Red - Taylor Swift
Red Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 271 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Taylor Swift's fourth album was produced by Max Martin and features Mark Foster (Foster the People) and singer/songwriter Lori McKenna.
  • Record Label: Big Machine Records
  • Genre(s): Pop, Country, Pop/Rock, Teen Pop, Contemporary Country, Country-Pop
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. I like the feisty ones, as I generally do. But "Begin Again" and especially "Stay Stay Stay" stay happy and hit just as hard.
  2. It's sexy, daring, and complete.
  3. 83
    One gets the feeling that it's not this guy's love she's after. She's just using him for the breakup songs. This time around, it's getting harder to feel sorry for Swift.
  4. Oct 22, 2012
    75
    Red is a big record that reaches for Importance and occasionally touches it, filled with well-constructed pop songs Taylor-made for bedroom duets.
  5. Oct 25, 2012
    70
    For all its manufactured essence, Red remains firmly grounded at the crossroads between innocence and experience.
  6. Oct 24, 2012
    70
    Red may not be a bona fide country album, but it could very well be a pop masterpiece, more in line with P!nk's latest, The Truth About Love, than even Red's predecessor, Speak Now.
  7. Oct 24, 2012
    40
    As it stands for now though, Red is a mixed bag, and it's up to you to sort through the majority-holding bad in order to find the good.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 74
  2. Negative: 9 out of 74
  1. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    O Album é Otimo,Só falta msm o Feat com a Sely mais...Prefiro a taylor Pop do que country ,vendeu muuuito amooo isso é ótimo pois cantora que n vende n é nada -n Expand
  2. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    Such an outstanding album, showcases Swift's natural talent in songwriting. Her dabbling in different genres from pure country, to synth-pop, and to dubstep not only shows her versatility as an artist, but it seems almost daring and brave. Her progression in songwriting is evident in beautifully-crafted pieces such as Treacherous and Begin Again; and then in All Too Well, she unleashes her best-ever lyrics yet: "You call me up again just to break me like a promise/So casually cruel in the name of being honest". As a listener, one minute you're there crying in heart-break, and then suddenly, you're there dancing along to fast-tempo anthems like 22 and We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together. No matter what people say about the album in a positive or critical way figures never lie Red sold 1.2 million copies in its debut week, a feat achieved by less than a handful in music history. The commercial success is a testament of Swift's incredible talent. Red is sure to keep fans just as excited for her next album. Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Taylor Swift is one of the Greatest songwriters of Our generation. I have listened to the whole album and this album actually has a more Country Rock feel to it rather than her usual Country Pop sound. This is the most mature album of her career and its worth every penny. I have to give Taylor credit for this album, she has grown and mastered the art of being a true artist. Taylor has a mix of Country, Pop, and Rock songs but that doesn't mean she's left her County roots. Songs like "Stay Stay Stay," "I Almost Do," and "Begin Again" remind us why Taylor is wining in the Country World right now. Expand
  4. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    Speak Now showed that Taylor Swift was becoming one of the strongest songwriters in the business and Red takes her further along this journey. Red is is not as consistent as Speak Now, but the compensation for this is that the good tracks on Red are the best that Swift has ever written. All Too Well is her masterpiece, a strong ballad that tells an intricate story of a love that flames quickly and dies. State of Grace shows Swift getting experimental; many reviewers have compared this song to U2 and the driving drum beat and strong lyrics make it a standout (also check out the acoustic version on the deluxe album simply gorgeous). Treacherous is probably as sensual as Swift is ever going to get in a song; she sings about being enthralled by a lover over warm-sounding guitar strings. Holy Ground rocks and is probably the happiest break-up song you're ever likely to hear.

    These are the songs that are instantly infectious, but there are many other tracks that grow on you over time. I Almost Do, Sad Beautiful Tragic and Begin Again are filled with emotion and Stay Stay Stay and Starlight never fail to raise a smile.

    Like any still-young artist should, Swift tries out many musical styles on Red, seeing what fits. The three pop Max Martin singles that have been released are misleading they're Swift's only forays into pure pop. They work well enough at lightening up the album at the right moments (We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together seems smarter when paired with I Almost Do the two songs explore different reactions to the same problem) but they're not representative of the whole album at all. The rest of Red contains a mix of rock, acoustic/folk and country. If you appreciate a strong melody, good instrumentals and old-fashioned songwriting that tells three minute stories with each song, you'll find so much to enjoy about Red.
    Expand
  5. Nov 24, 2012
    8
    RED is an album that is meant to have a much more 'pop' appeal than Swift's previous albums. I have to admit that I am not a fan of Country Music, and Swift's cross over appeal is the reason why she is so famous in the US. Some of her songs in this album is meant to be pop songs, and for me, and is meant for those who have very little appreciation of country music (such as yours truly). Give this one a try if Swift's music wasn't your cup of tea before. Expand
  6. Mar 9, 2013
    7
    A simply and cute mix of country pop, each song makes you relax, dance and sing alone, a very good work, I'm surprised, this album show music of every times. Expand
  7. Apr 4, 2013
    0
    huge fan at first but this is just awful. from the very bland acoustic/country tracks that have been done by everyone else and taylor herself. sounds redone.rehashed,reductive. no just no. some standout tracks like red,state of grace and begin again save the album from trash. but everything else is just worth puking over but it looks like someone already did. Expand

See all 74 User Reviews