• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Reflektor Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 579 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The double album from the Canadian indie rock band was produced with James Murphy and Markus Dravs.
Buy On

Top Track

Porno
You take the makeup Off your eyes I've got to see you Hear your sacred sighs Before the break up Comes the silence I'm TALKING TO YOU You say you're... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    100
    While the first disc winds its way sporadically through the humid alleys and hazy bars of a multi-dimensional shantytown, the second half explodes outward upon the magnificent vista of symphonic discotheque.
  2. Sep 27, 2013
    90
    Reflektor is closer to turning-point classics such as U2's Achtung Baby and Radiohead's Kid A--a thrilling act of risk and renewal by a band with established commercial appeal and a greater fear of the average, of merely being liked.
  3. Magnet
    Dec 18, 2013
    90
    The double-disc, dual volume album that results is one that finds the Canadian seven-piece sounding liberated, from stylistic and budgetary constraints both. [No. 105, p.52]
  4. Oct 24, 2013
    80
    It is exhaustingly, daringly, bafflingly brilliant, but you might want to lie down in a dark room after listening.
  5. Oct 28, 2013
    75
    The finish provides a slow comedown from the buzz of the album’s first half--which by itself ranks with Arcade Fire’s best, most challenging work. The textural experiments of Part 2 can’t keep pace.
  6. Nov 7, 2013
    70
    Reflektor hits too many high points to entirely consider it a failure, and despite its convoluted lyrical content and overreaching scope it still crosses the double album finish line with satisfactory results.
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    40
    ‘It’s Never Over’ is this band’s best TV On The Radio impression, and ‘Porno’ almost goes G-funk: a pleasant surprise. But undercooked electronics, impotent rhetoric, too-familiar crescendo-ing structures and an overall feeling that this needs further post-production attention render Reflektor an entirely substandard album.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 108
  2. Negative: 1 out of 108
  1. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    Reflektor is a masterpiece .I found The Suburbs a bit AOR made for the lovers of country music and far away from the FuneralReflektor is a masterpiece .I found The Suburbs a bit AOR made for the lovers of country music and far away from the Funeral spirit This one puts them in the game again This really amazing alternative music .I almost scream when i hear Win singing so sexy on the Normal Person intro "Do you like rock n roll music cuz i don't know if i do". Epic album the best of the year with James Blake Daft Punk My Bloody Valentine and Kurt Vile Expand
  2. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    I you claim to be a Music lover, this is the kind of music you should be listening.
    Its a wonderful experience from start to end, its
    I you claim to be a Music lover, this is the kind of music you should be listening.
    Its a wonderful experience from start to end, its emotional, exiting, its a dream come true, The Great Arcade Fire did it again, and perfectly.
    Expand
  3. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    The best summary of modern music in two quite different discs. Various feelings is going to rip you apart while you consume this masterpiece.The best summary of modern music in two quite different discs. Various feelings is going to rip you apart while you consume this masterpiece. Hint: listen it at least 3 times before judging Expand
  4. Jul 2, 2017
    9
    Una vez mas Arcade Fire me sorprende con un disco que se disfruta de principio a fin. Esta banda conformada por talentosos musicos reflejanUna vez mas Arcade Fire me sorprende con un disco que se disfruta de principio a fin. Esta banda conformada por talentosos musicos reflejan una vez mas lo apasionado que son haciendo musica. La produccion y las liricas son muy agradables al odio. Expand
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    8
    In Reflektor Arcade Fire present a dark influence in their music the existentialism in all the phases, the reflective age, the future & theIn Reflektor Arcade Fire present a dark influence in their music the existentialism in all the phases, the reflective age, the future & the past, they innovate and create their own genre in all of the epic tracks This excellent compendium is an incredible change but they always have that inusual power for make amazing records changing their sound and never fails.
    In four albums this band have created worlds, the world of death and alienation, the world of religion and paranoia, the world of suburbs and childhood, and now a world of 'The present age is one of understanding, of reflection, devoid of passion, an age which flies into enthusiasm for a moment only to decline back into indolence. Action and passion is as absent in the present age as peril is absent from swimming in shallow waters' the philosophy of Søren Kierkegaard and Haitian rara music.
    The return of Arcade Fire is glorious and rich a great album that always be in our memory it's one of the best released in this amazing year. 8.5/10
    Expand
  6. Nov 25, 2013
    8
    Arcade Fire have come a pretty long ways at this point in their musical career. Three sprawling records in less than ten years, and now weArcade Fire have come a pretty long ways at this point in their musical career. Three sprawling records in less than ten years, and now we have Reflektor, their 4th studio album. I was skeptical on first listen, but this is the perfect record to analyze and listen too multiple times before you make your final verdict. Reflektor might be Arcade Fire's least best record, but what a beautiful, curveball of a record it is. Opens up with "Reflekor", a brilliant track where immediately James Murphy's production style is sprinkled throughout this entire album. This LP is split between two CD's, the first one I found very rock influenced, whereas the second disk I found pretty brooding, very dark in lyrical content mainly.

    All In All, Reflektor is an album I really had to listen to more than a few times to make my mind up about. This record will divide Arcade Fire fans, especially if they aren't used to bands changing their sound and starting over on a creative difference. As for me, Arcade Fire has made a brilliant follow-up to The Suburbs. B+
    Expand
  7. Oct 30, 2013
    0
    Has to be the most overrated album I have heard in a long time. I loved arcade fires first two albums, the suburbs was decent but a bit longHas to be the most overrated album I have heard in a long time. I loved arcade fires first two albums, the suburbs was decent but a bit long and drawn out. They have tried something different with this album which i have nothing against but this simply isn't enjoyable listen to. Every single song could be cut by three minutes. Once you think your enjoying one song it drags on for no apparent reason for another three minutes. The only critical review i agree with is clash. Very disappointing. Expand

See all 108 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from dozens of music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.