Reprieve

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 21, 2010
    4
    A weak album from one of our most innovative modern musicians and poets. Her lyrics - as always - are smarter than anyone else's, but as a huge fan I can say that this is one album I would NOT recommend.
  2. BrandonS
    Aug 18, 2006
    7
    This is a message for Nathaniel S and others like him: There's no need to call someone who expresses their opinion in this forum a "fool." Heaven forbid someone think differently from the great Nathaniel S. I read metacritic to get a variety of opinions and the reasoning behind them. Leave the classless insults out of it.
  3. JerrodL.
    Aug 10, 2006
    8
    I've never been an Ani fan yet really like this album. All the songs are quiet and great to listen to while smoking a cigarette at midnight.
  4. MeMyself
    Aug 10, 2006
    10
    Outstanding collection.
  5. jay
    Aug 8, 2006
    1
    It's more of the same old crap Ani's been foisting upon her fans since Little Plastic Castle. It's kinda sad. Does anyone still find this stuff interesting anymore?
  6. NathanielS
    Aug 9, 2006
    10
    Such a great album. Shows so much maturity. Has interest in herself, as well as politics. Anyone who gives this album a 1 out of 10 is a fool!
  7. DanielC
    Aug 9, 2006
    9
    Very nice album... As allways!
  8. NaceB
    Aug 25, 2006
    10
    Sweet and Sad!!
  9. coreyp
    Aug 9, 2006
    10
    its an amazing well thought out album. a must for any fan or politically charged listener
  10. AllyE
    Aug 14, 2006
    8
    Im glad to see that the music behind the voice is finally beginning to step out of the limelight. Her guitar playing, while consistently a joy to listen to, has lost some of the abrasiveness we've heard in some of her previous works. This lends to the soft and yet powerful feel that has become increasingly symbolic in her last few albums. Todd Sickafoose is a great musician of Im glad to see that the music behind the voice is finally beginning to step out of the limelight. Her guitar playing, while consistently a joy to listen to, has lost some of the abrasiveness we've heard in some of her previous works. This lends to the soft and yet powerful feel that has become increasingly symbolic in her last few albums. Todd Sickafoose is a great musician of timing. Not once does he overpower the nature of ani's intention, and the two blend beautifully. A great addition to your CD collection, ani fan or not. Expand
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Musically, the album is more languid than earlier efforts without sacrificing the urgency of her patented guitar pluck-strum.
  2. An arresting mix of the singer's political and personal strife set to a jazzy backbeat.
  3. Much of Reprieve sounds, appropriately enough, like DiFranco is taking a much-needed breather.