Red Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 774 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Taylor Swift's fourth album was produced by Max Martin and features Mark Foster (Foster the People) and singer/songwriter Lori McKenna.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Big Machine Records
  • Genre(s): Pop, Country, Pop/Rock, Teen Pop, Contemporary Country, Country-Pop
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. I like the feisty ones, as I generally do. But "Begin Again" and especially "Stay Stay Stay" stay happy and hit just as hard.
  2. It's sexy, daring, and complete.
  3. 83
    One gets the feeling that it's not this guy's love she's after. She's just using him for the breakup songs. This time around, it's getting harder to feel sorry for Swift.
  4. Oct 22, 2012
    75
    Red is a big record that reaches for Importance and occasionally touches it, filled with well-constructed pop songs Taylor-made for bedroom duets.
  5. Oct 25, 2012
    70
    For all its manufactured essence, Red remains firmly grounded at the crossroads between innocence and experience.
  6. Oct 24, 2012
    70
    Red may not be a bona fide country album, but it could very well be a pop masterpiece, more in line with P!nk's latest, The Truth About Love, than even Red's predecessor, Speak Now.
  7. Oct 24, 2012
    40
    As it stands for now though, Red is a mixed bag, and it's up to you to sort through the majority-holding bad in order to find the good.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 131
  1. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Taylor Swift is one of the Greatest songwriters of Our generation. I have listened to the whole album and this album actually has a moreTaylor Swift is one of the Greatest songwriters of Our generation. I have listened to the whole album and this album actually has a more Country Rock feel to it rather than her usual Country Pop sound. This is the most mature album of her career and its worth every penny. I have to give Taylor credit for this album, she has grown and mastered the art of being a true artist. Taylor has a mix of Country, Pop, and Rock songs but that doesn't mean she's left her County roots. Songs like "Stay Stay Stay," "I Almost Do," and "Begin Again" remind us why Taylor is wining in the Country World right now. Expand
  2. Nov 10, 2017
    10
    Taylor Swift is one of the Greatest songwriters of Our generation. I have listened to the whole album and this album actually has a moreTaylor Swift is one of the Greatest songwriters of Our generation. I have listened to the whole album and this album actually has a more Country Rock feel to it rather than her usual Country Pop sound. This is the most mature album of her career and its worth every penny. I have to give Taylor credit for this album, she has grown and mastered the art of being a true artist. Expand
  3. May 2, 2013
    10
    This album is absolutely the best album that Taylor has ever done. She's very talented and even tho her voice is not very strong and powerfulThis album is absolutely the best album that Taylor has ever done. She's very talented and even tho her voice is not very strong and powerful the way she composes her songs is brilliant. Once again congratulations Taylor Swit Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    I think Red is Taylor's most entertaining album by far. Many people accused Taylor of sounding the same for her past albums, now I think theyI think Red is Taylor's most entertaining album by far. Many people accused Taylor of sounding the same for her past albums, now I think they can't say the same. She has definitely branched out a lot musically. Experimenting with dubstep, playing with pop, indie and rock, it is basically a buffet of genre choices and there is something inside that could appeal to each person. Not only did she improve sonically, her lyrics and songwriting has grown sharper than ever. "Treacherous", "All Too Well" are great examples how Taylor has shown growth and maturity in her writing, evoking feelings that few can do with words in a song. Some may criticise her going into pop, but I think her pop songs are more brilliant than most you hear on radio. "22", despite sounding like a brainless pop piece meant for dancing round the bedroom at the surface, it actually conveys the confusing emotions young adults have and I don't think you can easily find a mainstream pop song with such lyrical detail. Even if this album may not be her best album, I think it bodes for more better things to come, hopefully refining her sound yet still keeping her versatility . Who knows, she may be the next Joni Mitchell. Expand
  5. Jun 13, 2016
    9
    É um álbum onde Taylor colocou todas suas emoções, um álbum extremamente pessoal. As baladas românticas, como é o caso de Treacherous e IÉ um álbum onde Taylor colocou todas suas emoções, um álbum extremamente pessoal. As baladas românticas, como é o caso de Treacherous e I Almost Do, tratam de relacionamentos passados em que Taylor se tornava uma prisioneira de si mesma, já em músicas experimentais como ''All Too Well'' e ''I Knew You Were Trouble'', Taylor se mostra fugindo dessa prisão.

    Por que Taylor não faturou o Grammy de Álbum do Ano?

    Se tratarmos do álbum como um todo, teremos uma obra de arte: letras muito bem compostas, produção impecável e divulgação massiva, tem tudo para ser o melhor álbum da carreira da Taylor, com uma exceção: não possui um gênero definido. O álbum é uma linha entre o Country e o Pop, é a transição do Speak Now(2010) para o 1989(2014), então podemos considerar como um álbum experimental. Se o álbum de primeira não ganhou em categorias pequenas do Grammy, como ''Best Country Album'', porque ganharia o Grammy de ''Álbum do Ano''?

    Quando estamos falando de sonoridade de um álbum, falamos da sua identidade. A identidade do Red ficou perdida, e não se tornou nem um álbum conceitual, nem um álbum genérico, mas o meio disso, por isso não faturou Grammy de Álbum do Ano.

    Mas, com certeza, se tornou um marco na carreira de Swift: letras excelentes, boa produção, as faixas ficaram bem colocadas na tracklist, e Taylor pode viajar entre vários estilos musicais durante o álbum. Desde o pop eletrônico de I Knew You Were Trouble até o pseudo-jazz de ''The Last Time(feat. Gary Ligthbody)''
    Expand
  6. Jan 25, 2016
    8
    Of Taylor's albums this is in my opinion the best all of them are brilliant but this is my favourite. Her follow-up 1989 is almost as good butOf Taylor's albums this is in my opinion the best all of them are brilliant but this is my favourite. Her follow-up 1989 is almost as good but I would say that this album narrowly takes it and it is deserving too. Expand
  7. Apr 4, 2013
    0
    huge fan at first but this is just awful. from the very bland acoustic/country tracks that have been done by everyone else and taylor herself.huge fan at first but this is just awful. from the very bland acoustic/country tracks that have been done by everyone else and taylor herself. sounds redone.rehashed,reductive. no just no. some standout tracks like red,state of grace and begin again save the album from trash. but everything else is just worth puking over but it looks like someone already did. Expand

See all 131 User Reviews