Reflektor - Arcade Fire
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 429 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 429

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 30, 2013
    0
    Has to be the most overrated album I have heard in a long time. I loved arcade fires first two albums, the suburbs was decent but a bit long and drawn out. They have tried something different with this album which i have nothing against but this simply isn't enjoyable listen to. Every single song could be cut by three minutes. Once you think your enjoying one song it drags on for no apparent reason for another three minutes. The only critical review i agree with is clash. Very disappointing. Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2013
    4
    Falling short (ironic since most tracks are too long) of the 3 previous albums. It definitely doesn't measure up to all the hype and viral promotions.
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    4
    I am a fan of almost everything that AF have done. There were a few lesser tunes that never really stuck with me but for the most part each of their albums were solid from front to back so that one could just pop it in and let it spin without needing to skip any tracks.
    Unfortunately this trend, I feel, had ended. Certainly there are some good tracks here, and when the single was
    released 6 weeks prior to the full CD my excitement level increased because I really liked it, listening to it many times. The first track has everything that I loved about AF, interesting sounds, dramatic moments, subtler sections. One thing that did worry me was the track's length, at 7+ minutes even after the first spin I found it at least 1-1/2 to 2 minutes too long as it just seems to repeat and meander, stumbling to the finish line.
    This is the core problem with the full-length. Many songs simply overstay their welcome, well after finishing their thoughts/themes, and just seem to aimlessly linger. Also, I personally found that several of the tracks really didn't move one way or the other, not that they were bad, they were just there, kind of soulless. This album, for me, is just too over-indulgent, like they had all this new-found money and tools at their disposal and no-one there to rein them in a little, to show them that in most cases less is more. Unfortunately they have committed the biggest sin for me as a music lover, and that is indifference. I would rather love it or hate it, but when I find myself not really feeling anything about it, that's worse. All the ingredients are there: the voices, the sounds and the production (which I find muddy on many tracks, like over-produced, or mastered too high is it just me?) but for me there is a huge lack of cohesion, soul, and self-editing. I find myself skipping over many tracks, and really not going back to the CD often for a re-listen. Every band has mis-steps in there discography, and hopefully that is all this is, because I know what they are capable of, and this really misses the mark.
    Expand
  4. Nov 7, 2013
    4
    Huge letdown by one of my favorite bands. The first side is a bad try at disco pop via self examining lyrics, second side is just overlong and repetitive to the point of exhaustion. If you really listen tot his album, all the way through, there is no way you will not be bored. From most bands this is normal but i expected more out of Arcade Fire. They made Funeral, easily one of the best debut albums of all time, and Neon Bible and Suburbs were also great and challenging in their own way. They seem to do a lot better when the albums are SHORTER. Not Longer. Longer=bad. Maybe the next album will see them out of this slump. Only songs I thought were great were "Flashbulb Eyes" and "It's Never Over" Expand
  5. Nov 11, 2013
    4
    Unluckily Arcade Fire seemed to have focused on a form rather than on a substance. I'm not saying that the first is bad, I'm saying that the latter is lacking. I miss catchy and though nontrivial songs they used to develop with *childish* ease.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Dec 18, 2013
    90
    The double-disc, dual volume album that results is one that finds the Canadian seven-piece sounding liberated, from stylistic and budgetary constraints both. [No. 105, p.52]
  2. Dec 16, 2013
    80
    As it stands, Reflektor is Arcade Fire’s most diverse and sonically interesting work to date.
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    67
    As a whole, there are throwaway tracks ("Porno") and overstayed welcomes (ambiguous anthem "We Exist"), Butler playing roulette with themes: the pains of indie rock ("Normal Person"), star-crossed Greek mythology ("Awful Sound [Oh Eurydice]," "It's Never Over [Oh Orpheus]"), and existential despair ("Afterlife").