Red

Red Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 556 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Taylor Swift's fourth album was produced by Max Martin and features Mark Foster (Foster the People) and singer/songwriter Lori McKenna.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Big Machine Records
  • Genre(s): Pop, Country, Pop/Rock, Teen Pop, Contemporary Country, Country-Pop
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. I like the feisty ones, as I generally do. But "Begin Again" and especially "Stay Stay Stay" stay happy and hit just as hard.
  2. It's sexy, daring, and complete.
  3. 83
    One gets the feeling that it's not this guy's love she's after. She's just using him for the breakup songs. This time around, it's getting harder to feel sorry for Swift.
  4. Oct 22, 2012
    75
    Red is a big record that reaches for Importance and occasionally touches it, filled with well-constructed pop songs Taylor-made for bedroom duets.
  5. Oct 25, 2012
    70
    For all its manufactured essence, Red remains firmly grounded at the crossroads between innocence and experience.
  6. Oct 24, 2012
    70
    Red may not be a bona fide country album, but it could very well be a pop masterpiece, more in line with P!nk's latest, The Truth About Love, than even Red's predecessor, Speak Now.
  7. Oct 24, 2012
    40
    As it stands for now though, Red is a mixed bag, and it's up to you to sort through the majority-holding bad in order to find the good.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 100
  2. Negative: 11 out of 100
  1. Feb 9, 2016
    10
    Miss Swift is exciting by starting her sections with Max Martin and Shellback, but is the final result be suitable for the album context?Miss Swift is exciting by starting her sections with Max Martin and Shellback, but is the final result be suitable for the album context? Maybe not, but she surpasses herself again showing her poetry with "Begin Again" and the stunning "All Too Well". Great job, country/pop princess! Expand
  2. Feb 27, 2013
    10
    Album of the year!
    RED includes two or three weak songs, BUT there's 14 Amazing songs in there!
    State of grace, I almost do, All too
    Album of the year!
    RED includes two or three weak songs, BUT there's 14 Amazing songs in there!
    State of grace, I almost do, All too well.... This album was absolutely one of the best albums of the year
    Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Taylor Swift is one of the Greatest songwriters of Our generation. I have listened to the whole album and this album actually has a moreTaylor Swift is one of the Greatest songwriters of Our generation. I have listened to the whole album and this album actually has a more Country Rock feel to it rather than her usual Country Pop sound. This is the most mature album of her career and its worth every penny. I have to give Taylor credit for this album, she has grown and mastered the art of being a true artist. Taylor has a mix of Country, Pop, and Rock songs but that doesn't mean she's left her County roots. Songs like "Stay Stay Stay," "I Almost Do," and "Begin Again" remind us why Taylor is wining in the Country World right now. Expand
  4. Oct 28, 2012
    9
    I wasn't sold at first and was a bit confused by the randomness of style from track to track. But somehow this album grew on me. AfterI wasn't sold at first and was a bit confused by the randomness of style from track to track. But somehow this album grew on me. After listening to it a couple times there's a coherence to the story she's telling here. I would like to see her ditch Max Martin though... She shines much brighter when her songs are her own. I like it. And I'm not usually drawn to sugary pop, and will be much happier listening to the likes of Bon Iver, but there's something in Taylor's music that holds me captivated. Expand
  5. Oct 27, 2012
    8
    This is a good follow-up to speak now. It may not be a big leap forward but an advance, nonetheless.The mix of different musical styles makeThis is a good follow-up to speak now. It may not be a big leap forward but an advance, nonetheless.The mix of different musical styles make the album sound fresh with every play. And Taylor's voice is beginning to show an enormous potential for other, more demanding pieces in the future. If you're not a fan and just a pop music enthusiast, Red will satisfy auditory senses. An enjoyable piece of pop. Red is a winner. Expand
  6. Dec 8, 2012
    8
    I was never really into Taylor Swift, but I decided to give the lady a chance with this album. In all honesty, it's my second favorite albumI was never really into Taylor Swift, but I decided to give the lady a chance with this album. In all honesty, it's my second favorite album of the year. There's no denying that Taylor has the music industry by the balls. In all honesty, she did a fantastic job with this record! Expand
  7. Apr 4, 2013
    0
    huge fan at first but this is just awful. from the very bland acoustic/country tracks that have been done by everyone else and taylor herself.huge fan at first but this is just awful. from the very bland acoustic/country tracks that have been done by everyone else and taylor herself. sounds redone.rehashed,reductive. no just no. some standout tracks like red,state of grace and begin again save the album from trash. but everything else is just worth puking over but it looks like someone already did. Expand

See all 100 User Reviews