Red Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 804 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Taylor Swift's fourth album was produced by Max Martin and features Mark Foster (Foster the People) and singer/songwriter Lori McKenna.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Big Machine Records
  • Genre(s): Pop, Country, Pop/Rock, Teen Pop, Contemporary Country, Country-Pop
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. I like the feisty ones, as I generally do. But "Begin Again" and especially "Stay Stay Stay" stay happy and hit just as hard.
  2. It's sexy, daring, and complete.
  3. 83
    One gets the feeling that it's not this guy's love she's after. She's just using him for the breakup songs. This time around, it's getting harder to feel sorry for Swift.
  4. Oct 22, 2012
    75
    Red is a big record that reaches for Importance and occasionally touches it, filled with well-constructed pop songs Taylor-made for bedroom duets.
  5. Oct 25, 2012
    70
    For all its manufactured essence, Red remains firmly grounded at the crossroads between innocence and experience.
  6. Oct 24, 2012
    70
    Red may not be a bona fide country album, but it could very well be a pop masterpiece, more in line with P!nk's latest, The Truth About Love, than even Red's predecessor, Speak Now.
  7. Oct 24, 2012
    40
    As it stands for now though, Red is a mixed bag, and it's up to you to sort through the majority-holding bad in order to find the good.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 133
  1. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Taylor Swift is one of the Greatest songwriters of Our generation. I have listened to the whole album and this album actually has a moreTaylor Swift is one of the Greatest songwriters of Our generation. I have listened to the whole album and this album actually has a more Country Rock feel to it rather than her usual Country Pop sound. This is the most mature album of her career and its worth every penny. I have to give Taylor credit for this album, she has grown and mastered the art of being a true artist. Taylor has a mix of Country, Pop, and Rock songs but that doesn't mean she's left her County roots. Songs like "Stay Stay Stay," "I Almost Do," and "Begin Again" remind us why Taylor is wining in the Country World right now. Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2017
    10
    Taylor Swift is one of the Greatest songwriters of Our generation. I have listened to the whole album and this album actually has a moreTaylor Swift is one of the Greatest songwriters of Our generation. I have listened to the whole album and this album actually has a more Country Rock feel to it rather than her usual Country Pop sound. This is the most mature album of her career and its worth every penny. I have to give Taylor credit for this album, she has grown and mastered the art of being a true artist. Taylor has a mix of Country, Pop, and Rock songs but that doesn't mean she's left her County roots. Songs like "Stay Stay Stay," "I Almost Do," and "Begin Again" remind us why Taylor is wining in the Country World right now. Expand
  3. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    Red is just further confirmation that Taylor Swift is one of the greatest singer songwriters in the world today. What I find amazing is thatRed is just further confirmation that Taylor Swift is one of the greatest singer songwriters in the world today. What I find amazing is that almost every song on every album could be a hit single and those included on this latest offering are no different. Personally I couldn't care less whether a song is deemed country or pop, a great song is a great song and Red is full of great songs. Taylor has written more amazing songs at 22 than most do in a lifetime. Of course Taylor isn't just an incredible songwriter she's also an incredible singer which means Red, like her previous offerings, is a must have album. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    I think Red is Taylor's most entertaining album by far. Many people accused Taylor of sounding the same for her past albums, now I think theyI think Red is Taylor's most entertaining album by far. Many people accused Taylor of sounding the same for her past albums, now I think they can't say the same. She has definitely branched out a lot musically. Experimenting with dubstep, playing with pop, indie and rock, it is basically a buffet of genre choices and there is something inside that could appeal to each person. Not only did she improve sonically, her lyrics and songwriting has grown sharper than ever. "Treacherous", "All Too Well" are great examples how Taylor has shown growth and maturity in her writing, evoking feelings that few can do with words in a song. Some may criticise her going into pop, but I think her pop songs are more brilliant than most you hear on radio. "22", despite sounding like a brainless pop piece meant for dancing round the bedroom at the surface, it actually conveys the confusing emotions young adults have and I don't think you can easily find a mainstream pop song with such lyrical detail. Even if this album may not be her best album, I think it bodes for more better things to come, hopefully refining her sound yet still keeping her versatility . Who knows, she may be the next Joni Mitchell. Expand
  5. Oct 11, 2016
    9
    Demorei pra gostar mais de desse álbum, tem mais qualidade que 1989.

    Meu Top 5 Tirando os singles: Everything Has Changed (Feat. Ed
    Demorei pra gostar mais de desse álbum, tem mais qualidade que 1989.

    Meu Top 5 Tirando os singles:

    Everything Has Changed (Feat. Ed Sheeran), I Almost Do, Treacherous, Stay Stay Stay e Starlight
    Expand
  6. Sep 4, 2017
    8
    while Speak Now was urgent, sparkling and occasionally too hectic, Red is breezy, warm and satisfying
    opening with the breathtaking Joshua
    while Speak Now was urgent, sparkling and occasionally too hectic, Red is breezy, warm and satisfying
    opening with the breathtaking Joshua Tree-redolent "State of Grace", Swift takes no time to conjure her unique knack of blending genres with her sharp lyricism
    her most refined genres (country pop and folk pop) are presented most keenly in tracks such as "Treacherous," "All Too Well," "Sad Beautiful Tragic," "The Lucky One" and "Begin Again"
    perhaps the biggest standout on this record (other than "State of Grace," of course) is the country-infused power pop stomper "Holy Ground," which provides the listener with some of Swift's best lyrics and most soaring harmonies thus far, all over pounding beats
    this record is filled with rockier beats without jeopardizing Swift's clever pop sensibilities, and is tied with Speak Now as the best album of her career
    Expand
  7. May 21, 2013
    0
    Taylor Swift! OMG drop acid to my ears, shoot me in the head, but spare me from the dumbness of this woman. Crap music, crap personality, aTaylor Swift! OMG drop acid to my ears, shoot me in the head, but spare me from the dumbness of this woman. Crap music, crap personality, a dumb person, sad! People support this freak with money, but this is how masses think... Expand

See all 133 User Reviews