Red - Taylor Swift
Red Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 290 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Taylor Swift's fourth album was produced by Max Martin and features Mark Foster (Foster the People) and singer/songwriter Lori McKenna.
  • Record Label: Big Machine Records
  • Genre(s): Pop, Country, Pop/Rock, Teen Pop, Contemporary Country, Country-Pop
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. I like the feisty ones, as I generally do. But "Begin Again" and especially "Stay Stay Stay" stay happy and hit just as hard.
  2. It's sexy, daring, and complete.
  3. 83
    One gets the feeling that it's not this guy's love she's after. She's just using him for the breakup songs. This time around, it's getting harder to feel sorry for Swift.
  4. Oct 22, 2012
    75
    Red is a big record that reaches for Importance and occasionally touches it, filled with well-constructed pop songs Taylor-made for bedroom duets.
  5. Oct 25, 2012
    70
    For all its manufactured essence, Red remains firmly grounded at the crossroads between innocence and experience.
  6. Oct 24, 2012
    70
    Red may not be a bona fide country album, but it could very well be a pop masterpiece, more in line with P!nk's latest, The Truth About Love, than even Red's predecessor, Speak Now.
  7. Oct 24, 2012
    40
    As it stands for now though, Red is a mixed bag, and it's up to you to sort through the majority-holding bad in order to find the good.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 81
  2. Negative: 10 out of 81
  1. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Taylor Swift is one of the Greatest songwriters of Our generation. I have listened to the whole album and this album actually has a more Country Rock feel to it rather than her usual Country Pop sound. This is the most mature album of her career and its worth every penny. I have to give Taylor credit for this album, she has grown and mastered the art of being a true artist. Taylor has a mix of Country, Pop, and Rock songs but that doesn't mean she's left her County roots. Songs like "Stay Stay Stay," "I Almost Do," and "Begin Again" remind us why Taylor is wining in the Country World right now. Expand
  2. Jun 28, 2014
    10
    RED
    The album is a blend of country, country pop and alternative songs.
    SHE IS STILL COUNTRY - every song has country influences and you can
    hear them. Country is defined as story telling and you learn so much about her life from the 19 songs (including Deluxe Version). People that slate this album aren't being fair. Its her 4th album and you cant expect her to stick just to country she has to expand and grow as an artist and this album showcases her move into new country influenced genres. Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    Red is a magnificently stunning album. The reviews on here are unusually low, but the album is most definitely not a disappointment in any way. It delivers on so many grounds that it's competing for one of the best albums in recent years on my list.
    *Best Song on the Album: The Last Time (feat. Gary Lightbody of Snow Patrol)
    *Standouts: I Knew You Were Trouble., 22, Holy Ground, Sad Beautiful Tragic, Everything Has Changed (feat. Ed Sheeran), We Are Never Getting Back Together, Red, Begin Again
    Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    Left me speechless. I've been a swifty for a long time now. Well, there is no way anyone could compare "Red" to any of Taylor's previous albums (Speak Now, Fearless..) Because on this one, she tried to change her style a bit which should not be received negatively! She was just trying to spread her wings musically and I'm a huge fan of her courage. Red may not be as lyrically strong as its predecessors, but it's still so Goddamn good and people love it! I personally do. I Salute Taylor for doing such a flawless album. I salute her and I appreciate this new astonishment.. It's sexy, fun and beautifully-done ! Cheers ! Expand
  5. Oct 27, 2012
    8
    This is a good follow-up to speak now. It may not be a big leap forward but an advance, nonetheless.The mix of different musical styles make the album sound fresh with every play. And Taylor's voice is beginning to show an enormous potential for other, more demanding pieces in the future. If you're not a fan and just a pop music enthusiast, Red will satisfy auditory senses. An enjoyable piece of pop. Red is a winner. Expand
  6. Jan 16, 2013
    7
    Taylor is a very talented artist but in this album she got out of her confort zone wich is Country and i think she did a great job , however vocaly she is not a great singer but the way she talks about her life and her story trought the songs is very beautiful . Expand
  7. Apr 4, 2013
    0
    huge fan at first but this is just awful. from the very bland acoustic/country tracks that have been done by everyone else and taylor herself. sounds redone.rehashed,reductive. no just no. some standout tracks like red,state of grace and begin again save the album from trash. but everything else is just worth puking over but it looks like someone already did. Expand

See all 81 User Reviews