miguel boldly reimagine commercial R&B, this often feels less like vision than parsing market research.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Nov 7, 2012
    This album is an intriguing case but overall it's one I personally enjoy. For Ne-Yo it demonstrates two things. The first is his diversity as an artist. This album features various stylistic departures from his tried and true smooth RnB. From the dynamic upbeat pop tracks like Let Me Love You and Let's Go, to the RnB/country hybrid She Is ft Tim McGraw. This isn't to say that there aren't those classic RnB tracks and ballads us Ne-Yo loves have grown attached to. Tracks like Cracks in Mr Perfect, Lazy Love, Stress Reliever and Jealous are prime examples of that. The second is how he has matured as both an artist and a person. For example the first song, Cracks in Mr Perfect, is all about him acknowledging his personal flaws and as it winds down towards the end it becomes about self acceptance. As for the vocals, Ne-Yo sounds as silky smooth as ever. Particularly on the slower paced tracks. He makes it sound rather effortless at points. There is one critique I do have with the album though, and it's that it can feel a little inconsistent. He's tried so many things and shown off his diversity, but as a result the album doesn't quite define itself particularly well. This is something that will definitely both a good few people and may alienate them from considering buying the album, but I personally don't find it to be a big deal in the long term since there are definitely some excellent songs that offer a real sense of progression for Ne-Yo as an artist. I think the bottom line is, a fair few Ne-Yo fans may look at this album and think it's a back track from what Ne-Yo used to be. That the old Ne-Yo isn't really present but it's actually quite the opposite. It's a definite step forward for Ne-Yo. A new Ne-Yo that both acknowledges what he's done before and tries to do something new. Some may love it, some may not but I personally think this is a real great collection of songs. So do yourself a favour, and find the beauty in your cracks. Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2012
    This album, almost every song, sounds the same. I think the type of sound started with his release of a song called "Beautiful Monster" maybe a year ago-which was pretty successful overseas. Kinda electronic/clubby/techno sound. None the less listening to this entire album at one time is painful. Having siad that there were a few songs I took from the album that I Liked. Expand
  3. Nov 7, 2012
    I'm a big Ne-Yo fan but this actually is not my favorite Ne-Yo album. It got many good singles, but putting them at all I feel a kind of inconsistency, both among the singles and with its title. It would be better to call it a "collection" rather than an "album". Maybe I would give this a 5 or 6 if its not Ne-Yo's work. He was just over-concerned about returning to the edge and that unfortunately blinded his eyes. Hope he will truly "coming back" at next album. Collapse
  4. May 12, 2013
    Ne-Yo needs to learn how to make better music. This generic dance crap isn't going to cut it for 2 much longer. Try a ballad or something, they're becoming big. Mixed reactions. Expand