Rejoicing In The Hands Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second LP from the New York-based artist/musician/crazy hippie Devendra Banhart (who studied at the San Francisco Art Institute) includes 16 of the 32 lo-fi tracks recorded in the living room of veteran recording engineer Lynn Bridges. The remaining 16 will be released on a separateThe second LP from the New York-based artist/musician/crazy hippie Devendra Banhart (who studied at the San Francisco Art Institute) includes 16 of the 32 lo-fi tracks recorded in the living room of veteran recording engineer Lynn Bridges. The remaining 16 will be released on a separate album later in 2004. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Anyone who can sit down in such a short period of time and write this many unique songs has to have something abnormally genius working inside.
  2. Granted, there will be some that cling to the lo-fi eccentricities of that debut, but while Oh Me Oh My... may have won him heaps of critical praise, Rejoicing in the Hands is the album that backs it all up.
  3. 90
    It’s as simple as songwriting can get; as striking as songwriting can get.
  4. Rejoicing in the Hands establishes Banhart as a major voice in new folk music. Not only does it improve on the promise of his earlier releases; it effortlessly removes the listener from the context of the recording.
  5. Even more mesmeric and deep into Nick Drake territory: intense and slightly damaged. [Jun 2004, p.94]
  6. 80
    Banhart's free-flowing oddness makes most musical eccentrics seem self-conscious and predictable. [Jun 2004, p.90]
  7. It sounds both brand new and old as the hills.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    Not my personal favourite, but definitely Devendra's best so far. Solid, haunting, jolly, illusive (if not trippy) folk in the purest of its form.
  2. KurtF
    Jul 29, 2004
    10
    I get a lot of shit from friends for digging Devendra's stuff. "He looks like Jesus," they'd say, or "why are you listening to this I get a lot of shit from friends for digging Devendra's stuff. "He looks like Jesus," they'd say, or "why are you listening to this sad bastard crap." But the point is Devendra is good, and you don't have to like his stuff to notice this. This is a 'solid' album, and I don't throw 'solid' around lightly. Although his finger picking riffs and chords are often very repeditive it's exactly what you want to hear. Expand
  3. megt
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    Beautiful. His voice i soften reminiscent of Jeff Buckley, and his circles are hypnotic.
  4. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    Can't fault this album, its not everybodys thing, but it wasn't mine till I listened to it again. I think one of the main reasons Devendra isCan't fault this album, its not everybodys thing, but it wasn't mine till I listened to it again. I think one of the main reasons Devendra is so awesome is because he has such an imagination that is reflected in his music and lyrics. I always think a complete album always sounds fresh and this is like diving into newly settled snow every time. Expand
  5. DarrinS
    Jan 16, 2005
    9
    I actually gave it a 8.5, but these things dont allow decimals and Ive always been taught to round up. A great album. Great music thats not I actually gave it a 8.5, but these things dont allow decimals and Ive always been taught to round up. A great album. Great music thats not distracting. If you want to just chill with it, youre more than welcome to. It makes good background music, and if you choose to hang on his every word and note, it never dissapoints. Expand
  6. KevinK
    Apr 29, 2005
    9
    Combine Antony's (from Antony and the Johsnons) over-the-top vibrato with the subdued spoken-word delivery of Iron & Wine or Sufjan Combine Antony's (from Antony and the Johsnons) over-the-top vibrato with the subdued spoken-word delivery of Iron & Wine or Sufjan Stevens, and you'll get an idea of what Devendra Banhart sounds like. His songs display an irreverent narrative that make each "listen" enjoyable. I recommend this album to any fan of Iron & Wine, The Castanets, or Sufjan Stevens. "Indie-Folk" is back in vogue, and Devendra Banhart is one of the main reasons why. Listen for yourself and see. Expand
  7. BenW
    Jun 25, 2004
    5
    I'm obviously missing something, as I found this all just a bit to twee. Banhart's playing is certainly impressive, but I I'm obviously missing something, as I found this all just a bit to twee. Banhart's playing is certainly impressive, but I didn't feel the songs were that interesting and his Marc Bolan impersonation started to grate. When he uses a band things improve dramtically - perhaps this could be a future direction for him. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews