Reincarnated - Snoop Lion
Reincarnated Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Executive produced by Diplo and Major Lazer, the debut release for rapper Snoop Dogg under his new name was influenced by reggae and dancehall.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. 80
    This debut offering as Snoop Lion has much to recommend it, not least the infectious grooves devised by Diplo's Major Lazer production team.
  2. Apr 24, 2013
    75
    Reincarnated stands as an enjoyable pop record laced with an assortment of roots and dancehall reggae references.
  3. Jun 18, 2013
    60
    Reincarnated is not the usual Dogg's dinner, nor is it a roaring revelation. [Jul 2013, p.85]
  4. Apr 24, 2013
    50
    Too much of it is an ill-advised cultural safari that’s too weird to fly but too monied to fail. But where it succeeds, Reincarnated forces you to forget the principal ridiculousness of the enterprise, and that is no small feat.
  5. May 2, 2013
    40
    Like Snoop’s documentary of the same name, Reincarnated has its moments but needs an editor.
  6. Apr 23, 2013
    40
    Intentions may have been good, but the result smacks of carpetbagging.
  7. Apr 24, 2013
    30
    It ranks at or near the top of vexing choices made by once-platinum artists, full of lazy, half-baked pablum that does more harm to Snoop Lion than good for others.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 4 out of 11
  1. Apr 23, 2013
    10
    A whole new snoop, singing rather than rapping, reggae sounds instead of hip hop beats, and yet the masterclass artist has pulled it off magnificently. Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2013
    9
    Strictly speaking this album is not only a reincarnation but also an evolution and revelation on Snoop Lion's infinite talent. La La La...Snoop Lion laid this track down as if he was born to the roots of reggae. True roots reggae fans and true Snoop fans will love this album becasue it shows a more enlighend side to a truly talented artist. I was mostly impressed by the conscious lyrics of the songs portrayed such as "no guns allowed" When I heard this album I ran out and bought 10 copies to send to my friends that i know would appreciate this side of Snoop and It met all their expectations on more. I grew up listening to snoop and while this album is vastly different than anything he has ever done it does show that artists like snoop are not afraid of wanting more, showing more, willing to evolve and embrace various aspects of their talents. True, this album will take the regular fans by surprise but if given a chance to open up the minds it will take you to new places in the recesses of the mind and the aim of the artist. Big up! Reincarnated. The lion has returned and the light is truly shining! Expand
  3. May 1, 2013
    8
    Well, this album was a surprise. First, there was the name change, then a confirmed duet with Miley Cyrus and then the announcement that the album was going to be reggae. Eh? Well, this bewildering collection of information resulted in one of the most surprising albums I've reviewed this year. Snoop has done a complete 180 and is suddenly all about peace and love in this album that's bursting with pure Caribbean sunshine. Starting off with the epic Rebel Way, already my expectations were high and were fufilled as track after track went by. There's traditional reggae tracks like Here Comes The King, So Long, Fruit Juice, La La La and Harder Times, more modern ones like The Good Good and a throwback to his old style (but much more peaceful) in the form of Lighters Up. I especially appreciate his heartfelt call for peace in No Guns Allowed. The only downsides were the Rita Ora and Miley Cyrus collaborations. Other than that, this was thoroughly enjoyable and put a big smile on my face. Definitely get the deluxe version as all the tracks there are good. Now, a lot of fans have come down hard on Snoop for this album, calling him fake and saying he's betrayed his fans by changing his style. Well, I agree that those collabs with popstars was a bad idea, but his conversion to a new way of life and making an album to coincide with that seems genuine. And I believe an artist should challenge themselves and their fans too. This album was risky and I keep seeing negative reviews everywhere and I think it's so unwarranted. Very few rappers make albums about happiness and harmony. It's refreshing to hear a mainstream rapper, especially Snoop, of all people, sing songs that have absolutely nothing to do with bragging about how much money and hos they have. If he keeps making albums like this, I might consider myself a fan and I know I'll be playing Reincarnated all summer. Make the music you feel like making in your heart, Snoop, and let the haters hate. Collapse
  4. Aug 1, 2013
    7
    This is not the Snoop Dogg everybody used to like, this is a Snoop Dogg trying to get a forced entrance into the reggae music. Unfortunately, it's not great but it sure has some really good songs. Like "No Guns Allowed" and "So Long" but there are also some awful songs like "Get Away" but most of them give the relax that reggae music is supposed to give, anyways, if you wanna listen to Snoop in his best, just listen to Doggystyle. Expand
  5. May 5, 2013
    5
    Snoop uninspired now, desperately seeking the lost success. Reincarnated is an album ridiculous regarding Snoop Dogg (aka Snoop Lion) and a sufficient one regarding the production. Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2013
    2
    Just horrible. It's an improvement over his final rap album, Doggumentary, but that being said, it's not that much better. Many of the tracks, such as "Get Away", "Fruit Juice", and "The Good Good", are abominations to humanity. There are, however, some good songs, such as "Rebel Way", "No Guns Allowed", "Remedy", and "Harder Times", but other than those few songs, the rest is just trash. Expand
  7. Apr 28, 2013
    0
    Much like will.i.am's atrocious solo LP "#willpower", Snoop Dog has failed to pretend. He's failed to pretend to be someone else. You know, I thought It was that artists should be original, and experimental on building their own sound, but most mainstream pop and hip hop is trying to knock off as many other popular new artists as possible. No snoop, you're not Bob Marley, and you're not the next coming of him, either. You're too high. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews