Reflektor

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Reflektor Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 546 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The double album from the Canadian indie rock band was produced with James Murphy and Markus Dravs.
Buy On

Top Track

Porno
You take the makeup Off your eyes I've got to see you Hear your sacred sighs Before the break up Comes the silence I'm talking to you You say you're... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    100
    While the first disc winds its way sporadically through the humid alleys and hazy bars of a multi-dimensional shantytown, the second half explodes outward upon the magnificent vista of symphonic discotheque.
  2. Sep 27, 2013
    90
    Reflektor is closer to turning-point classics such as U2's Achtung Baby and Radiohead's Kid A--a thrilling act of risk and renewal by a band with established commercial appeal and a greater fear of the average, of merely being liked.
  3. Magnet
    Dec 18, 2013
    90
    The double-disc, dual volume album that results is one that finds the Canadian seven-piece sounding liberated, from stylistic and budgetary constraints both. [No. 105, p.52]
  4. Oct 24, 2013
    80
    It is exhaustingly, daringly, bafflingly brilliant, but you might want to lie down in a dark room after listening.
  5. Oct 28, 2013
    75
    The finish provides a slow comedown from the buzz of the album’s first half--which by itself ranks with Arcade Fire’s best, most challenging work. The textural experiments of Part 2 can’t keep pace.
  6. Nov 7, 2013
    70
    Reflektor hits too many high points to entirely consider it a failure, and despite its convoluted lyrical content and overreaching scope it still crosses the double album finish line with satisfactory results.
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    40
    ‘It’s Never Over’ is this band’s best TV On The Radio impression, and ‘Porno’ almost goes G-funk: a pleasant surprise. But undercooked electronics, impotent rhetoric, too-familiar crescendo-ing structures and an overall feeling that this needs further post-production attention render Reflektor an entirely substandard album.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 106
  2. Negative: 1 out of 106
  1. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    Reflektor is a masterpiece .I found The Suburbs a bit AOR made for the lovers of country music and far away from the FuneralReflektor is a masterpiece .I found The Suburbs a bit AOR made for the lovers of country music and far away from the Funeral spirit This one puts them in the game again This really amazing alternative music .I almost scream when i hear Win singing so sexy on the Normal Person intro "Do you like rock n roll music cuz i don't know if i do". Epic album the best of the year with James Blake Daft Punk My Bloody Valentine and Kurt Vile Expand
  2. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    I you claim to be a Music lover, this is the kind of music you should be listening.
    Its a wonderful experience from start to end, its
    I you claim to be a Music lover, this is the kind of music you should be listening.
    Its a wonderful experience from start to end, its emotional, exiting, its a dream come true, The Great Arcade Fire did it again, and perfectly.
    Expand
  3. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    The best summary of modern music in two quite different discs. Various feelings is going to rip you apart while you consume this masterpiece.The best summary of modern music in two quite different discs. Various feelings is going to rip you apart while you consume this masterpiece. Hint: listen it at least 3 times before judging Expand
  4. Mar 11, 2015
    9
    Il en a fait du chemin ce petit groupe de Montréal. En 2011 c’était plutôt Who the **** Is Arcade Fire? Que s’est-il passé depuis deux ansIl en a fait du chemin ce petit groupe de Montréal. En 2011 c’était plutôt Who the **** Is Arcade Fire? Que s’est-il passé depuis deux ans pour qu’Arcade Fire devienne un groupe majeur et planétaire ? En dépit de l’évolution fulgurante de la musique Indie, le groupe montréalais s’est démarqué en continuant d’œuvrer sur la scène underground en plus d’utiliser sa notoriété pour mener à terme des projets spécifiques et typiquement AF. Les clips interactifs, les courts-métrages et autres spectacles secrets font maintenant partie intégrante du projet. Cela ne constitue cependant pas une place au top du palmarès. L’engouement qui a découlé du méga projet marketing derrière l’album a servi l’album dans le sens ou même avant sa sortie, c’était déjà une entité solide et distincte. Mieux encore, l’album nous a été présenté comme un véritable évènement. Sa diffusion en simultané sur Youtube, en plus d’avoir contrecarré à court terme les fuites sur internet, a permis au monde entier de profiter de l’album en même temps. Un tour de force si nous prenons en considérations le rythme incessant du 21e siècle. Ils, pour reprendre les mots d’un chroniqueur, nous ont offert un moment. C’est vrai. Impossible de ne pas parler de l’album en tant que tel. Contrairement aux autres œuvres présentées dans ce top 10, pas besoin d’une douzaine d’écoutes pour apprécier la nouvelle direction empruntée par le groupe. Réparti sur deux albums, Reflektor offre deux types d’états d’âme. Le premier, plus confortable et enivrant alors que le deuxième est plus pointu et revendicateur. La touche de James Murphy est à la fois omniprésente mais discrète. Il m’apparait évident qu’il a servi l’authenticité du nouveau son d’Arcade Fire plus que les compositions en général. Reflektor est un produit dérivé des réalités qu’avait à offrir l’année 2013. Il faut croire qu’Arcade Fire était vraiment pile dans le temps. Expand
  5. Nov 4, 2013
    8
    Arcade Fire returns three years after the release of their Grammy-winning Album of the Year, "The Suburbs" with their new double-disc setArcade Fire returns three years after the release of their Grammy-winning Album of the Year, "The Suburbs" with their new double-disc set "Reflektor" a sprawling, ambitious work containing 13 tracks.

    As you listen to the album, it's evident that Arcade Fire is one of the few modern rock bands that can properly construct a song in the classic sense with strong melodic hooks and intelligent lyrics. Like "The Suburbs", this is another 'zeitgeist' album that reflects the spirit of our times.

    The sound of this album is unlike any other in the band's catalog. Thick with bass synths and a fuller drum sound, it sounds huge, and there's a real emphasis on rhythm this time, inspired by the band's 2011 and 2012 trips to Haiti and Jamaica. "Here Comes the Night Time" is a highlight that switches tempo between a lilting Caribbean swing incorporating steel drums, to a frantic Haitian rara percussive assault at the apex of the song.

    Opening track "Reflektor", is another strong entry that sees lead vocalist Win Butler and wife Regine Chassange trading intertwined vocal lines over a conga-based beat. Rock legend David Bowie contributes backup vocals as the track builds to a sax and string-laden climax.

    "We Exist" is another dance-oriented tune with a bass-line similar to Michael Jackson's "Billie Jean". This is a good showcase for Arcade Fire's arrangement skills. They've taken a classic 3-minute pop single and extended it beyond 5 minutes through variations on the chorus hook and an extended bridge. Organ chords enter and play off against rising strings as the song reaches a crescendo in its final minute.

    Other notable tracks:

    - "Normal Person" with an explosive punk chorus that recalls Blur's "Song 2".

    - "Joan of Arc" a very catchy number with Regine adding French vocal lines ("Jeanne d'Arc oohhh...").

    - "It's Never Over (Oh Orpheus) pure 1980's epic new wave driven by bass synth, recalling New Order and Ultravox.

    - "Porno" an hypnotic keyboard-based track with subtle variations on the main hook that keeps it interesting throughout. Another track that recalls 80s UK-based synth bands, with a touch of Roxy Music.

    - "Afterlife" probably the most radio-friendly song that Arcade Fire has released. Big, rhythmic and celebratory.

    Lyrical themes: Duality; our digital age and its tenuous connections; lovers separated and reunited; the Greek myth of Orpheus and Eurydice (Win & Regine?) to name just a few.

    Flaws: The bass synths can weigh down some of the tracks. Songs like "Flashbulb Eyes" and "You Already Know" come off as throw-aways, lacking lyrical substance.

    Final thoughts: Side 2 is stronger on record, but the tracks on side one sound great in a live setting. Overall, a very solid album that aims high and mostly succeeds.
    Expand
  6. Nov 16, 2013
    8
    This album is well articulated, thoughtful piece of art. Reflektor the single, was released months in advance and I loved the track and it'sThis album is well articulated, thoughtful piece of art. Reflektor the single, was released months in advance and I loved the track and it's disco influence and I was already geared up for the album. The lyrical content is always important with Arcade Fire and I love what they talk about here and how they discuss it. My only critique would probably be the very end with supersymmetry. I had saw that it was 11minutes and was excited to hear what they explore but the last 2 3 minutes was this annoying sound that just continued to a halt. And that was the ending of the album. Other than that, it was a great album with great songs. Expand
  7. Oct 30, 2013
    0
    Has to be the most overrated album I have heard in a long time. I loved arcade fires first two albums, the suburbs was decent but a bit longHas to be the most overrated album I have heard in a long time. I loved arcade fires first two albums, the suburbs was decent but a bit long and drawn out. They have tried something different with this album which i have nothing against but this simply isn't enjoyable listen to. Every single song could be cut by three minutes. Once you think your enjoying one song it drags on for no apparent reason for another three minutes. The only critical review i agree with is clash. Very disappointing. Expand

See all 106 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from dozens of music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.