Red - Taylor Swift
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 296 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 80 out of 296

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 17, 2012
    6
    You aren't false with listening to Swift's latest release, that shows more aspects of her. I actually like her voice and she is able to write good songs. It's nothing big and a duration of more than an hour lets it seem too long. Regardless, there are some quite good songs on Red: Red, I Knew You Were Trouble., I Almost Do, We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together or The Last Time. Her country side got to an lesser extent and her pop side isn't always good. I, for my part, enjoyed this album and I like her style. She is cute, she sings meaningful songs and has a pretty good voice. Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    One of my top five cd's of this year think it will be rated and honored with awards this year I never get tired of it the first track reminds me of old U2 songs, the synth pop on 22 and other tracks is so catchy and I love country music feel on most tracks and taylor does not dissapoint in this respect as well. I applaud Taylor's courage to be true to her artistry and to not be so concerned about what the country music community and others may think. Love it! Expand
  3. Feb 16, 2013
    8
    'RED' sounds more like a commercial appeal than as a sincere act of Swift, but who says something can not be good business and at the same time?
  4. Oct 23, 2012
    10
    I think this is Taylor's finest moment. Her music has matured in the works of something absolutely wonderful. People say she has changed, I just think she has grown up and expressing her talent throughout different genres such as: alternative rock, pop rock, and even dupstep. It's a pretty fantastic albums if you ask me. Why this has a 3.9 on the User score, I have no clue. But, most people are just mad because she isn't the sweet little country girl anymore. She has grown up and I think we should all respect her for her talent. Expand
  5. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Taylor Swift is one of the Greatest songwriters of Our generation. I have listened to the whole album and this album actually has a more Country Rock feel to it rather than her usual Country Pop sound. This is the most mature album of her career and its worth every penny. I have to give Taylor credit for this album, she has grown and mastered the art of being a true artist. Taylor has a mix of Country, Pop, and Rock songs but that doesn't mean she's left her County roots. Songs like "Stay Stay Stay," "I Almost Do," and "Begin Again" remind us why Taylor is wining in the Country World right now. Expand
  6. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    I just think the Britney Spears fans should stop with this unnecessary repression and stop to give low grades to the disc, which is perfect for a sign and go buy the Femme Fatale, because the album needs to give a big up in sales.
  7. Oct 22, 2012
    8
    I really like how Taylor has step outside of her comfort zone. I really admire her country roots, but with her debut 'Taylor Swift' and 'Fearless'.... it was JUST country and pop rock oriented music. I like how she has taken more control of her music, still staying with country music, but being influenced with dance, pop rock, punk and teen music. Alot of artists have to follow Swift by exiting their comfort zone and create something new, because if she didn't, her music would be country music with every consecutive album she releases. I think Red is a great album.

    I like how also some of her songs don't constantly talk about relationships and explore different genres lyrically and musically. Her hit song 'We are Never Ever Getting Back Together' is a great teen-party anthem, along with '22' as well. But keeps her country roots with 'Treacherous' and 'Stay Stay Stay' which are cute. But keeps up with the more pop rock influences with 'State of Grace' and the more slower power ballads like 'Holy Ground' and 'The Last Time'. This is definitely Ms Swift's most experimental album and shows good music, not too generic yet not to boring.
    Expand
  8. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. People just don;t understand Taylor. Taylor deserves to be able to do whatever the hell she wants with her music, but she also knows it can't be dumb, trashy pop. With Red, Taylor shows us how versatile she really is. This album is Taylor at her most mature. Especially in State Of Grace, where Taylor sings about sex for the first time in her career. Max Martin helps her write some amazingly catchy songs and produces some awesome beats that still contain a country influence. 22 is probably the catchiest moment in the whole album and her most blatantly straightforward pop song ever. But there's more to Red, she still comes back to her roots in songs like the colorful (ahem.) Red, the marvelously written (and best lyrical moment) All Too Well, and the adorkable Stay Stay Stay. So, Taylor is not trying to be like everybody else because as far as her lyrics show, she's very unique and genuine. She also doesn't just experiment with arena rock-esque, dubstep, and dance-pop genres, but she has a more ethereal sound in The Last Time and a bit of a folk hip hop beat in Everything Has Changed. Also, there are some big similarities between the work on Some Nights by Fun. and the tracks Holy Ground and The Lucky One, which were so amazingly produced by Jeff Bhasker who pretty much produced all of Some Nights by Fun. Throughout the whole album, Taylor's lyrics are strong and effective and she really is the best songwriter of her generation. She also may not have the most soulful voice in the history of music, but she can get past two octaves pretty easily. But when lyrics are this good, who cares? Overall, Red is amazing. Her best album to date, for sure. HIGHLIGHTS: State Of Grace, I Knew You Were Trouble, All Too Well, 22, The Last Time, Holy Ground
    SONGS THAT ARE TO BE SKIPPED: Sad Beautiful Tragic
    Expand
  9. Nov 24, 2012
    8
    RED is an album that is meant to have a much more 'pop' appeal than Swift's previous albums. I have to admit that I am not a fan of Country Music, and Swift's cross over appeal is the reason why she is so famous in the US. Some of her songs in this album is meant to be pop songs, and for me, and is meant for those who have very little appreciation of country music (such as yours truly). Give this one a try if Swift's music wasn't your cup of tea before. Expand
  10. Mar 9, 2013
    7
    A simply and cute mix of country pop, each song makes you relax, dance and sing alone, a very good work, I'm surprised, this album show music of every times.
  11. Oct 23, 2012
    10
    Taylor always will be a great singer, doesn't matter if she is singing country or pop, her voice is so amazing and the lyrics are great, haters gonna hate...
  12. Dec 14, 2012
    9
    Taylor Swift may not have a great voice, however she is a good singer and especially a very good songwriter. This is, without any doubt the best Taylor's album till date. We find in some beautiful romantic songs the talent for the lyrics like in "All Too Well", "Begin Again" and "I Almost Do". But we can find too, some very powerful pop songs like "We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together", "I Knew You Were Trouble" and "22". Taylor is very much pop and I don't think that's a bad thing, her style is country pop and she do it very well. And to finish, this is absolutely the most mature Taylor's album ever. Expand
  13. Mar 30, 2013
    8
    Um álbum super bom que faz um mix perfeito entre o Country e o Pop, acho que a Taylor Swift saiu da sua zona de conforto e fez músicas mais agressivas como I Knew You Were Trouble e 22.
    Sem contar nas letras que são melhores do que dos dois CDs anteriores, para mim o destaque vai para suas parceria The Last Time (Feat. Gary Lightbody) e Everything Has Changed (feat. Ed Sheeran).
  14. Oct 26, 2012
    7
    Musically, Red is certainly many more colors than one, which finds Swift transitioning from Joni Mitchell-esque singer-songstress to Max Martin/Shellback polished pop princess throughout. From its opening U2 influenced arena rocker "State of Grace" to is closing country ballad "Begin Again", Red is obviously Swift's idea of experimentation whilst clinging to her signature songwriting about, you guessed it, damned, doomed love. While the majority of Red is often moderately successful at turning Swift into a sassy pop-rock diva (the catchiest example being the dubstep-influenced chorus of "I Knew You Were Trouble" and the mating of Max Martin/Shellback produced pop with Ke$ha-esque songwriting on "22") and country queen (the 'all-too-familiar' "All Too Well" that reminiscences on a previous relationship and the folky duet with English singer-songwriter Ed Sheeran), the rest of Red plays it too safe with its amount of filler tracks and flourishing cliches that even call back to Swift's 2006 debut album. But in the end, Red is an overall enjoyable listen that may capture some newer listener's attention and remain faithful to longtime fans. Expand
  15. Dec 23, 2012
    0
    I'm Sorry To Say This Is My Least Favorite Album Of 2012.. She Cant Sing, Some Of The Worst Lyrics I'v Ever Heard.. 1 Word For Taylor Swift's RED: Overrated
  16. Jan 16, 2013
    7
    Taylor is a very talented artist but in this album she got out of her confort zone wich is Country and i think she did a great job , however vocaly she is not a great singer but the way she talks about her life and her story trought the songs is very beautiful .
  17. Nov 8, 2012
    5
    The fourth album by American singer Taylor Swift, Red is a blend of country-pop (even very very pop) and teen-love-pop. it is
    very good when she made her country, but less good when it makes its pop-candy. Except I Knew Your Trouble., Pop songs are very commonplace, they are not original and they could not be sung anyone. Speaking of I Knew Your Trouble., It is an interesting piece and
    perhaps the best on the album, because of its electro, pop-rock energy and especially because of dubstep, there are d other interesting album, but they do not accotent this song. But overall the album is as good as Speak Now, but better than Fearless, but I did not say this is the worst album of 2012, but probably not in the top 10. But ultimately, it's your choice to take or not! Expand
  18. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    Amazing album, Taylor has got a very good voice, i enjoyed all the songs. The songs were all good or brilliant. 22, Red, State of grace, we are never getting back together, I knew you were trouble and Stay Stay Stay are the best songs
  19. May 21, 2013
    0
    Taylor Swift! OMG drop acid to my ears, shoot me in the head, but spare me from the dumbness of this woman. Crap music, crap personality, a dumb person, sad! People support this freak with money, but this is how masses think...
  20. Apr 22, 2013
    2
    Taylor Swift, YOU ARE NOT IN MIDDLE SCHOOL ANYMORE, NO ONE CARES IF YOU KNEW HE WAS TROUBLE YOUR GONNA BREAKUP AND WRITE ANOTHER FAKE (POP) COUNRTY SONG WITH NO LYRICAL ADVANCES OR MUSICAL THEN MOVE RIGHT ON TO THE NEXT GUY YOU WHORE AROUND WITH TO MAKE SOME MONEY. Let's be honest here Taylor has an ight voice nothing special, but it could be like 20 songs on the album and 17 are breakup, I hate you, you hurt me, its over songs. She isn't conutry just cause she adds a fiddle or two doesnt count. Thats like saying Miley Cyrus is country her voice is her songs are pure pop. At least Demi Lovato could be called a Rocker "Rock" Chick. Her first 2 albums were mainly rock songs with more of a pop sound. Taylor you need to grow up Miley Cyrus has a husband and you still have 18 boyfriends. You can write but who ever said "One of the greatest songwriters of our generation" should fall back now she can write a breakup song or "love" song that usually end up being bad or heard before. Im sure Lindsy Lohan and Hilary Duff albums sound better then this crap fest. Sorry If Ive offended anyone but she needs to grow up stop dating more then 10 guys a year, writing crappy breakup songs and be mature. Damn even "Can't Be Tamed" was more mature with songs like Robot, Liberty Walk, Forgiveness and Love etc. Expand
  21. May 28, 2013
    10
    Fantastic album, one of the best albums of the year so far. Taylor has a very good voice and her vocals are excellent on the alum, and all the songs are great, especially 22, i knew you were trouble, red, state of grace, stay stay stay, we are never getting back together and begin again.
  22. Feb 22, 2014
    8
    Love the songs '22', I knew you were trouble' and 'We are never ever getting back together', but the rest of the songs are too generic for my taste. All in all, great album, generic songs though.
  23. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    Such an outstanding album, showcases Swift's natural talent in songwriting. Her dabbling in different genres from pure country, to synth-pop, and to dubstep not only shows her versatility as an artist, but it seems almost daring and brave. Her progression in songwriting is evident in beautifully-crafted pieces such as Treacherous and Begin Again; and then in All Too Well, she unleashes her best-ever lyrics yet: "You call me up again just to break me like a promise/So casually cruel in the name of being honest". As a listener, one minute you're there crying in heart-break, and then suddenly, you're there dancing along to fast-tempo anthems like 22 and We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together. No matter what people say about the album in a positive or critical way figures never lie Red sold 1.2 million copies in its debut week, a feat achieved by less than a handful in music history. The commercial success is a testament of Swift's incredible talent. Red is sure to keep fans just as excited for her next album. Expand
  24. Sep 12, 2013
    0
    I fail to see what's supposed to be so good about this record. It doesn't deserve all the hype. Bland and just boring in general. There's much better country, let alone pop, to be found.
  25. Aug 26, 2013
    10
    Red is hands down Taylor's best and most ambitious work yet and, without a doubt, the best album of the year. The songwriting is brilliant and flawless. It is, through and through, from the breath-taking opening track to the beautifully written "Begin Again," a pop/rock masterpiece. Highlights include "State of Grace," "Treacherous," "All Too Well," "Holy Ground," "The Last Time," "Sad Beautiful Tragic," and "Everything Has Changed." Expand
  26. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    This is a very good album. Fun, Catchy, musically qualified, and is a little different than other Swift albums. I just wish she could show her vocal abilities more, if she has them. Otherwise, this album is just pure gold!

    Highlights: "Red" "I knew you were trouble"
    Summary: Catchy, Fun, Great
    Grade: 87%
  27. Nov 2, 2013
    5
    The girl does not have much of charisma... Solid productions, country, pop, rock even electronica...
    But, so what? Her voice is too soft and polite. Not my type, definitely.
  28. May 30, 2014
    10
    "Red" by Taylor Swift is a really great album and one of the best she's ever done. I love how each song on here has a different tone to it and how she is taking a different style to her music while remaining recognizable.
  29. Jan 3, 2013
    0
    I am at a complete loss for words on how angry I am at the fact that trash like this gets successful. The fact that this horrendous waste of time debuted at #1 is sickening. The fact that this is the biggest opening week for a country album makes me want to do something that I can't even write down on here because it could get me banned from this website. The fact that this album is more successful than even Brad Paisley's most successful album makes me dumbfounded. I think it is time to stop all of this nonsense before it gets out of hand. I hope Taylor Swift does not have another successful album in history. I hope the stupid idiot teenage girls will not fall for this piece of **** and instead pay attention to something that is actually not grating on the soul. Her voice makes me want to HURT myself. It's completely whiny, fake, processed, and horrendous. Her writing is TERRIBLE. How could any of you people on here give her praise on the songwriting on any of her miserable bubble-gum country/pop albums? It's all about the same bull****. "OH MY BOYFRIEND BROKE UP WITH ME SO I'M GONNA WHINE LIKE AN EMO AND SLIT MY THROAT AND START CRYING LIKE IN THE MUSIC VIDEO FOR WHITE HORSE" "OH MY FRIENDS HAD SUCH A FUN TIME IN HIGH SCHOOL CRUSHING ON BOYS AND WHINING" "OMG THAT BOY IS SO HOT BUT THERE'S ANOTHER GIRL OUT THERE THAT LOVES HIM SO IM JUST GONNA GO AND WRITE THIS ANNOYING SONG ABOUT IT AND MAYBE THEN PEOPLE WILL WANT TO CARE ABOUT ME!" I never really go this crazy on any of my albums reviews, but I've come here to put all of this praise to an end. Taylor Swift, please, if you're reading this, please stop and actually write something good. Oh, wait- that will never happen, because Taylor Swift is a miserable HACK. She is a horrendous... HORRENDOUS singer, and she is a terrible songwriter. She doesn't deserve any of the accolades that she is given. She doesn't deserve any of the success she is given. This album doesn't deserve the high-selling opening week that it had. It deserves to be abandoned in a burnt log cabin and never brought up in the media again until Judgement Day. Expand
  30. Dec 8, 2012
    8
    I was never really into Taylor Swift, but I decided to give the lady a chance with this album. In all honesty, it's my second favorite album of the year. There's no denying that Taylor has the music industry by the balls. In all honesty, she did a fantastic job with this record!
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Jan 23, 2013
    80
    Hearing Taylor Swift sing makes you remember these things, how you can wax poetic one day about the efficacy of love to change lives permanently for the better, and the next rail about how love leads only to pain and heartache.
  2. I like the feisty ones, as I generally do. But "Begin Again" and especially "Stay Stay Stay" stay happy and hit just as hard.
  3. Oct 31, 2012
    60
    More varied in its offerings, but also more disjointed than her previous work, Red sounds like a transitional album for Swift.