Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Apr 16, 2013
    80
    This is how you do post-hardcore in 2013 without sounding like a relic. [23 Mar 2013, p.54]
  2. Produced by Shaun Lopez (Far, Deftones), the sound and shape of each Renacer is clean and spacious.
  3. Apr 16, 2013
    80
    Their best album to date. [Apr 2013, p.85]
  4. Apr 16, 2013
    80
    Ultimately these well-place segues are but a welcome respite from the pummeling power of the riff.
  5. Jul 16, 2013
    40
    Renacer paints a clear portrait of a band lacking the courage and will to abandon the tendencies they have clearly grown out of and no longer stand behind.
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    It's great to see a band like Senses Fail that has all the potential to be a great hardcore band put their strengths together and make whatIt's great to see a band like Senses Fail that has all the potential to be a great hardcore band put their strengths together and make what they've always wanted to. Some will be upset that they've taken this path away from their pop punk/emo rock stages and went with a heavy raw sound, but not me and the same will go for many hardcore fans who come across this album. Absolutely fantastic. Full Review »
  2. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    A band that really grew on me a year or so ago has certainly come a long way since their primary sound in From the Depths. Of course, I cannotA band that really grew on me a year or so ago has certainly come a long way since their primary sound in From the Depths. Of course, I cannot consider myself a fan from the start, but I can appreciate how far they have come, and I have loved pretty much every song they have ever put out. So to hear such a differentiation in sound blew me away; they have certainly switched to a far heavier sound, but the lyrics are inspirational as always, and it being such a gamble on their part, they have earned my utmost respect.

    I'm hoping the next album they put out is just as well executed.
    Full Review »