User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 381 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 94 out of 381

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Taylor Swift is one of the Greatest songwriters of Our generation. I have listened to the whole album and this album actually has a more Country Rock feel to it rather than her usual Country Pop sound. This is the most mature album of her career and its worth every penny. I have to give Taylor credit for this album, she has grown and mastered the art of being a true artist. Taylor has aTaylor Swift is one of the Greatest songwriters of Our generation. I have listened to the whole album and this album actually has a more Country Rock feel to it rather than her usual Country Pop sound. This is the most mature album of her career and its worth every penny. I have to give Taylor credit for this album, she has grown and mastered the art of being a true artist. Taylor has a mix of Country, Pop, and Rock songs but that doesn't mean she's left her County roots. Songs like "Stay Stay Stay," "I Almost Do," and "Begin Again" remind us why Taylor is wining in the Country World right now. Expand
  2. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    I had to wait until I made this review. The thing is that this is not a country album, Taylor is not a country singer anymore. Just now I can review this album as a pop album. And it is good. It has very good music on it, catchy songs and others to those elder fans wanting more country songs. Her talent has been showed again, lyrics are good and there's also a "like-dubstep" song and evenI had to wait until I made this review. The thing is that this is not a country album, Taylor is not a country singer anymore. Just now I can review this album as a pop album. And it is good. It has very good music on it, catchy songs and others to those elder fans wanting more country songs. Her talent has been showed again, lyrics are good and there's also a "like-dubstep" song and even something of rock, like the first track. In the end, comparing this album to the others, it's not that good, but it is not that good because the others were by far, amazing. She still shines, so as the CD. Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great effort and full of surprise! Heart-touching country ballad - like I ALMOST DO and BEGIN AGAIN; The song with the best lyrics (descriptive/narrative) - like ALL TOO WELL; Funny country song - like STAY STAY STAY; Best country-pop stuff (a good combination of Country music and Pop/Rock music) - like RED; Good Duet - like EVERYTHING HAS CHANGED; Surprising breakthrough - like I KNEW YOU WERE TROUBLE and WE ARE NEVER EVER GETTING BACK TOGETHER. Expand
  4. Jan 16, 2013
    7
    Taylor is a very talented artist but in this album she got out of her confort zone wich is Country and i think she did a great job , however vocaly she is not a great singer but the way she talks about her life and her story trought the songs is very beautiful .
  5. Feb 27, 2013
    10
    Album of the year!
    RED includes two or three weak songs, BUT there's 14 Amazing songs in there!
    State of grace, I almost do, All too well.... This album was absolutely one of the best albums of the year
  6. Dec 14, 2012
    10
    Taylor Swift has showed with this album that she is a musical force that is here to stay. Her ability to capture her state of mind at a particular moment, match it with an insanely catchy melody and then allow listeners a glimpse of it while not being overly navel gazing or overly introspective is unmatched.

    Say what you will, her ability to churn out solid songs with frightening
    Taylor Swift has showed with this album that she is a musical force that is here to stay. Her ability to capture her state of mind at a particular moment, match it with an insanely catchy melody and then allow listeners a glimpse of it while not being overly navel gazing or overly introspective is unmatched.

    Say what you will, her ability to churn out solid songs with frightening dependability will see her in good stead for years to come and ensure that she does not remain a footnote in music history.

    Those who decry her seemingly immature subject matter don't get it. Taylor is the consummate truth-teller in her songs. She does not put on a false persona or fake a situation in order for emo points. She tells her life in her lyrics and allows her listeners in on her private inner thought-life.
    Expand
  7. Nov 3, 2012
    7
    I am gonna be honest here, I have always liked Taylor Swift and I still do. It is kind of a shame that Swift went to 90% pop and 10% country rather than her other albums which were the other way around. Her lyrics remain basically unchanged though. This album is still good music, although fans who want more of the same T Swift country music will likely be disappointed.
  8. Jun 28, 2014
    10
    RED
    The album is a blend of country, country pop and alternative songs.
    SHE IS STILL COUNTRY - every song has country influences and you can hear them. Country is defined as story telling and you learn so much about her life from the 19 songs (including Deluxe Version). People that slate this album aren't being fair. Its her 4th album and you cant expect her to stick just to country she
    RED
    The album is a blend of country, country pop and alternative songs.
    SHE IS STILL COUNTRY - every song has country influences and you can hear them. Country is defined as story telling and you learn so much about her life from the 19 songs (including Deluxe Version). People that slate this album aren't being fair. Its her 4th album and you cant expect her to stick just to country she has to expand and grow as an artist and this album showcases her move into new country influenced genres.
    Expand
  9. Dec 17, 2014
    8
    One of the best album, this transition from almost complete pop pro Taylor made great music, good to hear and in a soft voice like hers do not have to get sick from that album, so good.
    Highlights: I Knew You Were Trouble and Holy Ground
    Lows: Treacherous (Demo) and The Moment I Knew
  10. Dec 14, 2012
    9
    Taylor Swift may not have a great voice, however she is a good singer and especially a very good songwriter. This is, without any doubt the best Taylor's album till date. We find in some beautiful romantic songs the talent for the lyrics like in "All Too Well", "Begin Again" and "I Almost Do". But we can find too, some very powerful pop songs like "We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together",Taylor Swift may not have a great voice, however she is a good singer and especially a very good songwriter. This is, without any doubt the best Taylor's album till date. We find in some beautiful romantic songs the talent for the lyrics like in "All Too Well", "Begin Again" and "I Almost Do". But we can find too, some very powerful pop songs like "We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together", "I Knew You Were Trouble" and "22". Taylor is very much pop and I don't think that's a bad thing, her style is country pop and she do it very well. And to finish, this is absolutely the most mature Taylor's album ever. Expand
  11. Oct 22, 2012
    8
    I really like how Taylor has step outside of her comfort zone. I really admire her country roots, but with her debut 'Taylor Swift' and 'Fearless'.... it was JUST country and pop rock oriented music. I like how she has taken more control of her music, still staying with country music, but being influenced with dance, pop rock, punk and teen music. Alot of artists have to follow Swift byI really like how Taylor has step outside of her comfort zone. I really admire her country roots, but with her debut 'Taylor Swift' and 'Fearless'.... it was JUST country and pop rock oriented music. I like how she has taken more control of her music, still staying with country music, but being influenced with dance, pop rock, punk and teen music. Alot of artists have to follow Swift by exiting their comfort zone and create something new, because if she didn't, her music would be country music with every consecutive album she releases. I think Red is a great album.

    I like how also some of her songs don't constantly talk about relationships and explore different genres lyrically and musically. Her hit song 'We are Never Ever Getting Back Together' is a great teen-party anthem, along with '22' as well. But keeps her country roots with 'Treacherous' and 'Stay Stay Stay' which are cute. But keeps up with the more pop rock influences with 'State of Grace' and the more slower power ballads like 'Holy Ground' and 'The Last Time'. This is definitely Ms Swift's most experimental album and shows good music, not too generic yet not to boring.
    Expand
  12. Oct 23, 2012
    10
    Red is a visual album that aims to make its listeners dance. I like the new direction of the album and Taylor's grown-up voice. The collaborations are also good.
  13. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    Such an outstanding album, showcases Swift's natural talent in songwriting. Her dabbling in different genres from pure country, to synth-pop, and to dubstep not only shows her versatility as an artist, but it seems almost daring and brave. Her progression in songwriting is evident in beautifully-crafted pieces such as Treacherous and Begin Again; and then in All Too Well, she unleashesSuch an outstanding album, showcases Swift's natural talent in songwriting. Her dabbling in different genres from pure country, to synth-pop, and to dubstep not only shows her versatility as an artist, but it seems almost daring and brave. Her progression in songwriting is evident in beautifully-crafted pieces such as Treacherous and Begin Again; and then in All Too Well, she unleashes her best-ever lyrics yet: "You call me up again just to break me like a promise/So casually cruel in the name of being honest". As a listener, one minute you're there crying in heart-break, and then suddenly, you're there dancing along to fast-tempo anthems like 22 and We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together. No matter what people say about the album in a positive or critical way figures never lie Red sold 1.2 million copies in its debut week, a feat achieved by less than a handful in music history. The commercial success is a testament of Swift's incredible talent. Red is sure to keep fans just as excited for her next album. Expand
  14. Oct 26, 2012
    7
    Musically, Red is certainly many more colors than one, which finds Swift transitioning from Joni Mitchell-esque singer-songstress to Max Martin/Shellback polished pop princess throughout. From its opening U2 influenced arena rocker "State of Grace" to is closing country ballad "Begin Again", Red is obviously Swift's idea of experimentation whilst clinging to her signature songwritingMusically, Red is certainly many more colors than one, which finds Swift transitioning from Joni Mitchell-esque singer-songstress to Max Martin/Shellback polished pop princess throughout. From its opening U2 influenced arena rocker "State of Grace" to is closing country ballad "Begin Again", Red is obviously Swift's idea of experimentation whilst clinging to her signature songwriting about, you guessed it, damned, doomed love. While the majority of Red is often moderately successful at turning Swift into a sassy pop-rock diva (the catchiest example being the dubstep-influenced chorus of "I Knew You Were Trouble" and the mating of Max Martin/Shellback produced pop with Ke$ha-esque songwriting on "22") and country queen (the 'all-too-familiar' "All Too Well" that reminiscences on a previous relationship and the folky duet with English singer-songwriter Ed Sheeran), the rest of Red plays it too safe with its amount of filler tracks and flourishing cliches that even call back to Swift's 2006 debut album. But in the end, Red is an overall enjoyable listen that may capture some newer listener's attention and remain faithful to longtime fans. Expand
  15. Oct 26, 2012
    6
    I am one of the biggest Taylor Swift fans there is, I know her three previous albums word for word and I've saw her live in concert twice now. However, this album did not stand out to me like her albums Fearless and Speak Now did with their beautiful lyrics and exciting production although the songs that I do listen to the most are probably Red, Sad Beautiful Tragic and Begin Again. I wasI am one of the biggest Taylor Swift fans there is, I know her three previous albums word for word and I've saw her live in concert twice now. However, this album did not stand out to me like her albums Fearless and Speak Now did with their beautiful lyrics and exciting production although the songs that I do listen to the most are probably Red, Sad Beautiful Tragic and Begin Again. I was really disappointed how Taylor's clever songwriting did not shine through and left me with sounds that I had heard before that were simply boring and lacklustre. Maybe there are only so many breakups and boyfriends a person can listen to after a while. Expand
  16. Oct 27, 2012
    8
    This is a good follow-up to speak now. It may not be a big leap forward but an advance, nonetheless.The mix of different musical styles make the album sound fresh with every play. And Taylor's voice is beginning to show an enormous potential for other, more demanding pieces in the future. If you're not a fan and just a pop music enthusiast, Red will satisfy auditory senses. An enjoyableThis is a good follow-up to speak now. It may not be a big leap forward but an advance, nonetheless.The mix of different musical styles make the album sound fresh with every play. And Taylor's voice is beginning to show an enormous potential for other, more demanding pieces in the future. If you're not a fan and just a pop music enthusiast, Red will satisfy auditory senses. An enjoyable piece of pop. Red is a winner. Expand
  17. Oct 28, 2012
    9
    I wasn't sold at first and was a bit confused by the randomness of style from track to track. But somehow this album grew on me. After listening to it a couple times there's a coherence to the story she's telling here. I would like to see her ditch Max Martin though... She shines much brighter when her songs are her own. I like it. And I'm not usually drawn to sugary pop, and will be muchI wasn't sold at first and was a bit confused by the randomness of style from track to track. But somehow this album grew on me. After listening to it a couple times there's a coherence to the story she's telling here. I would like to see her ditch Max Martin though... She shines much brighter when her songs are her own. I like it. And I'm not usually drawn to sugary pop, and will be much happier listening to the likes of Bon Iver, but there's something in Taylor's music that holds me captivated. Expand
  18. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    Speak Now showed that Taylor Swift was becoming one of the strongest songwriters in the business and Red takes her further along this journey. Red is is not as consistent as Speak Now, but the compensation for this is that the good tracks on Red are the best that Swift has ever written. All Too Well is her masterpiece, a strong ballad that tells an intricate story of a love that flamesSpeak Now showed that Taylor Swift was becoming one of the strongest songwriters in the business and Red takes her further along this journey. Red is is not as consistent as Speak Now, but the compensation for this is that the good tracks on Red are the best that Swift has ever written. All Too Well is her masterpiece, a strong ballad that tells an intricate story of a love that flames quickly and dies. State of Grace shows Swift getting experimental; many reviewers have compared this song to U2 and the driving drum beat and strong lyrics make it a standout (also check out the acoustic version on the deluxe album simply gorgeous). Treacherous is probably as sensual as Swift is ever going to get in a song; she sings about being enthralled by a lover over warm-sounding guitar strings. Holy Ground rocks and is probably the happiest break-up song you're ever likely to hear.

    These are the songs that are instantly infectious, but there are many other tracks that grow on you over time. I Almost Do, Sad Beautiful Tragic and Begin Again are filled with emotion and Stay Stay Stay and Starlight never fail to raise a smile.

    Like any still-young artist should, Swift tries out many musical styles on Red, seeing what fits. The three pop Max Martin singles that have been released are misleading they're Swift's only forays into pure pop. They work well enough at lightening up the album at the right moments (We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together seems smarter when paired with I Almost Do the two songs explore different reactions to the same problem) but they're not representative of the whole album at all. The rest of Red contains a mix of rock, acoustic/folk and country. If you appreciate a strong melody, good instrumentals and old-fashioned songwriting that tells three minute stories with each song, you'll find so much to enjoy about Red.
    Expand
  19. Oct 23, 2012
    10
    Taylor always will be a great singer, doesn't matter if she is singing country or pop, her voice is so amazing and the lyrics are great, haters gonna hate...
  20. Oct 23, 2012
    10
    I think this is Taylor's finest moment. Her music has matured in the works of something absolutely wonderful. People say she has changed, I just think she has grown up and expressing her talent throughout different genres such as: alternative rock, pop rock, and even dupstep. It's a pretty fantastic albums if you ask me. Why this has a 3.9 on the User score, I have no clue. But, mostI think this is Taylor's finest moment. Her music has matured in the works of something absolutely wonderful. People say she has changed, I just think she has grown up and expressing her talent throughout different genres such as: alternative rock, pop rock, and even dupstep. It's a pretty fantastic albums if you ask me. Why this has a 3.9 on the User score, I have no clue. But, most people are just mad because she isn't the sweet little country girl anymore. She has grown up and I think we should all respect her for her talent. Expand
  21. Oct 24, 2012
    9
    This is possibly the best album from Taylor. she brings different kind of genres into just one album and this property makes it memorable and great. I personally liked all of the songs but the most ones that i REALLY shocked by are ; Red, Treacherous, I Knew You Were Trouble, All Too Well, 22, The Last Time, Sad Beautiful Tragic & Begin Again
  22. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    This is definitely the best mainstream album of the year. The songs are written remarkably well, and the sound is so different from what everyone else is putting out in the industry right now. This is my first time listening to a Taylor Swift record and I didn't expect it to be this great. She is an amazing songwriter at such a young age of 22. Taylor really made me a fan after listeningThis is definitely the best mainstream album of the year. The songs are written remarkably well, and the sound is so different from what everyone else is putting out in the industry right now. This is my first time listening to a Taylor Swift record and I didn't expect it to be this great. She is an amazing songwriter at such a young age of 22. Taylor really made me a fan after listening to this album. Expand
  23. Oct 22, 2012
    6
    The song writing has taken a turn for the predictable. Musically, she's as diverse as ever, but her lyrics are her anchor this time around. We won't get into how shallow her work has become since majority of her fan base is only concerned with how many sales she can get this time around. The music itself fails to meet expectations.
  24. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Fantastic album, reminds me of a female contemporary Paul Simon meets Bob Dylan meets Springsteen with a touch of Alanis Morrisette but in a Taylor Swift way. No one can write music like this girl. She is a class act!!! I love this album already, been listening to it all day. It's a definite lasting artwork. And if you're feeling iffy that it's different let it grow on you because it is aFantastic album, reminds me of a female contemporary Paul Simon meets Bob Dylan meets Springsteen with a touch of Alanis Morrisette but in a Taylor Swift way. No one can write music like this girl. She is a class act!!! I love this album already, been listening to it all day. It's a definite lasting artwork. And if you're feeling iffy that it's different let it grow on you because it is a masterpiece!!!! Expand
  25. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    Left me speechless. I've been a swifty for a long time now. Well, there is no way anyone could compare "Red" to any of Taylor's previous albums (Speak Now, Fearless..) Because on this one, she tried to change her style a bit which should not be received negatively! She was just trying to spread her wings musically and I'm a huge fan of her courage. Red may not be as lyrically strong as itsLeft me speechless. I've been a swifty for a long time now. Well, there is no way anyone could compare "Red" to any of Taylor's previous albums (Speak Now, Fearless..) Because on this one, she tried to change her style a bit which should not be received negatively! She was just trying to spread her wings musically and I'm a huge fan of her courage. Red may not be as lyrically strong as its predecessors, but it's still so Goddamn good and people love it! I personally do. I Salute Taylor for doing such a flawless album. I salute her and I appreciate this new astonishment.. It's sexy, fun and beautifully-done ! Cheers ! Expand
  26. Oct 25, 2012
    8
    A collection of radio-friendly singles some of which will play top 40, some will play country and some indy. It is produced and tuned up the wazoo so you have to accept that. I enjoyed 12 of the 16 songs and thought 3 of the other 4 were okay. My fave is State of Grace. Disclosure: I love Shania Twain and I like sugar pop.
  27. Nov 24, 2012
    8
    RED is an album that is meant to have a much more 'pop' appeal than Swift's previous albums. I have to admit that I am not a fan of Country Music, and Swift's cross over appeal is the reason why she is so famous in the US. Some of her songs in this album is meant to be pop songs, and for me, and is meant for those who have very little appreciation of country music (such as yours truly).RED is an album that is meant to have a much more 'pop' appeal than Swift's previous albums. I have to admit that I am not a fan of Country Music, and Swift's cross over appeal is the reason why she is so famous in the US. Some of her songs in this album is meant to be pop songs, and for me, and is meant for those who have very little appreciation of country music (such as yours truly). Give this one a try if Swift's music wasn't your cup of tea before. Expand
  28. Mar 9, 2013
    7
    A simply and cute mix of country pop, each song makes you relax, dance and sing alone, a very good work, I'm surprised, this album show music of every times.
  29. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    1. State of grace, the first music on Red return to us a good beat, but isn't the best music 7/10. 2. Red, the music album title is the one of three best music on 'Red' 10/10. 3. Treacherous is a calm music, relaxed, good but it's not good like Red or I Knew You Were Trouble 7/10. 4. I knew you were trouble is the first music by Taylor Swift that mix country and dupstep, Taylor is the1. State of grace, the first music on Red return to us a good beat, but isn't the best music 7/10. 2. Red, the music album title is the one of three best music on 'Red' 10/10. 3. Treacherous is a calm music, relaxed, good but it's not good like Red or I Knew You Were Trouble 7/10. 4. I knew you were trouble is the first music by Taylor Swift that mix country and dupstep, Taylor is the first artist to do it and I knew you were trouble is the best music on album Red 10/10. 5. All too well has passed for us the characteristic by Taylor 8/10. 6. 22 is the pop music on Red, Taylor knows how do a pop music like 22 9/10. 7. I almost do is, like All too well, the music by Taylor, own Taylor, like the music by Fearlss 8/10. 8. We are never ever getting back together is a good music. But Taylor can do more than Never Ever. Taylor has enchanted world with Never Ever 10/10. 9. Stay Stay Stay is more country music on Red 8/10. 10. The last time ft. Gary Lightbody is a different music, so good 10/10. 11. Holy Ground is the worst music on Red 6/10. 12. Sad beautiful tragic could have a BIG remix, it's so sad 6/10. 13. The lucky one is like Taylor's lucky number, but I think this music could be better the another on Red 7/10. 14. Everything has changed ft. Ed Sheeran is, with I knew you were trouble, the best music on Red, Ed Sheeran helped with a lot of success 10/10. 15. Starlight, I don't like this music 6/10. 16. Begin Again has a PERFECT clip, Taylor knew how to make it, in Paris 10/10... Expand
  30. Nov 10, 2012
    8
    I enjoyed the album and think Taylor is taking a step in the right direction. The best songs are still the most stripped ones but you cant deny this girl knows how to write a song even if some of them sound the same.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Jan 23, 2013
    80
    Hearing Taylor Swift sing makes you remember these things, how you can wax poetic one day about the efficacy of love to change lives permanently for the better, and the next rail about how love leads only to pain and heartache.
  2. I like the feisty ones, as I generally do. But "Begin Again" and especially "Stay Stay Stay" stay happy and hit just as hard.
  3. Oct 31, 2012
    60
    More varied in its offerings, but also more disjointed than her previous work, Red sounds like a transitional album for Swift.