Repave

Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Sep 23, 2013
    60
    At this point in time, Volcano Choir has made it clear that despite what the scattershot structure of Unmap may have indicated upon its release, this project is for real. Whether it remains on the musical radar for years to come remains to be seen.
  2. Sep 19, 2013
    60
    For all its cryptic lyrics and melodic complexities, the revelation it constantly seems to promise never quite arrives, but repave remains a grand gesture. [Oct 2013, p.95]
  3. Sep 3, 2013
    60
    Despite the obvious love with which the album's been assembled, there's no denying that Broken Social Scene have been doing this sort of thing for much longer and with more success.
  4. Sep 9, 2013
    50
    Highlights "Comrade" and "Alaskans" are abstract but inspiringly muscular, while other songs drift into panoramas of tentative guitar lines, distant whooshing sounds and Vernon's wounded falsetto singing couplets not even he would dare make sense of.
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    9
    Justin continues amazing with this project. But it's not just his vocals and lyrics that make this project great. There is some trulyJustin continues amazing with this project. But it's not just his vocals and lyrics that make this project great. There is some truly impressive, unique music on here that make it stand out as one of the best albums of 2013. Full Review »
  2. Mar 28, 2014
    9
    This is one of those few albums where you don't want it to end. After my first couple of listens I could not get enough of it. I let off for aThis is one of those few albums where you don't want it to end. After my first couple of listens I could not get enough of it. I let off for a few weeks then listened to it again and it has truly become one of my favorites which is why it's deserving of a 9.

    The jump from "Unmap" to "Repave" is truly remarkable, "Unmap" had a couple standout tracks but the rest felt like ambient nothingness. With this album you can feel the much more focused attempt at each song. It sounds like a more powerful Bon Iver but with a little edge that Collection of Colonies of Bees gives it.

    This album is truly a masterpiece with its bold arrangements and Justin using more of his powerful natural voice. You will definitely listen to this one on repeat.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 14, 2013
    8
    With Volcano Choir we don't quite get the unique, sorrowing, flavor of despair that we ironically love with Vernon's Bon Iver. But the beautyWith Volcano Choir we don't quite get the unique, sorrowing, flavor of despair that we ironically love with Vernon's Bon Iver. But the beauty of the hooks and choruses will show you that Vernon and friends are more than just a side project. Full Review »