Red - Taylor Swift
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 292 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 79 out of 292

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Taylor Swift is one of the Greatest songwriters of Our generation. I have listened to the whole album and this album actually has a more Country Rock feel to it rather than her usual Country Pop sound. This is the most mature album of her career and its worth every penny. I have to give Taylor credit for this album, she has grown and mastered the art of being a true artist. Taylor has a mix of Country, Pop, and Rock songs but that doesn't mean she's left her County roots. Songs like "Stay Stay Stay," "I Almost Do," and "Begin Again" remind us why Taylor is wining in the Country World right now. Expand
  2. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    This is definitely the best mainstream album of the year. The songs are written remarkably well, and the sound is so different from what everyone else is putting out in the industry right now. This is my first time listening to a Taylor Swift record and I didn't expect it to be this great. She is an amazing songwriter at such a young age of 22. Taylor really made me a fan after listening to this album. Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2012
    5
    I was a huge fan of Taylor Swift's first three albums. I thought she was an incredibly talented young kid on her first album, and with the releases of her second and third albums, I was convinced she was turning into a genuinely great artist. I still think she can be. She has released some beautiful songs. However, with this new album, she has taken the naive perception people have of her music and her lyrics, and completely gave into that. This album seems to have been made just to make money. The songs seem to have mostly been chosen due to their commercial appeal, while I thought her first three albums demonstrated genuine artistry. Not one of these songs is emotionally powerful, thought provoking, or musically interesting, all of which I could have said about her first three albums. Even the help of hugely talented artists such as Lori McKenna, Mark Foster, and Ed Sheeran didn't really shine through. There were some cute songs on here, but I'd say the only real highlights are The Last Time, featuring Gary Lightbody, and Sad Beautiful Tragic. Nothing else is worth mentioning, but the album overall is cute, and entertaining in the moment. It caters right to the teen and pre-teen female audience, where I felt her other albums catered to them, as well as adults who genuinely like real musicianship and artistry. That was severely lacking here. Expand
  4. Oct 23, 2012
    3
    With this album, Taylor Swift has proven that she has become a niche artist. Where once, she walked the line between country and pop, Swift has shifted almost completely to the latter. What has always been her strength is her songwriting, which has made up for a complete lack of original material. In this bloated album, the number of times her lyrics shine through is at a minimum. Tracks like "22" and "Starlight" are bland and empty seeming to follow more the likes of Ke$ha and Cher Lloyd than any of Swift''s previous tracks. The bright moments, few as they were, remind us of what she could be and in particular, "All Too Well," "I Almost Do," "The Last Time," and "Sad Beautiful Tragic" stand out. Otherwise, it is an overdone, under-executed album, which is a shame because Swift is capable of much more. Expand
  5. Oct 22, 2012
    6
    The song writing has taken a turn for the predictable. Musically, she's as diverse as ever, but her lyrics are her anchor this time around. We won't get into how shallow her work has become since majority of her fan base is only concerned with how many sales she can get this time around. The music itself fails to meet expectations.
  6. Oct 22, 2012
    8
    I really like how Taylor has step outside of her comfort zone. I really admire her country roots, but with her debut 'Taylor Swift' and 'Fearless'.... it was JUST country and pop rock oriented music. I like how she has taken more control of her music, still staying with country music, but being influenced with dance, pop rock, punk and teen music. Alot of artists have to follow Swift by exiting their comfort zone and create something new, because if she didn't, her music would be country music with every consecutive album she releases. I think Red is a great album.

    I like how also some of her songs don't constantly talk about relationships and explore different genres lyrically and musically. Her hit song 'We are Never Ever Getting Back Together' is a great teen-party anthem, along with '22' as well. But keeps her country roots with 'Treacherous' and 'Stay Stay Stay' which are cute. But keeps up with the more pop rock influences with 'State of Grace' and the more slower power ballads like 'Holy Ground' and 'The Last Time'. This is definitely Ms Swift's most experimental album and shows good music, not too generic yet not to boring.
    Expand
  7. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Fantastic album, reminds me of a female contemporary Paul Simon meets Bob Dylan meets Springsteen with a touch of Alanis Morrisette but in a Taylor Swift way. No one can write music like this girl. She is a class act!!! I love this album already, been listening to it all day. It's a definite lasting artwork. And if you're feeling iffy that it's different let it grow on you because it is a masterpiece!!!! Expand
  8. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    RED showcases the development of Taylor as a singer-songwriter, and almost every song in this album can be a great single. My personal favorite songs are "22", "I Almost Do" and "Everything Has Changed", along with the first four promotional singles. This is also a step closer for her to harvest a bunch of awards at the next Grammy !
  9. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Red is more than a color on this album, represents so many different emotions. Different styles, different lyrics. This album is so mature than the other stuff that Taylor wrote before. I don't care if she has dance songs like "we are never...". For me, this is RED.
  10. Oct 23, 2012
    10
    Taylor always will be a great singer, doesn't matter if she is singing country or pop, her voice is so amazing and the lyrics are great, haters gonna hate...
  11. Oct 23, 2012
    10
    I think this is Taylor's finest moment. Her music has matured in the works of something absolutely wonderful. People say she has changed, I just think she has grown up and expressing her talent throughout different genres such as: alternative rock, pop rock, and even dupstep. It's a pretty fantastic albums if you ask me. Why this has a 3.9 on the User score, I have no clue. But, most people are just mad because she isn't the sweet little country girl anymore. She has grown up and I think we should all respect her for her talent. Expand
  12. Oct 23, 2012
    10
    Red is a visual album that aims to make its listeners dance. I like the new direction of the album and Taylor's grown-up voice. The collaborations are also good.
  13. Oct 24, 2012
    9
    This is possibly the best album from Taylor. she brings different kind of genres into just one album and this property makes it memorable and great. I personally liked all of the songs but the most ones that i REALLY shocked by are ; Red, Treacherous, I Knew You Were Trouble, All Too Well, 22, The Last Time, Sad Beautiful Tragic & Begin Again
  14. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    I just think the Britney Spears fans should stop with this unnecessary repression and stop to give low grades to the disc, which is perfect for a sign and go buy the Femme Fatale, because the album needs to give a big up in sales.
  15. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    Such an outstanding album, showcases Swift's natural talent in songwriting. Her dabbling in different genres from pure country, to synth-pop, and to dubstep not only shows her versatility as an artist, but it seems almost daring and brave. Her progression in songwriting is evident in beautifully-crafted pieces such as Treacherous and Begin Again; and then in All Too Well, she unleashes her best-ever lyrics yet: "You call me up again just to break me like a promise/So casually cruel in the name of being honest". As a listener, one minute you're there crying in heart-break, and then suddenly, you're there dancing along to fast-tempo anthems like 22 and We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together. No matter what people say about the album in a positive or critical way figures never lie Red sold 1.2 million copies in its debut week, a feat achieved by less than a handful in music history. The commercial success is a testament of Swift's incredible talent. Red is sure to keep fans just as excited for her next album. Expand
  16. Oct 26, 2012
    7
    Musically, Red is certainly many more colors than one, which finds Swift transitioning from Joni Mitchell-esque singer-songstress to Max Martin/Shellback polished pop princess throughout. From its opening U2 influenced arena rocker "State of Grace" to is closing country ballad "Begin Again", Red is obviously Swift's idea of experimentation whilst clinging to her signature songwriting about, you guessed it, damned, doomed love. While the majority of Red is often moderately successful at turning Swift into a sassy pop-rock diva (the catchiest example being the dubstep-influenced chorus of "I Knew You Were Trouble" and the mating of Max Martin/Shellback produced pop with Ke$ha-esque songwriting on "22") and country queen (the 'all-too-familiar' "All Too Well" that reminiscences on a previous relationship and the folky duet with English singer-songwriter Ed Sheeran), the rest of Red plays it too safe with its amount of filler tracks and flourishing cliches that even call back to Swift's 2006 debut album. But in the end, Red is an overall enjoyable listen that may capture some newer listener's attention and remain faithful to longtime fans. Expand
  17. Oct 26, 2012
    6
    I am one of the biggest Taylor Swift fans there is, I know her three previous albums word for word and I've saw her live in concert twice now. However, this album did not stand out to me like her albums Fearless and Speak Now did with their beautiful lyrics and exciting production although the songs that I do listen to the most are probably Red, Sad Beautiful Tragic and Begin Again. I was really disappointed how Taylor's clever songwriting did not shine through and left me with sounds that I had heard before that were simply boring and lacklustre. Maybe there are only so many breakups and boyfriends a person can listen to after a while. Expand
  18. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    Left me speechless. I've been a swifty for a long time now. Well, there is no way anyone could compare "Red" to any of Taylor's previous albums (Speak Now, Fearless..) Because on this one, she tried to change her style a bit which should not be received negatively! She was just trying to spread her wings musically and I'm a huge fan of her courage. Red may not be as lyrically strong as its predecessors, but it's still so Goddamn good and people love it! I personally do. I Salute Taylor for doing such a flawless album. I salute her and I appreciate this new astonishment.. It's sexy, fun and beautifully-done ! Cheers ! Expand
  19. Dec 14, 2012
    9
    Taylor Swift may not have a great voice, however she is a good singer and especially a very good songwriter. This is, without any doubt the best Taylor's album till date. We find in some beautiful romantic songs the talent for the lyrics like in "All Too Well", "Begin Again" and "I Almost Do". But we can find too, some very powerful pop songs like "We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together", "I Knew You Were Trouble" and "22". Taylor is very much pop and I don't think that's a bad thing, her style is country pop and she do it very well. And to finish, this is absolutely the most mature Taylor's album ever. Expand
  20. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    I had to wait until I made this review. The thing is that this is not a country album, Taylor is not a country singer anymore. Just now I can review this album as a pop album. And it is good. It has very good music on it, catchy songs and others to those elder fans wanting more country songs. Her talent has been showed again, lyrics are good and there's also a "like-dubstep" song and even something of rock, like the first track. In the end, comparing this album to the others, it's not that good, but it is not that good because the others were by far, amazing. She still shines, so as the CD. Expand
  21. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great effort and full of surprise! Heart-touching country ballad - like I ALMOST DO and BEGIN AGAIN; The song with the best lyrics (descriptive/narrative) - like ALL TOO WELL; Funny country song - like STAY STAY STAY; Best country-pop stuff (a good combination of Country music and Pop/Rock music) - like RED; Good Duet - like EVERYTHING HAS CHANGED; Surprising breakthrough - like I KNEW YOU WERE TROUBLE and WE ARE NEVER EVER GETTING BACK TOGETHER. Expand
  22. Oct 27, 2012
    4
    I'm pretty disappointed about this album. It contains a lot of tracks which are similar, boring and meaningless. I was expecting more of a country style then pop which would make this album stand out. I always valued her ability to write songs but here the lyrics don't shine. There are few songs that actually stand out, like: '' Sad Beautiful Tragic '', which shows how talented this girl is. Overall '' Red '', is weak and typical which would be liked by younger generation. It's an overdone album which is a shame because Swift is capable of something much greater than this. Collapse
  23. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    I think Red is Taylor's most entertaining album by far. Many people accused Taylor of sounding the same for her past albums, now I think they can't say the same. She has definitely branched out a lot musically. Experimenting with dubstep, playing with pop, indie and rock, it is basically a buffet of genre choices and there is something inside that could appeal to each person. Not only did she improve sonically, her lyrics and songwriting has grown sharper than ever. "Treacherous", "All Too Well" are great examples how Taylor has shown growth and maturity in her writing, evoking feelings that few can do with words in a song. Some may criticise her going into pop, but I think her pop songs are more brilliant than most you hear on radio. "22", despite sounding like a brainless pop piece meant for dancing round the bedroom at the surface, it actually conveys the confusing emotions young adults have and I don't think you can easily find a mainstream pop song with such lyrical detail. Even if this album may not be her best album, I think it bodes for more better things to come, hopefully refining her sound yet still keeping her versatility . Who knows, she may be the next Joni Mitchell. Expand
  24. Oct 25, 2012
    8
    A collection of radio-friendly singles some of which will play top 40, some will play country and some indy. It is produced and tuned up the wazoo so you have to accept that. I enjoyed 12 of the 16 songs and thought 3 of the other 4 were okay. My fave is State of Grace. Disclosure: I love Shania Twain and I like sugar pop.
  25. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    I'm a hugeeee Taylor Swift's fan. I love all her work, this album is spectacular and have some of the most beautiful lyrics I've ever heard such as 'All Too Well' and "Come Back... Be Here". This album is such a huge risk for Taylor, she's so perfectionist and it shows, this is a five stars album. Thank you Taylor.
  26. Oct 27, 2012
    8
    This is a good follow-up to speak now. It may not be a big leap forward but an advance, nonetheless.The mix of different musical styles make the album sound fresh with every play. And Taylor's voice is beginning to show an enormous potential for other, more demanding pieces in the future. If you're not a fan and just a pop music enthusiast, Red will satisfy auditory senses. An enjoyable piece of pop. Red is a winner. Expand
  27. Oct 28, 2012
    9
    I wasn't sold at first and was a bit confused by the randomness of style from track to track. But somehow this album grew on me. After listening to it a couple times there's a coherence to the story she's telling here. I would like to see her ditch Max Martin though... She shines much brighter when her songs are her own. I like it. And I'm not usually drawn to sugary pop, and will be much happier listening to the likes of Bon Iver, but there's something in Taylor's music that holds me captivated. Expand
  28. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    This is an entirely new ground for us Swifties. It's more pop than usual and some of the fans won't be happy, but for me it's an album I won't soon forget. Listening to it makes me remember sad moments, makes me feel like dancing, and feel happy. I was smiling the whole time listening to it. Once again she proves her prowess at writing songs.
  29. Jan 16, 2013
    7
    Taylor is a very talented artist but in this album she got out of her confort zone wich is Country and i think she did a great job , however vocaly she is not a great singer but the way she talks about her life and her story trought the songs is very beautiful .
  30. Feb 27, 2013
    10
    Album of the year!
    RED includes two or three weak songs, BUT there's 14 Amazing songs in there!
    State of grace, I almost do, All too well.... This album was absolutely one of the best albums of the year
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Jan 23, 2013
    80
    Hearing Taylor Swift sing makes you remember these things, how you can wax poetic one day about the efficacy of love to change lives permanently for the better, and the next rail about how love leads only to pain and heartache.
  2. I like the feisty ones, as I generally do. But "Begin Again" and especially "Stay Stay Stay" stay happy and hit just as hard.
  3. Oct 31, 2012
    60
    More varied in its offerings, but also more disjointed than her previous work, Red sounds like a transitional album for Swift.