User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 512 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 512

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BrianD
    May 20, 2009
    10
    I love the new CD, I don't know why so many people don't the accent is okay on most songs so yeah.
  2. Jun 23, 2011
    6
    I don't know why this has a lower metascore than "Encore." It's a crying shame because it's easily 10 times better than that pile of **** This is undoubtably Eminem's return to form. Old Time's Sake, Same Song & Dance and Deja Vu are my favorite songs.
  3. NejcK
    May 19, 2009
    10
    It is very sad some critics are saying that album has no lyrical substance an b.s. like that. It is obvious they didn't really listen to the album... and why do critics write rap album reviews if they don't even like rap. I am a big fan of Eminem and I must admit I didn't really like Relapse the first time I heard it but now after few hearings I am just addicted to this album.
  4. Jun 12, 2011
    9
    Stunning album, so underrated. Eminem is still the best after more than ten years. Contains masterpieces such as "Same song and dance", "Deja vu" or "Beautiful".
  5. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Relapse is a sinister lyrical masterpiece. The delivery and flow Eminem gives is somewhat odd, people often refer to his "accent" as annoying. The fact is- Eminem has always used accents, Eminem has always used tone and delivery, and this album may seem a bit like swimming upstream at first, but I assure the content of this album is comical and fairly humorous. As an artist, and a human... this is when Marshall Mathers was in his darkest days. To Marshall's dismay, his best friend and hype man Proof (RIP DeShaun Dupree Holton (October 2, 1973 April 11, 2006) passed away. They were friends in their adolescence, Marshall was distraught, he was lost, he was a confused soul.

    This dark twisted picture that Eminem paints almost seems like a drawing of his alter-ego Slim Shady. But even Slim Shady seems at his lowest, he sounds like he doesn't want to rap anymore, and just zones out on the mic while going auto pilot and just unleash all the that comes to his mind. Serial killing, rape, incest, these are the prevalent themes at the beginning. Eventually it takes a dive into the mainstream, the middle of the album sounds somewhat upbeat and foolish, and as the album comes to a close, you can see a ray of light.

    This album was actually a very essential step in the career of Eminem, and people don't give enough credit where credit is due. Personally I think this album was a masterpiece in a sense that, being a true Eminem fan you really got the jokes about Christopher Reeves sinking in quicksand, and penetrating vagina's with either balloons and popping them, or umbrella's and then opening them.
    Expand
  6. RobM
    May 19, 2009
    8
    Relapse is Eminem's first album in nearly 5 years. It's been a long time coming and because I'm such a big fan of his, I'm still going to love his material, even if alot of people hate it. So I'll try and be impartial for this. To start with, the skits on this album are some of Eminem's best yet, as they seem to flow with the song that follows. For example Relapse is Eminem's first album in nearly 5 years. It's been a long time coming and because I'm such a big fan of his, I'm still going to love his material, even if alot of people hate it. So I'll try and be impartial for this. To start with, the skits on this album are some of Eminem's best yet, as they seem to flow with the song that follows. For example Tonya is followed by Same Song & Dance, both of which have the same moody atmosphere and relevence. As for the music, this album has some of Eminem's best material to date. Songs like 'Beautiful', 'Underground' & 'My Mom' are on a par with songs like 'Lose Yourself' & 'Stan'. Tracks like 'Insane', 'Medicine Ball' & '3 AM' are typical Marshall. Gory, Bloody, Disturbing horror songs. It's a shame '3 AM' is just plain bizzare, espescially because of the weird new accent his had taken up. 'We Made You' is pretty good to be honest, but it's actually one of the worst singles he's released. So theres alot to love about Relapse. The majority of the songs are superb, espescially 'Beautiful' & 'Underground' but there are a couple of duds that somehow prevent this from being a classic. Still, if you've enjoyed Eminem's stuff in the past, it'll be worth picking this up. Expand
  7. DylanR
    May 19, 2009
    9
    Great album. about 3 filler tracks but a solid return. cant wait till relapse 2.
  8. ShannonN
    May 19, 2009
    9
    The album is sweet thank god for em's original flow it was so needed!!
  9. JimboJ
    May 19, 2009
    8
    Well I totally disagree with the critics on this one. I'm not much of an Eminem fan, but it doesn't take a genius to see that this is some of his best work in a long, long time, perhaps ever. It's at the very least a huge improvement over Encore, and in my opinion, better than the Eminem Show. His lyricism and flow on this album is mind-blowing, and the beats for the most Well I totally disagree with the critics on this one. I'm not much of an Eminem fan, but it doesn't take a genius to see that this is some of his best work in a long, long time, perhaps ever. It's at the very least a huge improvement over Encore, and in my opinion, better than the Eminem Show. His lyricism and flow on this album is mind-blowing, and the beats for the most part, well done with an old school flavor. I just can't see what the critics were thinking on this one. There's certianly a lot of Slim Shady persona on this album, but Eminem's talent and lyrical ability is just really stunning. I highly recommend this for any rap music fan out there; it's better than anything your going to hear on the radio today. Expand
  10. LucasG
    May 19, 2009
    10
    I really enjoyed the songs are creative and it is equal to before, I like it that way.
  11. EdwardP
    May 19, 2009
    10
    I don't care what the critics say, this is one of the best albums I've heard in a while. Hopefully, some more positive reviews come in. This is much more than an average album. I mean, people accuse Eminem for being something he isn't anymore, but that didn't stop Rick Ross from getting positive reviews (he wears fake jewelry).
  12. WillO
    May 19, 2009
    8
    Honestly the album is good. Eminem gave his fans what they wanted, his old self; Slim Shady. And he made it work, his flow/lyrics are still tops in hip hop. It's funny how his album is getting lower reviews than Lil' Wayne. Lil' Wayne is an average rapper which had success on the Carter III which is nowhere even close to how good Relapse is. Either way, sure it isn't Honestly the album is good. Eminem gave his fans what they wanted, his old self; Slim Shady. And he made it work, his flow/lyrics are still tops in hip hop. It's funny how his album is getting lower reviews than Lil' Wayne. Lil' Wayne is an average rapper which had success on the Carter III which is nowhere even close to how good Relapse is. Either way, sure it isn't his best album but it's a lot better than Encore. Some people really know nothing about hip hop, such a shame. I have a funny feeling Relapse 2 will be better. Expand
  13. JeffR
    May 19, 2009
    10
    Great album; his flow, rhymes, and delivery are on another level. Lyrically, it's a really good record too. Production is just top-notch.. Overall, an amazing record.
  14. ChavoG
    May 19, 2009
    10
    Great album, instant classic.
  15. GrantB
    May 20, 2009
    9
    A great album for core fans - a couple of throw away tracks but majority is wonderful. 75% classics. Bagpipes from Baghdad s infectious.
  16. WesC
    May 20, 2009
    10
    Track to track, it's almost like you're living in the mind of Slim. While the subject matter is definitely not something you are used to listening to, his flow, wordplay and story telling are superb. He is, without a doubt, the best hip hop artist out right now. I can't wait for Relapse 2 to drop here near the end of the year, which I expect will be more like the closing Track to track, it's almost like you're living in the mind of Slim. While the subject matter is definitely not something you are used to listening to, his flow, wordplay and story telling are superb. He is, without a doubt, the best hip hop artist out right now. I can't wait for Relapse 2 to drop here near the end of the year, which I expect will be more like the closing track "Underground." Expand
  17. StevenGn
    May 20, 2009
    9
    I love the album. Em destroys dres beats and its great to see rap revive with ems new album.
  18. BhaveshM
    May 20, 2009
    10
    This album is great, classic slim, sweet beats, insane lyrics and polished production quality! Slim is back with the vengeance! Not sure what some of these "critics" are talking about, but if you didn't like slim before you still won't like him now. Album has at least eight quality tracks, and plenty of humor for those who can appreciate it.
  19. VG
    May 20, 2009
    8
    I have listened to this album many times, and I think it is definitely by far better then Encore, but not as good as MMLP, close to The Eminem Show, maybe more on par with the SSLP. I would say it is his best lyrical album he has ever done, and best lyrical album I have ever heard personally. A strong return for Slim Shady, very dark, and violent, what more could you expect from the guy I have listened to this album many times, and I think it is definitely by far better then Encore, but not as good as MMLP, close to The Eminem Show, maybe more on par with the SSLP. I would say it is his best lyrical album he has ever done, and best lyrical album I have ever heard personally. A strong return for Slim Shady, very dark, and violent, what more could you expect from the guy that made "kill you", and "kim", its what you all wanted, yet still, people complain, I willsay the best tracks are the most personable such as "De Javu", "Beautiful", and the two bonus tracks "My Darling", and "Careful what you wish for" I think the best has yet to come with Relapse 2 later this year, I think that will be more Marshall Mathers, while this one bleeds Slim Shady, I hope he sells a million the first week, but he already did that, so half of that would be good in this day and age. Expand
  20. ZurraizK
    May 20, 2009
    9
    Great concept album unparalled wordplay by one of the greatest mc's to ever hold the mic kinda pissed that it has a 57 on here though wheres the review by stuff magazine or some of the other european ones???
  21. JaffarR
    May 21, 2009
    10
    How can metacritic give it a sleazy 54?? they clearly have something against the artist as 54 is nowhere near how great this album is. its probably the best album of the year. THANKS EM!
  22. BenjaminL
    May 21, 2009
    9
    A reintroduction of Slim Shady in 2009 couldn't be any sweeter. Although I really think the album was more of a 8.6, the song Beautiful and Bagpipes from Baghdad is enough to round up. Em's wordplay and lyricism are crazy; however, the content went a bit too non-sequitor sometimes--all in all, still hilarious.
  23. Vincentg
    May 21, 2009
    10
    Quality album. The construction of the lyrics and word play unsurpassed by anything else. Subject matter wont be to everyones taste, but to give it bad marks for that is the height of pretension.
  24. JayO.
    May 21, 2009
    8
    Ten years later, I didn't think Em could come up with anything as shocking as back in the day. And then comes "Insane." It's not one of the better tracks on the album, but it's exactly the kind of material that made him so controversial in the first place. First time through the album, I thought there was only two or three really good songs. After a few listens through, I Ten years later, I didn't think Em could come up with anything as shocking as back in the day. And then comes "Insane." It's not one of the better tracks on the album, but it's exactly the kind of material that made him so controversial in the first place. First time through the album, I thought there was only two or three really good songs. After a few listens through, I have to say at least half the tracks are good. "My Mom, "Crack a Bottle", "Deja Vu", "Same Song and Dance", "Hello", "Bagpipes from Baghdad", "Old Time's Sake", "Must Be the Ganja" and "Beautiful" are all really good songs (the first three the best) that show what makes Mathers one of the best lyricists, and rappers, of all time. Of course, many thanks to the magic-making abilities of Dre. And everyone keep in mind he wasn't just talking bull to Steve Berman. He's got 2 discs worth of material. The Relapse 2 coming to us later this year! Expand
  25. AlexT
    May 21, 2009
    9
    While Relapse might not be as cunning and catchy as his previous works (minus Encore), Eminem proves that he's still up to the challenge of creating a tight, focused album that delivers great production and talent.
  26. ArshdeepS
    May 22, 2009
    9
    Slim shady back to the old tactics,but except for a few songs the album is good.
  27. MaxS
    May 22, 2009
    10
    I love this album. This is why: First, considering all of his prior albums, The Slim Shady LP, Marshall Mathers LP, Eminem Show, and Encore, with out a doubt, the first three were great, critically praised. The second LP is a already a classic hip-hop album. On the other hand, his fourth release, Encore was just good. It did not stand up to his first three. Now, come back five years I love this album. This is why: First, considering all of his prior albums, The Slim Shady LP, Marshall Mathers LP, Eminem Show, and Encore, with out a doubt, the first three were great, critically praised. The second LP is a already a classic hip-hop album. On the other hand, his fourth release, Encore was just good. It did not stand up to his first three. Now, come back five years later, and drop Relapse: an album / horror film / Steven King novel--whatever you call it--filled with mesmerizing, disturbing imagery, foul wordplay, and more drug use than ever. His lyrics and flow tell us his story of drug addiction, and in multiple aspects, how his world, his foundation was crumbling. This calls for some pretty personal story telling. Then, completely off on another tangent (kind of), he weaves murderous, infectious rhymes in and out of songs like "3am," and the skit "Tonya" leading into the awesome "Same Song & Dance." These few of the numerous "darker" songs portrays his darker half, known as the infamous Slim Shady. I'm excited he's back. And what's even more fascinating is the fact that Em's drug addiction affected Slim Shady too! Will he kill at will?.. Expand
  28. MaxS
    May 22, 2009
    10
    I love this album. This is why: First, considering all of his prior albums, The Slim Shady LP, Marshall Mathers LP, Eminem Show, and Encore, with out a doubt, the first three were great, critically praised. The second LP is a already a classic hip-hop album. On the other hand, his fourth release, Encore was just good. It did not stand up to his first three. Now, come back five years I love this album. This is why: First, considering all of his prior albums, The Slim Shady LP, Marshall Mathers LP, Eminem Show, and Encore, with out a doubt, the first three were great, critically praised. The second LP is a already a classic hip-hop album. On the other hand, his fourth release, Encore was just good. It did not stand up to his first three. Now, come back five years later, and drop Relapse: an album / horror film / Steven King novel--whatever you call it--filled with mesmerizing, disturbing imagery, foul wordplay, and more drug use than ever. His lyrics and flow tell us his story of drug addiction, and in multiple aspects, how his world, his foundation was crumbling. This calls for some pretty personal story telling. Then, completely off on another tangent (kind of), he weaves murderous, infectious rhymes in and out of songs like "3am," and the skit "Tonya" leading into the awesome "Same Song & Dance." These few of the numerous "darker" songs portrays his darker half, known as the infamous Slim Shady. I'm excited he's back. And what's even more fascinating is the fact that Em's drug addiction affected Slim Shady too! Will he kill at will?.. Expand
  29. NavdeepS
    May 22, 2009
    10
    Eminem is back with a serious album about drugs,dope and telling about why he was in hiatus.But this is the best since marshall mathers.
  30. JosueR
    May 23, 2009
    9
    Awesome album. The return of Eminem is powerful and he's back to reclaim his title. Everyone support him and buy the album. Let's try to get him to 1 million copies sold the first week. This album is way better than Encore. Awesome Em thanks for coming back.
  31. GregHundley
    May 25, 2009
    10
    I think this album is breathe of fresh air. Eminem is still the best album and I love who he makes fun of. Eminem raps about drugs, bad parents, and doesn't have to feature T-pain and Akon. Still the best rapper alive.
  32. RonK.
    May 25, 2009
    9
    Dre's beats gave Em a chance to concentrate on his lyrics and he is tight on the mic... the content is dark but think what place youd be in after dealing w/ addiction, rehab and the murder of your best friend. This will be an underrated record, stronger then Encore and up there with the 1st 3 in truth but it will be sometime til many see it!
  33. ChuckN
    May 26, 2009
    10
    Eminem back to business! Incredibly deep and thought provoking lyrics. He makes good sounding music have real meaning to it.
  34. JonesMan
    May 27, 2009
    10
    I think this is one of the greatest comebacks , i have ever seen, relapse has the first songs that he has written for like 4 songs on it, yeah of course he has written other songs but then he was a junkie and just had wrote bullshit. But relapse is GOOD , and i like it, and then sales prove it.
  35. DemoineO
    Nov 25, 2009
    10
    This album is lyrical genius.He is still the greatest rapper alive.The way he puts the rhymes together is genius.I spit so I know how difficult it could be there has not been any album that came out in 2009 that has outsold this album.I can wait until relapse 2 come out next year and I am going to buy relapse refill this December.
  36. Jan 28, 2011
    10
    IMO This album is Amazing and it is very underrated by fans and critics alike. sure, he used that accent, but his rhymes are dope and he has some good songs.
  37. May 26, 2011
    8
    Despite what most people and critics think, the album is very good in my opinion. "Beautiful" is one of the best songs he has ever released. Many other tracks are great as well.
  38. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    Oh my gosh! What more is there to say. It's fabulous!!!!! Great songs, great singing, great acting! Loveable to the core! When I first heard this album, I must say, GOOSEBUMPS galore! I was like a walking talking Taylor Abraham.
  39. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Bottom line it's underrated. Who cares about the accents when the lyrics are so good!? Overall it's a great album with awesome rhymes, memorable beats, and funny skits. Good stuff...
  40. joeg.
    May 20, 2009
    10
    The best rapper in the world is back! to me the album is everything i hoped it would be and is amongst his greatest!
  41. HesamS
    May 20, 2009
    10
    The awesome great album ! its perfect as previous em albums and have a lost half thats relapse 2 i cant wait for it. anyway relapse was a best album after MMLP and TES... very nice!
  42. BradR
    May 20, 2009
    10
    Best hip hop album in a long time. Em is back and I love it, this album is pretty dark but it also packs a lot of comedy. Everyone should but this.
  43. KevinL
    May 24, 2009
    10
    I say this is a 8 or 9. I just did 10 to counter all those people rating who have never heard this album and rate it a 1 or 0 because they hate Eminem.
  44. Sep 16, 2010
    10
    I was so surprised at how much I ended up enjoying this album. The first two singles he released gave me doubt as to how good the album would be, but I was pleasantly surprised when I got the album simply because I was a fan of Eminem since I was in grade school and it ended up only having two songs that sucked. It is his darkest album by far, but it only makes it more exciting. It is theI was so surprised at how much I ended up enjoying this album. The first two singles he released gave me doubt as to how good the album would be, but I was pleasantly surprised when I got the album simply because I was a fan of Eminem since I was in grade school and it ended up only having two songs that sucked. It is his darkest album by far, but it only makes it more exciting. It is the kind of CD that you turn on while you are in the car with loud speakers simply because of the energy it gives you. If you are looking for some fun rap, then you should probably skip this CD, but if you are a die hard Eminem fan, then you will see that this is his greatest work. Expand
  45. RizeE1
    May 19, 2009
    2
    bullshit rhymes about jerking off, raping people, pissing on them, dirnking their bathwater, dumb accents, and vicodin and xanax. good flows, good beats... thats the most you'll get out of this. someone with eminems talent should be able to do better, dont let him get away with this ****.
  46. SeanM
    May 19, 2009
    1
    This is a terrible album. Don't buy it unless you want more of the same. Sellout manifesto.
  47. MikeD
    May 20, 2009
    10
    Absolute Platinum, Great album, one of the darker ones he's had to date.
  48. bjc
    May 20, 2009
    8
    Although its the same old recycled eminem we know and love we have no choice but to continue loving him. There are enough songs on here to like and some even to love, overall its a solid album this late in his career.
  49. RafikY
    May 20, 2009
    10
    Slim Shady is at his best right after being at rock bottom... Each song seems to have been written in one year, it's amazing! Dr Dre has produced some great titles such as Deja Vu, Bagpipes for Baghdad or My Mom. After 4 years waiting, I'm totally satisfied !!!
  50. martinK
    May 27, 2009
    1
    This album is unbearable if youre a fan of either both substance and aesthetic quality, youll be happier with the sound of taking a shit. this is not deep or thought provoking. whoa eminem was abused! no way! noone cares, we've known that your childhood was shitty since your freestyles. whoa eminem is addicted to pills?!?! a;sldkfj, we've known about this since the art on his This album is unbearable if youre a fan of either both substance and aesthetic quality, youll be happier with the sound of taking a shit. this is not deep or thought provoking. whoa eminem was abused! no way! noone cares, we've known that your childhood was shitty since your freestyles. whoa eminem is addicted to pills?!?! a;sldkfj, we've known about this since the art on his first CD was a vic pill. nothing groundbreaking. The dre beat BLOWS hardcore. Eminem cant produce for shit, he has no musical talent, he has talent with the sounds of words, but as for their value, they arent worth shit. this CD gets two thumbs in my ears. dblock. Expand
  51. RobertS.
    May 28, 2009
    2
    Eminem has passed his prime and it seems he knows it. His flow has become mechanical and unimaginative. His wit no longer has that passion it once had when he was in his 20s. It feels like he isn't even trying anymore. Like Hayley is in HS soon and doesn't need his drunk ass around the house anymore. He can only rap about his mom and celebrities so much . This album is garbage. Eminem has passed his prime and it seems he knows it. His flow has become mechanical and unimaginative. His wit no longer has that passion it once had when he was in his 20s. It feels like he isn't even trying anymore. Like Hayley is in HS soon and doesn't need his drunk ass around the house anymore. He can only rap about his mom and celebrities so much . This album is garbage. The singles are almost the only saving graces. Which is sad. bargain bin material. Expand
  52. RyanA
    Jun 1, 2009
    2
    Passionless album. Eminem lacks more and more authenticity with each forthcoming album, and only makes up for it with low brow shock value comments. I would download it to try it and then delete it from my ipod.
  53. ZacariasY
    Jul 1, 2009
    0
    The worst album of the year and one of the worst rap albums of the decade.
  54. JasonD.
    Dec 16, 2009
    0
    This ALBUM is the WORST album Eminem has EVER made. Eminems first 3 albums + 8 mile soundtrack made him a legend, Encore was bad because of songs like puke but it had great songs like mosh, like toy soldiers, mockingbird, 1 shot 2 shot. Relapse is far worse than encore. Back when eminem did sslp you he had clever lines that made you say wow. He tries to recreate these on this CD but it is This ALBUM is the WORST album Eminem has EVER made. Eminems first 3 albums + 8 mile soundtrack made him a legend, Encore was bad because of songs like puke but it had great songs like mosh, like toy soldiers, mockingbird, 1 shot 2 shot. Relapse is far worse than encore. Back when eminem did sslp you he had clever lines that made you say wow. He tries to recreate these on this CD but it is a dizaster. It sounds like he is trying 2 hard, and the dreaded accent that he started using on encore is on over half of the songs. Fans want eminem back but they want the eminem that was on the eminem show back. Realistically, the guy is 36 years old he should be progressing as an artist rather than being a parody of his old shyt. Jay-Z said "people want my old shyt, but my old album" Eminem needs to follow that and progess from the level he was at during the eminem show. HOPEFULLY Relapse 2 will be better, But RELAPSE 1 is TRASH. Expand
  55. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    Im going to go ahead and EXPOSE METACRITIC AS GARBAGE real quick, if anyone wants to stick around...

    Eminem goes unforgiving hard-as-nails in-your-face and mad-as-hell on MMLP1, and Metacritic slams him for being over the top. They claim the classic was a 78, and Yeezus, the ten song experimental embarrassment that Kanye can't get over 3.2 stars on Itunes, is an 85. Ok, fine. He
    Im going to go ahead and EXPOSE METACRITIC AS GARBAGE real quick, if anyone wants to stick around...

    Eminem goes unforgiving hard-as-nails in-your-face and mad-as-hell on MMLP1, and Metacritic slams him for being over the top. They claim the classic was a 78, and Yeezus, the ten song experimental embarrassment that Kanye can't get over 3.2 stars on Itunes, is an 85. Ok, fine.

    He lightens up on The Eminem Show, and Metacritic says it's too soft and they've heard it all before. 75.

    He mixes in other artists and dumbs down the "Slim Shady" persona on The Reup, and they absolutely trash it and say he's lost his voice. 50. A 50, supposedly a worse album than IANAHB 2.
    Do You Sense the Bullsh.it Yet.....

    He brings back Slim Shady as violent yet comedic as ever on Relapse, and they say he's forcing the issue. 59.

    He changes his content for the more mature, stays witty, address' his past demons and shows immense growth as an artist on Recovery, and they say he's boring. 63.

    THEN, on MMLP2, he combines Recovery, MMLP, and the Eminem Show in an experimental, mature, hard-as-nails, yet emotional reflection on his career, and they give it a 73. Thats 7 points worse than Teflon Don, by Rick Ross.

    METACRITIC: WHAT THE ACTUAL ARE YOU DOING.
    Expand
  56. JustinF
    Jun 14, 2009
    3
    Once a pop culture phenomenon exuberantly spilling his emotion regarding his troubled life, is now lacking substance and meaning. Relapse was worth a listen, only to realize I had to turn it off because the novelty that was Eminem has worn off.
  57. AjayD
    May 26, 2009
    4
    As a Em Fan, I cannot pretend, I am very disappointed with this album, this is not the return I was hoping for! He tries nothing new for his subject matter, It also Lacks the dark/mature tone of his earlier albums and many of his songs are sick fantasied revolving around hurting/killing women. I think he needs to move into other subjects and ditch the damn lame accent please!
  58. CD
    Jun 10, 2009
    4
    I like Eminem, but to be honest this wasn't as great as all his "Stans" claim it to be. We are ALL happy to have him back but this album was less than average. It'd been a 7 or 8 maybe 4 years ago. But basically all he did was kinda rip off of Brotha Lynch on this one at times. I expect Relapse 2, due later this year, to be a lot better. C'mon suburbians, quit giving it I like Eminem, but to be honest this wasn't as great as all his "Stans" claim it to be. We are ALL happy to have him back but this album was less than average. It'd been a 7 or 8 maybe 4 years ago. But basically all he did was kinda rip off of Brotha Lynch on this one at times. I expect Relapse 2, due later this year, to be a lot better. C'mon suburbians, quit giving it 10's!! That's soooooo fake! REAL hip hop fans know what this album grades out at. Some of you frat boys need to listen to DOOM if you really want to hear word play! However, this IS bettter than Encore. Expand
  59. ChrisS
    Jul 15, 2009
    2
    Once great, now just puts out crap like this. Avoid.
  60. JonW.
    Jul 17, 2009
    2
    Being a fan, I felt obligated to give the album a chance so I've listened through it several times. Each time I am more and more disgusted. Remember when Slim Shady was a comical character whose ultra violent antics somehow came across as a clever joke? Now every "Shady" track is an excercise in sick, demented, trash that leaves you nauseous. This weird accent that I was hoping was Being a fan, I felt obligated to give the album a chance so I've listened through it several times. Each time I am more and more disgusted. Remember when Slim Shady was a comical character whose ultra violent antics somehow came across as a clever joke? Now every "Shady" track is an excercise in sick, demented, trash that leaves you nauseous. This weird accent that I was hoping was just a one time thing when the 3am single came out, hurts many songs on this disc and becomes nothing more than a gimmick to keep him from having rhyme. He devotes an entire song to whining about his mom. The christopher reeve's jokes have become not only offensive, but incredibly overused and documenting this rapper's detorioration of creativity. Eminem showed the world with his first three albums that he was one of the greatest lyrical artist of a generation. If you want to retain that image of him, avoid this awful cd, and do not hope for anything good to come from eminem in the future. Expand
  61. TheeStranger
    Nov 5, 2009
    2
    I keep reading all these comments, and everybody going on and on about his first three golden records. The guy had TWO records: Slim Shady L.P. and Marshal Mathers L.P., the second of which was overplayed to death, and once he came out with The Eminem Show, crying about his mommy and all that crap, I tuned out (oh, and he's back at it again with this album). Well, I TRIED to tune I keep reading all these comments, and everybody going on and on about his first three golden records. The guy had TWO records: Slim Shady L.P. and Marshal Mathers L.P., the second of which was overplayed to death, and once he came out with The Eminem Show, crying about his mommy and all that crap, I tuned out (oh, and he's back at it again with this album). Well, I TRIED to tune out, but it was kind of hard with my best friend still loving and playing everything the guy crapped out to death. If you ask me, he's put out pretty much nothing but crap since Marshal Mathers, and I can't even listen to that record anymore I've heard it so much. Some of his 8 Mile soundtrack stuff was alright, I guess. I really love his first album (not Infinite; Infinite doesn't cout) for tracks such as "If I Had" and "As the World Turns". I loved the humor and his over-the-top comicbooky/horrorcore style, and his utilization of an evil alter-ego reminded me a lot of Kool Keith's Dr. Octagon. Actually, I see a big parallel in the two artists careers. They each put a classic debut solo album, and then a second, much more visceral and much angrier direct sequel... basically angry about the success of their first album. Anyway, gave this a try because a friend told me it was a return to form, and that I would like it since I really like the Slim Shady L.P. Well, after listening to it, it kinda sounds like that's what Eminem was going for with this record, but he fails horribly. This has got to be his worst record to date. If you ask me, I think the guy took "too much ?EEEEEEEEEEEEE ?". Expand
  62. Jan 11, 2011
    4
    Now I know that Em isn't perfect (every one of his albums had at least one song I didn't like), but that doesn't excuse this album. It consists of one great track ("Beautiful"), one OK track ("Deja Vu") and everything else horrible.
  63. Aug 21, 2010
    2
    i've tried to listen to eminem's albums, because everyone says he's so good. so i gave relapse a try. after listening i can't see what everyone was talking about . i did not enjoy it. with that in mind i relize that most rappers are at their best at the beginning of their careers, so i listened to his earlier albums. i still do not see what people are talking about. to wrap it up i thinki've tried to listen to eminem's albums, because everyone says he's so good. so i gave relapse a try. after listening i can't see what everyone was talking about . i did not enjoy it. with that in mind i relize that most rappers are at their best at the beginning of their careers, so i listened to his earlier albums. i still do not see what people are talking about. to wrap it up i think he has weak flow, poor metaphors, and poor shallow lyrical content. but i might be the only person who thinks that Expand
  64. BillW
    May 19, 2009
    0
    This is nothing compared to the MM LP. What happened?
  65. Schmidty15
    May 19, 2009
    4
    Same ol' shock-value raps from a 37 year-old. Couple of great songs on this album, but mostly filler. Definitely thought Em was gonna step his game up after Weezy, T.I. and Luda all put out quality albums within the past year. And Dre...what up with the beats???
  66. kpat
    May 20, 2009
    2
    Eminem's new album is a as crusty as his last. He has an incredible talent to spit good lyrical content, but fails to do so again. The reason this album fails is because he reverts back to nagging about his oh-so-sad life coupled with less than enjoyable clown tracks. He should retire again, and stick to producing beats.
  67. Keith
    May 21, 2009
    6
    In midst of this 20 track dirt pile is their a few keepers and only one true track that is reminiscent of the mastermind that is Eminem. Beautiful is the fast-to-come-by climax of the cd with the rest of it becoming all too in the background. While this track and admittedly a few others, provide some insight into Em's situation, the album as a whole is sub-par to what his true potential is.
  68. KateF.
    May 22, 2009
    4
    Pretty weak release from Eminem. First four songs are great and then you'll realize that you've wasted your money.
  69. TD
    May 29, 2009
    4
    Yeh got it today and I thought it was pretty shit. A lot of the songs aren't catchy like his first songs. He's trying to return to his less serious side like when he started up and it just comes across as forced. Lacks creativity overall. Honestly it sounds like he spent 2 days in the studio and wrote the songs in one sitting.
  70. JimmyB
    Jul 31, 2009
    6
    Average CD, I expected a lot more out of Em. I would agree this is better than Encore, but Encore was garbage so that is not saying much. The stupid accent and the high pitched voice kills Dre's beats. There are a few good tracks, but over all very disappointing. I really wanted to like this album, but some of the stupid, forced shock value seemed like a desperate to bring back his Average CD, I expected a lot more out of Em. I would agree this is better than Encore, but Encore was garbage so that is not saying much. The stupid accent and the high pitched voice kills Dre's beats. There are a few good tracks, but over all very disappointing. I really wanted to like this album, but some of the stupid, forced shock value seemed like a desperate to bring back his old sound. Expand
  71. Oct 13, 2010
    5
    Relapse was an attempted step back into the shoes of the sinister Slim Shady. Apparently when Eminem stepped in those shoes, they felt snug and uncomfortable. The album starts off with a creative and slightly seat-edging intro skit which is one another favorite element of Eminem albums (the skits are usually highly entertaining). 3am is a decent step into Slim Shady but its surprisinglyRelapse was an attempted step back into the shoes of the sinister Slim Shady. Apparently when Eminem stepped in those shoes, they felt snug and uncomfortable. The album starts off with a creative and slightly seat-edging intro skit which is one another favorite element of Eminem albums (the skits are usually highly entertaining). 3am is a decent step into Slim Shady but its surprisingly almost indecipherable. Eminem raps with an accent (perhaps a "Detroit accent") which is sometimes unbearable. It works for a select few songs. 3am isnt one of them. My Mom utilizes the weird accent, but to a lesser extent. Eminem performs decently, delivering a shocking and humorous song in which the accent could be taken as an extra tool of comical elements. Eminem doesnt twist his tounge in Insane for the accent. The song is pretty much a chronicle throwing shocker line after shocker line. Rather than a constant barrage of hitters, lines are hit or miss. Eminem does more hits than misses but the misses mess up the consistency of the song. Its lukewarm at best. Bagpipes From Baghdad is a plucky and witty song. Sure the accent is thrown around, but still proves to be a decent song. He goes from throwing a few teasers at Mariah Carey and Nick Cannon which show the return of Eminem's taunting and satire of pop culture figures (they actually took offense). Hello is rather dry and while Em's lyrics are above average, he sounds roughly monotone which supresses the effect of them. The accent returns yet again in Same Song & Dance, which is humorous and a tad bloody but Eminem is quite simplistic throughout most of the song. We Made You is yet another comedic song off the album, which is a bit swiveled by the accented delievry but still serves as comic relief to the point if you dont laugh at one of Em's jokes you'll just laugh at his voice instead. Medicine Ball is another accented-dark-comedy which brings back the pluckyness seen on Bagpipes From Baghdad. The songs Stay Wide Awake, For Old Times Sake, Must Be The Ganja, Deja Vu arent really anything special and are lukewarm to ok tops. Beautiful is the albums highlight which Em's speaks of his struggles accent-less and shows an exceptional amount of consistency. Its pretty odd that in the midst of all the dark humor, the conscious song is the best song. Crack A Bottle makes you wish Dr. Dre just stuck to producing and 50 Cent would just stop it. Its not even clear if the song wouldve been good with just Em. The final track Underground, is another highlight track and is right up with Beautiful. The track is meant to set the stage for the follow up Recovery album (at one time called Relapse 2) which is set to be forceful and more emotionally driven. The use of Undergound as teaser for the follow up album was an excellent choice. Relapse is practically a lightweight version of the Slim Shady & Marshall Mathers LPs. Its not right up beside either album, but is a decent attempt at going back in time. Expand
  72. Nov 16, 2010
    6
    Slim Shady is dead. Relapse is Eminems try to bring back slim shady, unfortanetley, Dr.Dre wasnt able to bring him back to life. Fortunatley, Eminems still alive. Relapse wasnt as good as it could have been.
  73. Nov 9, 2012
    5
    Excluding the song "Beautiful," and maybe a few others, Eminem is just fooling around on this album. He's better than this, and I know he knows it.
  74. Aug 1, 2013
    4
    What happened here? This has nothing to do with the previous albums! The beat and the lyrics on songs like 3 a.m are an insult to the Slim Shady ego, Old Time's Sake, We Made You and Beautiful are the only good songs from this album. Only three songs, the rest of the songs were terrible. As an Eminem fan, I have to say that this is awful...
  75. BlazeM
    May 19, 2009
    8
    Seriously, Eminem is a victim of unreasonable expectations - too many people are unable to take things for what they are. I personally find many aspects of this album very impressive, and to favor one facet over many others is just stupid (especially for a hip hop album). I certainly hope this official "score" rises, considering Encore got something like a 64 and Relapse is vastly Seriously, Eminem is a victim of unreasonable expectations - too many people are unable to take things for what they are. I personally find many aspects of this album very impressive, and to favor one facet over many others is just stupid (especially for a hip hop album). I certainly hope this official "score" rises, considering Encore got something like a 64 and Relapse is vastly superior to it in nearly every way. If Relapse ends up receiving a lower score than Encore on this site, then I most likely will stop visiting it for my information. Allmusic is simply a better judge of music, apparently. Expand
  76. ChrisB
    May 19, 2009
    7
    Better than Encore, not as good as his first 3 albums. Old Time's Sake, Underground, Beautiful, and Same Song rate up there with his best. All three of his current singles are horrible though.
  77. jamesb
    May 23, 2009
    7
    If you like Eminem, you'll like Relapse. It's maybe not his best work - much of the middle of the album is amongst his weakest to date - but there's certainly enough to please his loyal followers.
  78. JacobD
    May 30, 2009
    8
    Eminem is the one true mainstream hip/hop artist, and even thought he's bin away for almost 5 years, he can still make an album that is, as good as anyones. Dr. Dre made a ton of bad ass beats, so Eminem could focus on the lyrics, and most of the time it works. The first thrid of the album, he is very "funny" songs like Insane, My Mom and Bagpipes from Baghdad are all great but not Eminem is the one true mainstream hip/hop artist, and even thought he's bin away for almost 5 years, he can still make an album that is, as good as anyones. Dr. Dre made a ton of bad ass beats, so Eminem could focus on the lyrics, and most of the time it works. The first thrid of the album, he is very "funny" songs like Insane, My Mom and Bagpipes from Baghdad are all great but not his best, then some of the weaker songs like Hello, We Made you is the middle part, but the album explodes at the end with the best songs like Deja Vu, Beautiful and Underground, Eminem is back! Can't wait for Relapse 2. Expand
  79. LanceU
    Jun 2, 2009
    9
    I can't stand critics sometimes. Most of them either hate Eminem's guts or hip hop in general. If he would have made a real mature album crying and lamenting about his drug addiction and best friend dying or about KIm they would be saying he's whiny. Can't take the music for what it is, just a raw lyricist that hasn't gotten soft or lost a step. They want him to I can't stand critics sometimes. Most of them either hate Eminem's guts or hip hop in general. If he would have made a real mature album crying and lamenting about his drug addiction and best friend dying or about KIm they would be saying he's whiny. Can't take the music for what it is, just a raw lyricist that hasn't gotten soft or lost a step. They want him to go away but he keeps coming back. I love it. The fly that you can't swat. The biggest artist of this decade. Make a whole page of bad reviews and he still wins. That must really piss people off. Expand
  80. AntonN
    Jun 2, 2009
    9
    This is exactly what HipHop needed! Back to the unique storytelling, the catchy hooks, banging beats and, head scratching wordplay! Eminem came with exactly with what I expected! Definately the best album of the year and one of my top three favorite Eminem albums no doubt!
  81. ariang
    Jun 5, 2009
    9
    Very good album. razor sharp intelligent lyrics and fun to listen to. Dr.Dre's involvement very valuable and helps Eminem to concentrate on what he does best.
  82. JosephA
    Jun 5, 2009
    8
    Awesome to hear Eminem again. The album is much better than Encore, if not for the beats alone (Dre), but his flow is really tight as well. As usual he's a ton more creative in terms of content and diversity in terms of delivery styles than 99% of the rappers out there (at least the ones I know). And though his schtick is a bit worn out, it's still a pretty entertaining album Awesome to hear Eminem again. The album is much better than Encore, if not for the beats alone (Dre), but his flow is really tight as well. As usual he's a ton more creative in terms of content and diversity in terms of delivery styles than 99% of the rappers out there (at least the ones I know). And though his schtick is a bit worn out, it's still a pretty entertaining album that transmits a good amount of urgency, schizophrenia and neurosis. It took me a couple of listens to really dig it. Too bad about the cover art, which I think sucks. Expand
  83. EvgenyV
    Jun 6, 2009
    10
    This is the ultimate Eminem album, which pleases all the real Eminem supporters. His rhymes are on point and his flow is incredible, the wordplay is fantastic. I love it.
  84. blasblas
    Jun 7, 2009
    10
    Album is great, kinda on the trippy side, but damn he is one of the greatest. "Em" if you read this We all love your music we dont want you to stop but"Family" comes first. so we understand :)
  85. dant
    Jun 12, 2009
    10
    Fantastic, lyrically at his best with sick beats to back them up..eminem is finally back.
  86. VinceG
    Jun 15, 2009
    10
    I love what Dr. Dre did with the beats. He mixed in some new things we're just not used to listening, which I found very interesting. Eminem did his half by creating flows that just couldn't go any better with the music. 10 hands down.
  87. MMe
    Jun 18, 2009
    9
    As with most recent Eminem albums there's certain songs that should be taken in context, and not literally or seriously. The tunes are excellent, love it.
  88. RyanG
    Jun 22, 2009
    10
    This is is great album, I don't know what the hell is wrong with the critics. They must of been listening of too much of those crappy rappers like Souljaboytellem and Lil Wayne.
  89. MarekW
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    This CD is crazy! Lyrics and flow are world class. Definitely the best Eminem album ever, in my opinion.
  90. SuleimanM.
    Jun 26, 2009
    7
    Relapse isn't the come back we were all hoping for, but it does more than enough to satisfy our Slim Shady needs. Excluding a few shallow tracks, Relapse is on the right track for what we hope will be an exceptional double album.
  91. ZackL
    Jun 29, 2009
    9
    Good, but not his best, and I'm not happy that he's titling his next album Relapse 2.
  92. tacobell
    Jul 2, 2009
    10
    This new album shows his most effort for being sober, return to the music scene and make good music. The songs are the mixing of razor sharp lyrics, vivid humors, haunted nightmares, honest tales and deep emotions. Unlike other artist's music, I found that different people have their own personal favorite Relapse track, not only the one that's been released for a single (which This new album shows his most effort for being sober, return to the music scene and make good music. The songs are the mixing of razor sharp lyrics, vivid humors, haunted nightmares, honest tales and deep emotions. Unlike other artist's music, I found that different people have their own personal favorite Relapse track, not only the one that's been released for a single (which is the best part in my eyes). Dr. Dre's beats are surprisingly catchy and have good replay value, especially when you listened to them with subwoofer. In my opinion, it is one of his best record Eminem should be proud of. Expand
  93. ShaneD
    Jul 11, 2009
    9
    Relapse has Eminem hitting on all cyllinders dishing out the witty wordplay and complex rhyme schemes over generally exceptional Dr. Dre beats. One can only wish there were a few more serious songs. If the album had a couple more personal recaords it may have been a classic. The general syle seems like a combanation of the MMLP and The Eminem Show.
  94. BenP
    Jul 13, 2009
    6
    It has some keepers, some throwback into the lake songs. A sober Eminem trying to mix rehab/being sober with his old gimmick from his first albums. Not a good mix. I was hoping he'd lose the middle eastern accent, but it seems he can't shake it. It was good once in "Ass Like That". The accent ruins any song. It's nice to see him sober up, but I don't he'll ever be It has some keepers, some throwback into the lake songs. A sober Eminem trying to mix rehab/being sober with his old gimmick from his first albums. Not a good mix. I was hoping he'd lose the middle eastern accent, but it seems he can't shake it. It was good once in "Ass Like That". The accent ruins any song. It's nice to see him sober up, but I don't he'll ever be as golden as his first 3 albums. Expand
  95. JoshF
    Jul 13, 2009
    10
    As an album its an awesome piece of work, tells a real deep story... lookin' forward to the next album!
  96. JordanA
    Jul 27, 2009
    10
    Ok, any rating below an 8 is absolutely ridiculous. The album is great! Very creative. The lyrics are amazing. Every song has a meaning and tells a story. The album puts you in the shoes of the one and only Marshall Mathers. We get his point of view of what he was going through over the past couple of years. The critics need to stop expecting him to put out the "Greatest Album of Ok, any rating below an 8 is absolutely ridiculous. The album is great! Very creative. The lyrics are amazing. Every song has a meaning and tells a story. The album puts you in the shoes of the one and only Marshall Mathers. We get his point of view of what he was going through over the past couple of years. The critics need to stop expecting him to put out the "Greatest Album of All-Time". Lower your expectations for goodness sake. He's not Einstien. What he is though, is the Greatest Rapper of all-time and he is back and will be at the top of hip-hop once again. Expand
  97. D.Tail
    Aug 13, 2009
    10
    F*cking brilliant album and a serious comeback...Next one lose the accent tho slim.
  98. KgosiP.
    Aug 19, 2009
    9
    Eminem,the rhyme king of all time.big up to that flow you produced in this album!
  99. Chris
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    Eminem comes in 2009 to make things better in hip hop and he's coming with a great album.he begins with his bloody "3 a.m." and continues with the songs "My Mom" and "Insane" which he blames his mothers for for his recent drug abuse and tells us in a genius way about his problems with his stepfather.The lbums has a lot of songs that he explains us what he went through during his Eminem comes in 2009 to make things better in hip hop and he's coming with a great album.he begins with his bloody "3 a.m." and continues with the songs "My Mom" and "Insane" which he blames his mothers for for his recent drug abuse and tells us in a genius way about his problems with his stepfather.The lbums has a lot of songs that he explains us what he went through during his addiction with drugs.He is more honest that anyone would expected.The songs "Deja Vu", "Beautiful" and "Underground" are (for me) masterpieces!!His intelligence and his skills can be seen in these songs.Surely better than Encore, Relapse is an awesome work from Eminem and is sure that fans are going to love it! Expand
  100. JamesV
    Aug 30, 2009
    7
    With Eminem gone from the game for 5 years, and with all the personal events that have happened in his life, I expected a more personal album addressing more serious issues. Instead, there are only 2 serious songs on this record. 'Beatiful" and 'De Ja Vu' are the only meaningful songs, and they are both great tunes. The rest of the album is filled with jokes and sick humor. With Eminem gone from the game for 5 years, and with all the personal events that have happened in his life, I expected a more personal album addressing more serious issues. Instead, there are only 2 serious songs on this record. 'Beatiful" and 'De Ja Vu' are the only meaningful songs, and they are both great tunes. The rest of the album is filled with jokes and sick humor. The accent he uses on every song except 3 is terrible, bringing songs like 'Bagpipes' from possibly enjoyable tunes, to barely listenable. From a hip hop perspective, Em still has it. His rhymes are very well crafted, he has good wordplay and some good lines on this album. But the retarded voice he chooses to use wrecks the record. There are a few really good songs, a few boring ones, and a few unlistenable ones. Maybe Relapse 2 will have more serious songs, and that's his idea, but if not I would've put at least a few more meaningful tunes on #1. Eminem still has it, but he didn't bring it on this album. At least he didn't bring everything we know he is capable of bringing. Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 27
  2. Negative: 4 out of 27
  1. Thankfully, producer Dr. Dre is there to temper the lyrical bloodletting, laying heavyweight hooks over even the most scabrous tales of family disturbia, and setting 'Bagpipes From Baghdad,' Em's inspired riff on rumored ex Mariah Carey, to snake-charming woodwind squiggles.
  2. It's an impressively focused and clever work. But this music is not transcendent. It's still stuck in Marshall Mathers' muck, his fundamental mistrust of pleasure and love.
  3. By letting Dr. Dre take over the low-end-funk production, and rhyming about things he actually cares about, he comes up with a more painful, honest and vital record than anyone could have expected at this late date, up there with "The Eminem Show" or maybe even better.