Red - Taylor Swift
Red Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 343 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Taylor Swift's fourth album was produced by Max Martin and features Mark Foster (Foster the People) and singer/songwriter Lori McKenna.
  • Record Label: Big Machine Records
  • Genre(s): Pop, Country, Pop/Rock, Teen Pop, Contemporary Country, Country-Pop
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. I like the feisty ones, as I generally do. But "Begin Again" and especially "Stay Stay Stay" stay happy and hit just as hard.
  2. It's sexy, daring, and complete.
  3. 83
    One gets the feeling that it's not this guy's love she's after. She's just using him for the breakup songs. This time around, it's getting harder to feel sorry for Swift.
  4. Oct 22, 2012
    75
    Red is a big record that reaches for Importance and occasionally touches it, filled with well-constructed pop songs Taylor-made for bedroom duets.
  5. Oct 25, 2012
    70
    For all its manufactured essence, Red remains firmly grounded at the crossroads between innocence and experience.
  6. Oct 24, 2012
    70
    Red may not be a bona fide country album, but it could very well be a pop masterpiece, more in line with P!nk's latest, The Truth About Love, than even Red's predecessor, Speak Now.
  7. Oct 24, 2012
    40
    As it stands for now though, Red is a mixed bag, and it's up to you to sort through the majority-holding bad in order to find the good.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 87
  2. Negative: 10 out of 87
  1. Nov 4, 2014
    10
    Taylor Swift is one of those few artists whose career gets bigger and bigger with each passing year. His latest album "Red" has meant theTaylor Swift is one of those few artists whose career gets bigger and bigger with each passing year. His latest album "Red" has meant the passage that was lacking for the last time imminent internationalization. With Red, Swift won for the second time debut on the charts a week of sales above a million copies and became the first female musical act to do so, also had his first # 1 single on the Billboard charts with nominated last year Record of the Year for "We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together" and a global hit as was "I Knew You Were Trouble".
    Red is the most sold for this year's Grammys with just over six million copies (which sells all of the other four nominees for album of the year together) and generally had a good reception from the critics album, which they name their album more mature and adventurous so far. In fact, this album Taylor first dares to expose without any camouflage pop genre, and it was really well as he promoted the album despite being competing this year in the country categories, but in that case it would work in music pop more honest and intelligent than we have seen at least the last five or six years.
    Anyway Network has its downs, and it is in those moments where he experimented with a more commercial and mainstream sound, songs such as "22" or the same ... We Are Never noticed a decline and it feels the album could have been a masterpiece if Swift had decided to work with what she speaks perfect, soft melodies, epic sounds and powerful lyrics. Of those things are full Red rises undoubtedly outweigh all its shortcomings on issues such as Treacherous, Sad Tragic Beautiful, Begin Again (nominated for best country song), Holy Ground and definitely if you can call it a masterpiece "All Too Well ". That song is regardless of what the nominees for song of the year, the best that existed in the period of eligibility (I was affected by not being released as a single) and the best thing ever written Taylor Swift. Also mention the only two experiments that worked and think you are Red and State Of Grace.
    Expand
  2. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    Left me speechless. I've been a swifty for a long time now. Well, there is no way anyone could compare "Red" to any of Taylor's previousLeft me speechless. I've been a swifty for a long time now. Well, there is no way anyone could compare "Red" to any of Taylor's previous albums (Speak Now, Fearless..) Because on this one, she tried to change her style a bit which should not be received negatively! She was just trying to spread her wings musically and I'm a huge fan of her courage. Red may not be as lyrically strong as its predecessors, but it's still so Goddamn good and people love it! I personally do. I Salute Taylor for doing such a flawless album. I salute her and I appreciate this new astonishment.. It's sexy, fun and beautifully-done ! Cheers ! Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Taylor Swift is one of the Greatest songwriters of Our generation. I have listened to the whole album and this album actually has a moreTaylor Swift is one of the Greatest songwriters of Our generation. I have listened to the whole album and this album actually has a more Country Rock feel to it rather than her usual Country Pop sound. This is the most mature album of her career and its worth every penny. I have to give Taylor credit for this album, she has grown and mastered the art of being a true artist. Taylor has a mix of Country, Pop, and Rock songs but that doesn't mean she's left her County roots. Songs like "Stay Stay Stay," "I Almost Do," and "Begin Again" remind us why Taylor is wining in the Country World right now. Expand
  4. Oct 24, 2012
    9
    This is possibly the best album from Taylor. she brings different kind of genres into just one album and this property makes it memorableThis is possibly the best album from Taylor. she brings different kind of genres into just one album and this property makes it memorable and great. I personally liked all of the songs but the most ones that i REALLY shocked by are ; Red, Treacherous, I Knew You Were Trouble, All Too Well, 22, The Last Time, Sad Beautiful Tragic & Begin Again Expand
  5. Oct 27, 2012
    8
    This is a good follow-up to speak now. It may not be a big leap forward but an advance, nonetheless.The mix of different musical styles makeThis is a good follow-up to speak now. It may not be a big leap forward but an advance, nonetheless.The mix of different musical styles make the album sound fresh with every play. And Taylor's voice is beginning to show an enormous potential for other, more demanding pieces in the future. If you're not a fan and just a pop music enthusiast, Red will satisfy auditory senses. An enjoyable piece of pop. Red is a winner. Expand
  6. Dec 8, 2012
    8
    I was never really into Taylor Swift, but I decided to give the lady a chance with this album. In all honesty, it's my second favorite albumI was never really into Taylor Swift, but I decided to give the lady a chance with this album. In all honesty, it's my second favorite album of the year. There's no denying that Taylor has the music industry by the balls. In all honesty, she did a fantastic job with this record! Expand
  7. Apr 4, 2013
    0
    huge fan at first but this is just awful. from the very bland acoustic/country tracks that have been done by everyone else and taylor herself.huge fan at first but this is just awful. from the very bland acoustic/country tracks that have been done by everyone else and taylor herself. sounds redone.rehashed,reductive. no just no. some standout tracks like red,state of grace and begin again save the album from trash. but everything else is just worth puking over but it looks like someone already did. Expand

See all 87 User Reviews