Red

Red Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 654 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Taylor Swift's fourth album was produced by Max Martin and features Mark Foster (Foster the People) and singer/songwriter Lori McKenna.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Big Machine Records
  • Genre(s): Pop, Country, Pop/Rock, Teen Pop, Contemporary Country, Country-Pop
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. I like the feisty ones, as I generally do. But "Begin Again" and especially "Stay Stay Stay" stay happy and hit just as hard.
  2. It's sexy, daring, and complete.
  3. 83
    One gets the feeling that it's not this guy's love she's after. She's just using him for the breakup songs. This time around, it's getting harder to feel sorry for Swift.
  4. Oct 22, 2012
    75
    Red is a big record that reaches for Importance and occasionally touches it, filled with well-constructed pop songs Taylor-made for bedroom duets.
  5. Oct 25, 2012
    70
    For all its manufactured essence, Red remains firmly grounded at the crossroads between innocence and experience.
  6. Oct 24, 2012
    70
    Red may not be a bona fide country album, but it could very well be a pop masterpiece, more in line with P!nk's latest, The Truth About Love, than even Red's predecessor, Speak Now.
  7. Oct 24, 2012
    40
    As it stands for now though, Red is a mixed bag, and it's up to you to sort through the majority-holding bad in order to find the good.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 119
  2. Negative: 11 out of 119
  1. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Taylor Swift is one of the Greatest songwriters of Our generation. I have listened to the whole album and this album actually has a moreTaylor Swift is one of the Greatest songwriters of Our generation. I have listened to the whole album and this album actually has a more Country Rock feel to it rather than her usual Country Pop sound. This is the most mature album of her career and its worth every penny. I have to give Taylor credit for this album, she has grown and mastered the art of being a true artist. Taylor has a mix of Country, Pop, and Rock songs but that doesn't mean she's left her County roots. Songs like "Stay Stay Stay," "I Almost Do," and "Begin Again" remind us why Taylor is wining in the Country World right now. Expand
  2. Jun 19, 2017
    10
    Obra de arte. Red el cuarto álbum de estudio de la cantante y compositora estadounidense Taylor Swift, se lanzó el 22 de octubre de 2012 .
    16
    Obra de arte. Red el cuarto álbum de estudio de la cantante y compositora estadounidense Taylor Swift, se lanzó el 22 de octubre de 2012 .
    16 canciones, compuestas la por la propia Taylor 10 de ellas, y en el resto contó con la colaboración de los compositores Dan Wilson, Max Martin, Shellback, Liz Rose, Jacknife Lee, Gary Lightbody, Ed Sheeran y Patrick Warren . álbum incluye principalmente géneros tales como el country, el pop rock, el country pop, el pop, el country contemporáneo y el teen pop.
    Expand
  3. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    Just awesome. We can't comment a lot. Every song on RED is worth a listen. Stand-outs: I Knew You Were Trouble, All Too Well and Begin Again.Just awesome. We can't comment a lot. Every song on RED is worth a listen. Stand-outs: I Knew You Were Trouble, All Too Well and Begin Again. Well done Taylor. You proved, once again, that you're one of the best artists nowadays. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    I think Red is Taylor's most entertaining album by far. Many people accused Taylor of sounding the same for her past albums, now I think theyI think Red is Taylor's most entertaining album by far. Many people accused Taylor of sounding the same for her past albums, now I think they can't say the same. She has definitely branched out a lot musically. Experimenting with dubstep, playing with pop, indie and rock, it is basically a buffet of genre choices and there is something inside that could appeal to each person. Not only did she improve sonically, her lyrics and songwriting has grown sharper than ever. "Treacherous", "All Too Well" are great examples how Taylor has shown growth and maturity in her writing, evoking feelings that few can do with words in a song. Some may criticise her going into pop, but I think her pop songs are more brilliant than most you hear on radio. "22", despite sounding like a brainless pop piece meant for dancing round the bedroom at the surface, it actually conveys the confusing emotions young adults have and I don't think you can easily find a mainstream pop song with such lyrical detail. Even if this album may not be her best album, I think it bodes for more better things to come, hopefully refining her sound yet still keeping her versatility . Who knows, she may be the next Joni Mitchell. Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2014
    9
    Taylor Swift's best album, no doubts. It's mature and the songs are incredible, there are only two of them that I didn't like but it still incredible.
  6. Dec 17, 2014
    8
    Red es la excusa perfecta para ver a Taylor como candidata a la reina del Country... Una experta compositora que mezcla el alma de susRed es la excusa perfecta para ver a Taylor como candidata a la reina del Country... Una experta compositora que mezcla el alma de sus composiciones con Rock y pop de una forma elegante y experta. Expand
  7. Apr 4, 2013
    0
    huge fan at first but this is just awful. from the very bland acoustic/country tracks that have been done by everyone else and taylor herself.huge fan at first but this is just awful. from the very bland acoustic/country tracks that have been done by everyone else and taylor herself. sounds redone.rehashed,reductive. no just no. some standout tracks like red,state of grace and begin again save the album from trash. but everything else is just worth puking over but it looks like someone already did. Expand

See all 119 User Reviews